We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and neat”
Review of Hotel Alpha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alpha
Ranked #37 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple and neat”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Room is spacious, comes with a basin. The room and the shared bathroom are spotlessly clean. Complimentary breakfast has a good spread. Staff is helpful. 10 minutes walk from the train station. The only thing that bothered us is the creaky floors on the 3rd floor in front of our room. Other than that, everything else has been great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    173
    65
    7
    4
See reviews for
57
142
60
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

There are mainly positives to this hotel. Great sized rooms, comfy beds, clean shared bathrooms, friendly staff and a great buffet breakfast. Only downfall was the creaking floors outside your room so late night entries were heard! And not the closest to in town but still a good position for a lovely night stroll (not so good after a day of non stop shopping).

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunkiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Pros
1.) Rooms are the cleanest in our 5-city tour! We even joked that the rooms have the aura of "disinfected hospital rooms." Hotel Alpha is newly renovated. Even the shared bathroom and toilet are tidy.
2.) Beds and blankets are comfortable. Sleep quality was above satisfactory.
3.) Breakfast (included in price) is filling and adds points to the hotel. Not the usual packed croissant and jams that you get in most value hotels. They provide fruits and variety of cold cuts and breads also.
4.) The hotel has a lift, which is a plus if you are carrying bags.
5.) Front desk is willing to assist. They reserved dinner on our behalf.
6.) Location is OK. 10-15 mins walk from train station and easy to locate as it is within main road Pilatustrasse. Closest grocery/supermarket is Denner, which is 5mins away.
7.) Computer room/Internet is available.

Cons
1.) We took the room with sink and shared bathroom/toilet. Our only complain is that the hallway has creeky floors, which can be bothersome if you wish to use the shared bathrooms late at night or early morning. Even ninja steps can be heard from other rooms!
2.) Minor point: The hotel does not have many food options nearby. We recommend Wirthaus Galliker, which is a few blocks away. If you are in a hurry, there is a kebab/pizza place at the end of the street. Again, this is not a relevant concern as Lucerne is a terrific city for walking.

Conclusion: Highly recommended. The combination of over-all cleanliness and better breakfast appeals a lot. Great value for Swiss hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manjoperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I booked this hotel because I wanted to spend time in Switzerland but wanted to keep the cost low. I assumed Hotel Alpha was going to be similar to a hostel. I was very wrong. Hotel Alpha is a lovely hotel in a quiet neighborhood a short walk from the center of Lucerne. Our room was big and absolutely spotless, the beds were so comfortable!! We had a lovely balcony with a view of the very top of Mt. Pilatus. The breakfast was buffet style and I must say it was my favorite part of Hotel Alpha. The food was so fresh and the lady who takes case of the breakfast did a brilliant job of making sure that you were never waiting for anything. If you are hesitant that there is a communal bathroom/toilet, don't be! This is the first time I have ever stayed somewhere where there was a communal shower and I must say I was a little worried beforehand, but it was not an issue at all. The facilities were spotless and there were several on each floor. You can't go wrong with booking this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PondLeaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We saved alot of money by saving here. We stayed May 11-14th 2012. I was anxious to see what it would be like but I was pleasantly suprised. The entire place was really clean! Our whole family (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed in a 4 bedded room. Breakfast was great too, lots to choose from and that was included in the hotel price. The kids and I went down to the lounge a few times and I watched a little T.V. and they also had a few toys for the kids. I would definetely stay here again. It was about a 10-15 minute walk from all the main sights.

Room Tip: Keep in mind there is no A/C in this hotel, and it can get really warm in the middle of summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peerey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We were just spending one night in Lucerne and we found Hotel Alpha online. This place rocks. Its super clean and well laid out. The staff was very friendly and offered up some great suggestions for restaurants. We paid for a double and were upgraded to a 4 bed bedroom at no cost! The price was excellent too. Its just a short walk to the city and old town, really it cant be beat. We had a sink/mirror in our room. The bathroom (and shower) was down the hall. Everything was very clean.

Room Tip: We booked the day before and were upgraded to a much bigger room. Who knows maybe they sold the smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ProfessorX_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The Alpha Hotel offers an affordable accommodation in an expensive city. The rooms were super clean and surprisingly spacious. I was traveling with my husband and twin babies. We were easily able to fit a portable crib in the corner, plus all of our bags. The shared bathrooms were very clean and accessible. The reading room offered a spacious area for my boys to crawl around. The breakfast buffet was quite nice, with good coffee and plenty of choices. I was impressed with the overall quality and would recommend his hotel as a place to stay while exploring the beautiful city of Lucerne.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#33 of 68 in Lucerne
1,531 reviews
1.6 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
547 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnenberg
Hotel Sonnenberg
#4 of 6 in Kriens
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 68 in Lucerne
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#25 of 68 in Lucerne
416 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
#43 of 68 in Lucerne
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha

Property: Hotel Alpha
Address: Zaehringerstrasse 24, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpha 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alpha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing