We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15-min Walk to Train Station, Facing River & Mountains”
Review of Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tourist Hotel
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“15-min Walk to Train Station, Facing River & Mountains”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We reached Luzern train station almost 8pm and decided to take a cab to the hotel (though it was only 15 minute-walk from the train station). But the taxi driver took us on a longer route and it cost us CHF17.50. Upon checking with the hotel receptionist, we were told that the taxi fare should not exceed CHF10. So it is advisable to check with the taxi on the price before you hop in one. Well by the way, it was a metered taxi so would not make any much different unless you can specifically direct which route to use. The receptionist of the hotel was very helpful and welcoming. She even showed us Luzern’s map and few interesting places to visit and gave us discounted coupons for museum entrance fees. She invited us to have free flow coffee at their breakfast area (free flow from morning until 10pm, which was fantastic). The room was very nice and airy. Our room was facing the Luzern river and mountains. The bathroom was big; almost as big as the bedroom area itself. They have more selection of breakfast items as compared to few of other hotels that we stayed in central Europe during our trip. The hotel was very close to Coop and our favorite Indian restaurant (their food was amazing) and tourist attractions like the Luzern Wall. We walked to the station on our last day in Luzern, and it was an easy and pleasant walking (with big bags you have to watch out for the uneven pathway and some stairs on the way to the station).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azira Marini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    175
    95
    26
    19
See reviews for
146
145
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AUH
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in June on a family holiday in a three bed family room. The rooms was very comfortable and clean, though when you see the entrance or the corridors you may not expect it, basically a hostel type for the most part. Sleep quality was really good, in a nice quiet street and the on other side the river. Our room had a nice view of the river and the hills. We really enjoyed that. Good basic breakfast. One can have a nice walk to the centre (station) etc. The staff were really helpful (They promptly gave us a confirmatory email when i asked to check the room booking as I was travelling with family) and when we checked in , gave us some directions etc. Also bought the Pilatus trip tickets directly at the hotel which saved a lot of bother ! Pleasant stay and real value for money.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are nice (like 401 etc). The family rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed at the tourist hotel for 5 nights and it is in a terrific location. Just on the outskirts of the old town and local bars / restaurants. Our room overlooked the river and the view from the room into the mountains was brilliant. Great staff who were very friendly and helpful. Great continental breakfast.Very handy also to train station approx 10 min walk

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivan_gray3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renmark, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel in a double room. The room was basic however it was clean and furnishings were quite new. It was cool when we were there so lack of air conditioning did not matter although room did become a bit stuffy. Overall a pleasant stay and good value compared with other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchardists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had booked a quadruple room, which quite frankly is pure hostel with bunker beds. Actually hotel interiors are old, only the reception is re-furbished. Proper ventilation is a problem. If you keep the windows open, you invite flies and mosquitoes. The location though is good, as it is close to the old city, flea markets and the famous old bridge. For a backpacker, it is good otherwise avoid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junaid_Yousuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Located next to a river, when you walk from the main train stop to this hotel, you almost gone through the old town which is quite interesting. Room size was acceptable but the corner table was so small. As no air-con so we open all the windows including the bathroom one but lots of flying ants were around the mirrors light which's quite annoying. Breakfast was OK as this is a last mintue booking so price was a bit high comparing with the facilifty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately it rained the 3 days we were in Lucerne but at the end of the day it was nice to sit on the balcony looking over the river. We arrived frazzled from long drive in heavy rain from Como and were welcomed by friendly and knowledgeable staff. Triple Room was clean and fresh with good bathroom and great shower. A real Tourist hotel quite busy and mix of nationalities. Only issue was the wifi as many reviews indicate. Only in reception and inconsistent even there. They claim available in some rooms but not sure about that. Small issue for some, bigger for others. Good breakfast and tea, instant coffee, cakes available all day. Overall pretty good value and close to shops and restaurants.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#24 of 68 in Lucerne
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#39 of 68 in Lucerne
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#22 of 68 in Lucerne
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Hotel

Property: Tourist Hotel
Address: St.-Karli-Quai 12, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourist Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing