We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills, cheap stay in Lucerne.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tourist Hotel
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No frills, cheap stay in Lucerne.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Loved this place. Was a bit of a hike from the train station, but we loved the walk through Lucerne. Upon arriving, we were greeted by Jim. What a friendly chap he was! He showed us to the elevator...tiny, tiny elevator. Only two of us with our bags could fit in. Our room was actually two rooms...two beds right when you walked in the door, and then a bed through the door to the left. Pretty small. Like I said, no frills. Just a place to sleep and keep our luggage as we roamed the streets.

After unpacking, we went downstairs to the front desk and asked if there was a bar in the hotel. Jim opened his mini-fridge and said "right here!" Drank a couple beers with him while he steered us toward some great food and scenery. The next night Jim took us to Mr. Pickwick Pub to catch some football and buy us some Guinness.

Jim was really the main attraction of the hotel. Very accommodating. Free breakfast did the job just fine. The view, on a clear day, is amazing with Mt. Pilatus staring down at Lucerne. Also, there were hostel rooms separate from the hotel rooms if that's your thing.

Would definitely go back and stay at the Tourist Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    165
    91
    25
    19
See reviews for
135
137
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My family of 5 stayed in the large suite, which was good for us. The included kitchen didnt have any equipment, but there were plenty of places nearby to eat. The included breakfast was quite good. The location was OUTSTANDING. Parking and unloading were not easy, but doable.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kvaakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

When we first walked in the door, the woman on reception was expecting us (although we arrived a little early) and was so warm and friendly. There was no problem with us having the room early and she was most helpful with suggestions of where to eat and things to see and do that would interest our children.

We stayed in the suite as we have 3 children, and it was enormous, with a kitchen and dining room. Reasonably priced considering there was 5 of us. Very clean, with comfy beds. The only negative was the lovely old floorboards creaked a lot! In every room!

When our daughter got really sick they were so helpful and let us check out late as she was asleep, and did not mind that we had had to use all the towels to clean up her vomit. They charged us CHF10 extra for cleaning but I thought that was reasonable considering....

The Hotel itself is very centrally located. We walked from the station with our luggage with ease and it is beside the river (great views from front rooms) and the old town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrydeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a wonderful room, kind of small but perfect for us. There was a bedroom with a door and then another room with two twin beds and television. Nice, updated bathroom. Very clean. Close to the covered bridge and on a really nice street. Parking was down the street but that was not a problem since we were walking everywhere and really didn't need the car during our stay. There is an Italian restaurant nearby on the same street, can't remember the name but they were open late and the food was fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaGOklahomaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Room: clean and quiet, comfortable beds.

Got upgraded to Deluxe rooms, room directly facing The river is slight smaller but offers the magnificent view of the snow capped mountains and the old wooden bridge.

Another room we have is on the side which is bigger and brighter and has nice tree view. Large clean bathroom and very powerful water for hot showers :)

Tips: asked for a corner room which has views of the river and is bright and big !!

free tea coffee water (self services) from the lounge where bfk was served and the bfk was good actually !! The fresh fruit muesli are sooo nice we are still talking about it !

Location: very close (5 mins walk) to the old town. train station is not that far, about 15 mins walk, Our 70+ y/o mums each with a full on luggage Managed it fine .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in October at the end of our 9 days in Switzerland Our first impression of the hotel from the outside was not good, but don't be put off by this. The staff in reception were friendly and helpful. Our twin share room had been refurbished, very clean with the most comfortable beds we had experienced in Switzerland. There was plenty of room for our cases and we had a balcony with a side view of the river. Our bathroom was spotless, with all amenities necessary for our stay. The hotel is very convenient to the train station, about 10 minutes walk, and in the old part of Lucerne Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. We would definitely stay there again, and consider it good value for money in Switzerland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller6519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is a great hotel within easy walking distance of all the inner city attractions and shopping in Lucerne. Excellent value for money. The rooms and facilities have all just been upgraded, so they are wonderfully clean and modern. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river have great views and most have balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damo637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stern Luzern
Hotel Stern Luzern
#34 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Hotel

Property: Tourist Hotel
Address: St.-Karli-Quai 12, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourist Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing