We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice in Lucerne”
Review of Hotel Alpha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alpha
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We spent three nights in the Hotel Alpha in a room with a double bed and private bath. The room was quite small, but very well laid out so that we had no trouble finding space for our bags or clothes. Everything was very clean. There was a lot of choice for breakfast - cereals, bread, cheese, cold meats, hard boiled eggs. There is one hour of free wi-fi per night - the reception clerk ensured that I was familiar with the procedures for exiting wi-fi so we would not be charged for time we did not use. The Hotel is a short (10 minute) walk from the train station and the old part of the city in a relatively quiet neighbourhood. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawkhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Spartan but spotless room with washbasin - ours had a small balcony! Shared shower and toilet facilities but absolutely spotless and 4-star quality - far preferable to a poor ensuite in my opinion, and I never waited. Good breakfast in nice room. Fabulous location; easy to find on foot, even after dark (large illuminated sign) - about 15 minutes' walk from station in a quiet street with plenty of bars, eateries and supermarkets nearby. Easy walk to Old Town. Friendly, helpful staff, looked after our bags on last day. Switzerland is expensive anyway, so this place just can't be faulted at the price. OK the room is plain but if you need deluxe you'll pay at least as much - and why would you be in your room in a place like Lucerne anyway? Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stopped by on a Saturday without a reservation and they were able to accomodate us for the night. It turned out to be only CHF 60/person and the rooms, bathrooms and facility in general were all exceptionally CLEAN. It was less than 10 minutes to the world famous bridges and restaurants of Lucerne. Breakfast of bread, cheese, cereals, fruit included. Great for students on a budget! Definite upgrade from cheapie backpacker hostels at a great price.

Room Tip: If you don't want to have a shared bathroom book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BM227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were staying in a corner double room with 3 windows, 2 of the windows could view Mt. Pilatus. During sunset the Mt Pilatus view is great but it covered by cloud every morning while our stayed. The room is plain and clean. The shared bathrooms and toilets are spotless clean. We never encounter any waiting during our stayed. The hotel provided umbrella thoughfully which is very useful during rainny day.

The Swiss breakfast is good, even though it starting time is 7a.m but it was ready earlier than that, it helped so much for the guess who wishes to go out or leave early to fill up first. Compliment to the lady who prepare the breakfast and get ready the table, she is very efficient and friendly.

Denver discount store is very near to this hotel.

The location is about 10 minutes walk from the train/bus station or boat/ship wharf.

The staff are very helpful in giving trip suggestions or information.

Room Tip: To have view of Mt Pilatus from room's window, must choose a room same side with the breakfast a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessB_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel is very much a budget option, way cheaper than most others in Lucerne so this must temper any remarks. The hotel is in a quiet but reasonably central location, the room was large and clean and particularly the "wet-room" style bathroom looked newly fitted and would not have disgraced a 4-star establishment. However, the room had a very spartan feel, with a hard floor, simple furnishings, plain white walls and plain central light fittings. The general lack of curtains or other soft furnishings meant the room resonated like a hospital ward. I am still giving the Alpha a "very good" rating based on the excellent value for money but don't expect the level of comfort you get from a 300CHF hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed at Hotel Alpha for two nights with family. I booked a single room with a bathroom but got a larger 3- person room instead. Everything was clean and efficient. The room is extremely basic but reflects the daily rate. The location is very good - only a 5 minute walk to the main part of Lucerne. I was able to get a parking spot only 2 days prior to the reservation so that was very convenient. My only complaint is that my room had very noisy pipes running through it. I asked at the reception if water was running in the room above me and I was told that these pipes carry air out of the building. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I was travelling with a group of friends and we got there early at 10 in the morning.
Really happy that the room was ready so that we could freshen up after our 15 hour flight.
Both the rooms and bathroom were really clean. There was also a basin and a mirror in the room so that you do not have to walk to the toilet to get ready...
Breakfast was sumptuous - a complete Swiss breakfast.

The only thing we would like to see when we return the next time is to have hangers for our jackets.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Syrah_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#38 of 67 in Lucerne
1,582 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
1.6 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#40 of 67 in Lucerne
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#24 of 67 in Lucerne
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 24, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £92 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpha 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alpha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing