We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good city centre hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tourist Hotel
Ranked #29 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Dover
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good city centre hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

A little taken aback by finding the hotel shared premises with a hotel school but found extremely friendly and helpful receptionist and large, clean airy room with private balcony overlooking river. Substantial breakfast replenished regularly. As evening fell we realised that our balcony and windows are next to a local road but there were shutters on windows to give privacy at night and nets for privacy during the day. Only downside to balcony and nearby trees was a small invasion by ants in bathroom but they stayed near window and pushed off when light went out. Good wifi access. Offer of tea and coffee in lounge up to 2300 but it was instant coffee out of breakfast hours so didn't use it. Comfortable beds and great location - near city centre, by river but in quiet area. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geuzegirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    164
    90
    25
    19
See reviews for
131
137
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel recently in May 2014. Price was cheap compared to other places yet not too far away. The hotel is very close to the old town of Lucerne and about 15 minutes walk from the lion monument and the train station.

The room we (me & my girlfriend) booked had a double bunked bed and the bathroom wasn't ensuite. In terms of furniture, it was a bare minimum but still cosy and clean. The bathroom was well kept and just next to our room which added to our convenience. I believe the other rooms have ensuite bathrooms.

The hotel is situated just next to the river and pretty easy to find. For travellers coming from the train station, it may appear difficult due to the fact that the hotel is 15 minutes walk away and you'll be crossing from the new side of Lucerne to the old town but a good landmark is the church bridge.

Overall a decent hotel for budget travellers. Do note that accommodation is expensive in Switzerland and for its price, I think it's an ok deal.

Definitely recommend for budget travellers.

Room Tip: The rooms with the ensuite bathrooms although more expensive should be your 1st choice in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azayrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here with my 3 kids in May. It's right on the river. You can walk from train station if you don't have too much luggage. We took a room on the 1st (2nd) floor on the back side. It was clean and quiet. Not a lot of extra room but it suited our needs. There is a Coop near by for shopping. The dining/ cafeteria is on the ground floor facing the river. The offerings were adequate and standard. We found the staff friendly and helpful when asked. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californiafamily2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We found the Tourist Hotel to be good value (for Lucerne), very clean and in a good location. The staff were excellent - welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was basic but clean and comfortable with a large shower and comfortable beds. Our room faced the rear of the hotel so we did not have a view of the river but it was very quiet and pleasant. The Hotel is located in the old town and walking distance to good shopping, restaurants, and sights. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome everytime we passed through the reception area (it is amazing how this helps to make your stay enjoyable). The tea, coffee and cake available complimentary in the downstairs communal room was also lovely. Overall the Tourist Hotel was clean, comfortable, convenient and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel was great. The staff was beyond helpful. Fulfilling our wish of a balcony view, helping us with buying tickets, and suggesting places to eat. They had an onsite washer and dryer where we washed some clothes and had personal help. Accidentally, we left some t shirts in the dryer, and the night time front desk lady had them waiting for us, folded and everything. The room itself was small, but clean with nice decor. We enjoyed our balcony on the 2nd floor both nights, with a view of the river and mountains. Breakfast was good, and always busy with other guests. The coffee and water was great to come back to even in the late afternoon. Sometimes it's the little things that count and this hotel did not disappoint. I would stay there again in a heartbeat! They even sent us off on our way with a bottle of water at checkout!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony view! It's small but worth it to wake up to in the morning and enjoy at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

VERY small room with very small shower; linens were OK. Hallways in hotel were a little stuffy/musty smelling. Breakfast was good and was a great way to start the day; much appreciated. We were able to use one of the parking spaces in front of the hotel - YEAH! Considering the average room price in Luzerne, and the "walkable" location, I guess it was a value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Good check in. Room 203 with afternoon Sun, balcony over the river exceptional
Breakfast reasonable, coffee and tea all day was a bonus!
Parking a nightmare! Booked space but, was full so had to park infant of two cars hemming them in. Very narrow road and big car not good! 10.50PM knock on our door to move car so guests could leave 7.30am, we were in bed! Had a drink but struggled to repack! Not happy!!!! Bikes pushing past!

Room Tip: Careful with parking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEXBEXNKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stern Luzern
Hotel Stern Luzern
#33 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#34 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Hotel

Property: Tourist Hotel
Address: St.-Karli-Quai 12, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourist Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing