We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucerne Riverfront hotel”
Review of The Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tourist Hotel
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Tourist hotel has a great location right on the river at the edge of the old city. It is also close to the city walls and a good restaurant called GourmIndia. The breakfast was good and plentiful. There is a washer and dryer available but they were in bad shape. The people were very friendly and offered discount tickets to many attractions. We stayed in a building behind the hotel so we had our own patio and it was very quiet. Downside was we didn't have the river view. coffee and tea is available 24 hours in the breakfast room.

Room Tip: There are two rooms in a building behind the hotel each with its own patio. If you don't mind no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seniorvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in the family apartment on the 4th floor and it was really nice and roomy for 2 adults and 3 teenagers. The breakfast was great and the hotel is close to the center of town via a nice walk along the river. We had a nice view of the mountains and the river from the windows of the apartment. Lucerne is very expensive, but the hotel was worth the money. Bought tickets for Mt. Pilatus from the concierge and that was also well worth it. The staff here also is super friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: There's some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jzee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed in a standard 4 p dorm room and it was clean and resonable spacious. Great view and linen was included. Coffee and tea was free, but the breakfast was not included in the price. Very friendly staff who really tried to make us feel welcome in every way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is very clinical - but clean. Out hotel room had a balcony with view over the river - it would have been great if it wasn't raining so hard. The room is quite small, wifi did not work.

On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and showed us to a private parking area at the back - convenient but an additional cost - on website it was not possible to book this at all so a plus point.

It is very close to Lucerne centre, so a perfect location - just a little expensive for what it is.

Breakfast is fine - a little simple but perfectly fine, they also serve coffee and cakes in the dining room during the day - but as the weather was so bad - most people had taken this already and we needed to ask for coffee - only instant was possible (no tea or coffee in the hotel room)

On check out we were asked if we wanted some mineral water for the journey - a nice touch

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed only one night while roadtrippin in Switzerland. My room was on the 5th floor and the actual hallway was kinda creepy... you had other rooms and some sort of classrooms... don't really know. The bathroom was ok but wasn't that clean. But the location was great and the staff was friendly. From all the hostels I stayed at in Switzerland, this is my least favorite. But it's still ok if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mc_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We reached Luzern train station almost 8pm and decided to take a cab to the hotel (though it was only 15 minute-walk from the train station). But the taxi driver took us on a longer route and it cost us CHF17.50. Upon checking with the hotel receptionist, we were told that the taxi fare should not exceed CHF10. So it is advisable to check with the taxi on the price before you hop in one. Well by the way, it was a metered taxi so would not make any much different unless you can specifically direct which route to use. The receptionist of the hotel was very helpful and welcoming. She even showed us Luzern’s map and few interesting places to visit and gave us discounted coupons for museum entrance fees. She invited us to have free flow coffee at their breakfast area (free flow from morning until 10pm, which was fantastic). The room was very nice and airy. Our room was facing the Luzern river and mountains. The bathroom was big; almost as big as the bedroom area itself. They have more selection of breakfast items as compared to few of other hotels that we stayed in central Europe during our trip. The hotel was very close to Coop and our favorite Indian restaurant (their food was amazing) and tourist attractions like the Luzern Wall. We walked to the station on our last day in Luzern, and it was an easy and pleasant walking (with big bags you have to watch out for the uneven pathway and some stairs on the way to the station).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Azira Marini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in June on a family holiday in a three bed family room. The rooms was very comfortable and clean, though when you see the entrance or the corridors you may not expect it, basically a hostel type for the most part. Sleep quality was really good, in a nice quiet street and the on other side the river. Our room had a nice view of the river and the hills. We really enjoyed that. Good basic breakfast. One can have a nice walk to the centre (station) etc. The staff were really helpful (They promptly gave us a confirmatory email when i asked to check the room booking as I was travelling with family) and when we checked in , gave us some directions etc. Also bought the Pilatus trip tickets directly at the hotel which saved a lot of bother ! Pleasant stay and real value for money.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are nice (like 401 etc). The family rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Missingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#24 of 67 in Lucerne
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.5 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#23 of 67 in Lucerne
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 67 in Lucerne
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tourist Hotel

Address: St.-Karli-Quai 12, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £107 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tourist Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in the old town of Lucerne and only a few minutes from the station, the lake and the shopping area. Whether you come for a business trip or short holiday, the hotel staff will be happy to facilitate your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing