We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Villa Maria
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 21 July 2011

There was lots of traffic noise, I had to use earplugs while sleeping. Room was very clean. Breakfast was excellent with swiss cheeses, bread, fruits, yoghurt etc. Staff is super friendly. If you stay here, ask for a room that has windows to the backyard, those rooms are less noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jibbajaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

Despite the good reviews this hotel had, we ended up wishing we had stayed somewhere else. Firstly it only has three parking spaces so not sure where more parking is, but if it is raining (or even if it is not) and you have large suitcases there is nowhere to even stop near the hotel as it fronts right on to a busy road. The hotel itself has a very institutional feel about it once you go up the stairs due to the decor, which is not welcoming. While we chose a family room with a toilet, bath and shower, we found that the shower was only suitable for very small children or maybe dwarves so was next to useless.

We were not impressed that the second (double) bed only had a single bed duvet on it, which was fine as long as there were not two people trying to share it. It is also a very long walk in the rain to any half decent restaurants etc and we did not want to take our car in case we lost the parking space we were lucky to get. It seems these parking spaces are hot property as we were asked to vacate our one as soon as we checked out.

Positives were that the breakfast was reasonably good and management in the form of Felix was always around to help. It is close to the lake and the excellent Transport Museum and it is possible to walk to the Chapel Bridge on a non rainy day. There are public buses if you can figure out how to use them.

Stay here again - probably not.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

This is a cozy and lovely bed & breakfast in the quiet area near city center, with Lake Luzern just a min away. It's a beautiful 15 mins stroll along the lake side to the city center. The B&B manager Phillips was friendly and helpful. We rented a room with a private bath but shared toilet and the room is clean, basic but nice. Breakfast served was decent and there was free parking right in front of the property. We paid CHF 156 a night which was not cheap but for Luzern anything decent is usually at least around that price range during this time of the year.... If you're looking for a cozy and quiet place that's not right in the city center, this is the place....

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimPheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

If you like being woken early by construction work at the back of this property, plus the busy road and train - stay here.
Also, you need to make sure you request a shower room otherwise you'll have to share one in the main hall ...
The room itself was comfortable and clean - and I was spoilt with a balcony but the view was of the building works - go figure!
There are only three parks out the front - the other option is parking near the railway lines.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimmyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Small, cosy Villa, clean and tidy. There is no restaurant. I paid 110€ (138CHF), for such a Pension (with a restaurant) in Germany I would pay max. 55€.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fero967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

The staff is friendly, room is nice and clean, bed was very comfortable.There are 3 parking spaces outside. It is 20 minutes walking to the city center.
There is some light noise from street outside and from people using the toilet.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank KONSTANTINOSAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We confirmed our reservation (including the type of room and price) at this lovely hotel twice before arrival. When we arrived, we were told our reservation was for a different (lower quality) room at the same price. Although we had written confirmation, the rooms we expected to have had apparently been given to someone else. The only good thing is we were released from paying for our room and we went to another place. Amazingly a similar situation occurred on a previous attempt to stay at Hotel Maria, but that time we were told the people in the room would not leave, and the proprietor found us another hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mooseantlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
#47 of 67 in Lucerne
165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#33 of 67 in Lucerne
356 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#43 of 67 in Lucerne
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Central Luzern
Hotel Central Luzern
#27 of 67 in Lucerne
63 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 67 in Lucerne
493 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Anker
Hotel Anker
#24 of 67 in Lucerne
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Villa Maria

Address: Haldenstrasse 36, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: £106 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Villa Maria 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Villa Maria Hotel Lucerne
Maria Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing