We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good quality for the price”
Review of Hotel Alpha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alpha
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 15 May 2008

Very big & clean room #113. Very good breakfast in large room. Ideal location for an hotel...a few streets away the very center of the old city so very quiet & safe area. Free parking....very appreciated. Low price Internet acces in common lounge area. Useful Elevator. I would definitively recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chancois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2008

Well, we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. Though just a normal Bed and Breakfast, the friendliness of the staff , its central location (5-10 min walk from the train station) and good clean service make it highly recommended. It is a good choice for someone on a budget!!! would visit again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alexnorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

I stayed here as a "rest night" during my Euro-trip. I booked one night at Hotel Alpha for a single room with sink. The price was great, and it was a very nice, clean hotel, though some parts felt a little shabby. The hotel is situated a bit further in from the main train station, so if you're with luggage or heavy backpacks, I'd suggest you spring for the bus instead of walking to the 15 minute stroll.

The room is small and the lights are kind of dim, but you had your own balcony, sink and internet access is available. (Internet access is better in the hallway though.) The breakfast buffet was good, with cereal, toast, jams, coffee, tea, cheese. The eating area was nice and bright. There are lounges, but I didn't really hang around them.

The hotel is located a teeny bit removed, but it's a walkable city, so it's not hard to stroll around, catch the boat to Mount Pilatus, come back from dinner and get home before it's totally empty in the streets.

If you need a simple place to stay in Lucerne, definitely try this - it's nice and clean and cheap!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KDV25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

The hotel is located a good 20 to 25 minutes walk from the Lucerne train station and it is about 10 minutes walk to the Old Town. It can be difficult if you're lugging your bags around as it is quite a walk from the train station.

The rooms are very clean and basic but the toilet is quite small.
Breakfast was decent.

We were there during the Fasnacht Carnival but the area was quiet. If we had chosen to stay in a hotel that is nearer to the Old Town, it would have been difficult to sleep especially with our baby !

Good value with the price we paid especially for those who doesn't mind walking quite a bit.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2007

I was travelling with my parents who were new to Europe. The hotel was clean, but obviously a dorm that has been converted into a Hotel. The breakfast was quite simple, but decent enough. The staff was incredibly friendly & a real highlight to the hotel! Also, free parking. The hotel was on the main street leading into Lucerne Town Center & only a 10 minute walk to the wooden bridge.

We stayed in a 3 person room with shared bathroom. The room was extremely small, but good decor, comfortable beds & a sink. It did remind all of us though of our dorms from our Uni years.

Good points: Staff, free parking, location, water pressure in the showers

Bad points: Smoking was allowed in common areas including our hallway, the hotel is obviously a converted dorm, compared to travelling in Bavaria - this hotel is a bit expensive for being dorm-like.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank STLLUV2TRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

This hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the train station. Not too far, but a bit of a pain if you are dragging luggage down the street (and worse if it is a hot and/or rainy day!).

Given the price, this is a good budget choice. We had a double room with bathroom - it was clean and spacious (it actually had an extra single bed).

Reception was friendly. Breakfast was not that exciting - we actually skipped it the second morning to grab something outside instead.

Overall, 7 out of 10.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank hmhmhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2007

We stayed there for first day of Easter Holidays. After the booking we were informed that we will have a room with shared bathroom/WC. But on check-in they gave us a nice big room with big bathroom, WC and good bed. Breakfast was good with very nice service. The hotel has 10-12 rooms with individual bathroom and rest use shared bathrooms, so remember to check before booking.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank impstesting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 66 in Lucerne
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
1.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#43 of 66 in Lucerne
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#39 of 66 in Lucerne
1,604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#41 of 66 in Lucerne
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 24, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £85 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpha 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alpha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing