We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe in the Winter?”
Review of Hotel Alpha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alpha
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Alpha early September. The hotel is not far from the Train Station and is clean. There is no personality from the hotel or the staff. The room aka "sweat lodge" was sweltering hot, opening the windows didn't do a thing to help because we overlooked a courtyard with no air flow. We were able to get a fan from the front desk, it gave little to no relief from the heat. Lucky we were only staying one night. The patio we had and the courtyard was nice though, and had a nice view of Mt. Pilatus. Won’t be going back, there are other hotels in the same price range I have stayed at in Luzern that are better.

Room Tip: If going in the winter get a courtyard view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbum1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Nice Hotel, you should just come here to sleep after a full days travel. Try to stay away from the Side rooms like 302/301 series ,especially on weekends, lot of noise outside hotel, a weekend party spot. Rest all is ok....superb connectivity via bus and walk.....at this price this one is the bes I must say....

Room Tip: Center of Hotel Area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilnpatel-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was a good hotel, the room was a decent size and the posters for the Mt Pilatus railway made me realise I had missed something in the guide books!

I had a view over the school which mean I got a bit of noise at times, but it wasn't that bad really.
Location is decent just off the main roads in a quiet area.

The male toilet/shower wasn't quite balanced right with 2 showers and 1 toilet, the other way round being preferable, and as the hotel has balconies and a sitting room for Smokers the smell did seem to hang in places (I'm from Scotland where you're unceremoniously dumped out on the street if you want to smoke), all in all though, really good basic accomodation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiallWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Despite the low room rates, the hotel is in a good location, around 10 minutes walk from the train station and the same to the old town. The area is very quiet, with very little traffic, and I had a view of Mt Pilatus from my room on the 4th floor. The room itself was quite big, and it was very handy having a sink in the room. Breakfast was also very filling, mainly just a standard continental style buffet breakfast which set me up until lunchtime. The shared bathrooms were also spotless and I didn't have to wait at all during my stay.

Overall, if you're looking for an affordable place to stay in Lucerne and don't mind sharing a bathroom, I'd highly recommend the Alpha.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BalhamWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our experience was very similar to those of the other reviewers here. However, we were a family of four staying in one clean, but very simple, room that felt cramped. It is hard to find hotels in Lucerne that have affordable quad rooms. Hotel Alpha's rooms are all the same size. So the rooms feel roomy for 2 guests and a bit cramped for 4 guests.

The location is ok. It is true that it is a 10 minute walk to the old town, but there is really nothing to see or do in the immediate area around the hotel. It is in a purely residential neighborhood. It is also not the central kind of location that allows you to walk back and forth to the hotel throughout the day. The neighborhood is very quiet on weekends and school holidays.

The hotel is very clean. The shared bathrooms were always clean and available when we needed them. The showers had great water pressure!

Breakfast was very good and plentiful.

Beds were great. We all slept beautifully.

The staff are very accommodating and helpful.

The price was competitive for Lucerne and the best deal we could find for our family of four.

Also, we were able to rent one of the four (or five?) parking spots at the hotel which were reasonably priced and a big bonus for us.

Overall, it was a good choice for our family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingfamily2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Hotel Alpha is located within a 10-minute walk from the train station in a quiet location. It actually deserves three and a half stars -- it isn't average and neither jaw- dropping -- it's somewhere in between.

As a TripAdvisor contributor, I was pretty pleased to see the 2013 plaque that adorned the door. The reception was neat and tidy (-- although I didn't like the steps that led to it; made carrying the heavy suitcases tad bit difficult.)

We booked two rooms for our family of four. Clean rooms --- no frills to boast! Beds, pillows and comforters were nice and comfy! We were hoping that they will have rooms with connecting doors for the kids, but, unfortunately they didn't. However, the rooms were located next to each other. Apart from the beds, there was a sink and a wooden closet for your belongings.

Much to our dismay, the bathrooms are shared (just like in camp grounds). Along with two private showers (and rarely a queue), there was a toilet. The facility was neat and modern.

The breakfast was ok -- cereals, boiled eggs, meat, toast, tea, coffee and milk. I was disappointed that there weren't even fresh croissants.Although, I must say that the breakfast room was beautiful with big windows and tables, and a modern decor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReenaDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is only a 10 minute from the train station. It is located on a quiet residential street just minutes from the historic business area. Fantastic breakfast and great views from rooms facing mountains!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
0.4 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.2 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#26 of 67 in Lucerne
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 67 in Lucerne
489 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#39 of 67 in Lucerne
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 24, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £89 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpha 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alpha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing