We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Villa Maria
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We were in Luzern for 4 days and stayed at Villa Maria. The hotel was in a very good location, walking distance to the lake. Convinient buses to the train station. The hotel was very basic, but very clean and comfortable. There were no phones in the room, but wi-fi accessible was available in the rooms. Breakfast was basic, but sufficient. We had no complains during our stay. The manager / owner was very very helpful and they did their best to keep the guests happy. Overall the hotel was decent, and clean place in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFO_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    42
    25
    4
    6
See reviews for
42
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

There was lots of traffic noise, I had to use earplugs while sleeping. Room was very clean. Breakfast was excellent with swiss cheeses, bread, fruits, yoghurt etc. Staff is super friendly. If you stay here, ask for a room that has windows to the backyard, those rooms are less noisy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jibbajaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Despite the good reviews this hotel had, we ended up wishing we had stayed somewhere else. Firstly it only has three parking spaces so not sure where more parking is, but if it is raining (or even if it is not) and you have large suitcases there is nowhere to even stop near the hotel as it fronts right on to a busy road. The hotel itself has a very institutional feel about it once you go up the stairs due to the decor, which is not welcoming. While we chose a family room with a toilet, bath and shower, we found that the shower was only suitable for very small children or maybe dwarves so was next to useless.

We were not impressed that the second (double) bed only had a single bed duvet on it, which was fine as long as there were not two people trying to share it. It is also a very long walk in the rain to any half decent restaurants etc and we did not want to take our car in case we lost the parking space we were lucky to get. It seems these parking spaces are hot property as we were asked to vacate our one as soon as we checked out.

Positives were that the breakfast was reasonably good and management in the form of Felix was always around to help. It is close to the lake and the excellent Transport Museum and it is possible to walk to the Chapel Bridge on a non rainy day. There are public buses if you can figure out how to use them.

Stay here again - probably not.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

This is a cozy and lovely bed & breakfast in the quiet area near city center, with Lake Luzern just a min away. It's a beautiful 15 mins stroll along the lake side to the city center. The B&B manager Phillips was friendly and helpful. We rented a room with a private bath but shared toilet and the room is clean, basic but nice. Breakfast served was decent and there was free parking right in front of the property. We paid CHF 156 a night which was not cheap but for Luzern anything decent is usually at least around that price range during this time of the year.... If you're looking for a cozy and quiet place that's not right in the city center, this is the place....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimPheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2011

If you like being woken early by construction work at the back of this property, plus the busy road and train - stay here.
Also, you need to make sure you request a shower room otherwise you'll have to share one in the main hall ...
The room itself was comfortable and clean - and I was spoilt with a balcony but the view was of the building works - go figure!
There are only three parks out the front - the other option is parking near the railway lines.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimmyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Small, cosy Villa, clean and tidy. There is no restaurant. I paid 110€ (138CHF), for such a Pension (with a restaurant) in Germany I would pay max. 55€.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fero967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

The staff is friendly, room is nice and clean, bed was very comfortable.There are 3 parking spaces outside. It is 20 minutes walking to the city center.
There is some light noise from street outside and from people using the toilet.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KONSTANTINOSAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
#45 of 68 in Lucerne
163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Spatz
Hotel Restaurant Spatz
#44 of 68 in Lucerne
110 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#36 of 68 in Lucerne
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#29 of 68 in Lucerne
775 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#39 of 68 in Lucerne
44 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Sonnenberg
Hotel Sonnenberg
#4 of 6 in Kriens
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Villa Maria

Property: Pension Villa Maria
Address: Haldenstrasse 36, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Villa Maria 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Villa Maria Hotel Lucerne
Maria Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing