We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour group hotel with plenty to offer for independant travelers”
Review of Grand Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tour group hotel with plenty to offer for independant travelers”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here for one night on an anniversary trip to Switzerland. I was a little worried because of the mixed reviews. It's all about the room you get though and ours had to be the best in the hotel (308 I think). We had a huge balcony room overlooking Lake Lucerne with a Parisian balcony with bistro tables and chairs, another large window with french doors, and side windows in bedroom/sitting area and bathroom. There was a writing desk, several upolstered chairs, and settee by the bed. The bathroom was also huge for an old European hotel complete with chandelier. We had none of the problems that I've read about Swiss hotels - in fact we had 3 washcloths, several types of soap, shampoo, and other toiletries. The hairdryer was ancient, maybe from the 1960's, so bring you own if you've got one that works with European outlets. There is a small 110 Volt outlet in the bathroom for shavers. We used it to charge an iPad.

The hotel is across the street from the Lake, but there is a crosswalk right in front of hotel and cars actually stop when they see you waiting to cross. It is a nice 10-15 min walk to old town Lucerne, and was a pleasant stroll for dinner and back. It would get pretty long if you were here for several days and went into town for lunch and then again for dinner. There's a bus stop in front of the hotel so that may be an option too.

Front desk staff was very friendly. I went to get a fan for our room and the nice man at the front desk wouldn't dream of letting me carry it upstairs myself.

The cons: this is a tour group hotel. I lost count of how many tour buses came and went in the 24 hours we were there. I've got some tips to avoid large groups: check in the hotel in early afternoon before the tour buses arrive. Groups have to check out by 9:00AM and have a set breakfast time, so plan on eating breakfast later, around 9:30 AM and you'll have the dining room to yourself. sit on the porch bar or in the gardens while the tours are at dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room facing the lake, even though they don't have air conditioning. We peeked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsClean76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    165
    79
    42
    28
See reviews for
101
164
29
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We only had one night to stay in Lucerne in mid-April and chose this hotel due to its proximity to the lake and its price. We stayed in a room overlooking the lake (as we had requested when we booked) and found it to be a good size room and very clean. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was OK, but nothing special. While this hotel was OK for one night, if we returned to Lucerne in the future we would pay extra to stay closer to the Old Town where all the action is.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davey314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel for several days. It lives up to its name. Very nice place, no A/C though. Located right across the road from the lake. The staff was most helpful and friendly. One of my fondest memories of Lucerne was sitting on the front veranda sipping wine and watching the sun go down over the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This out of the way hotel was a bit disappointing.The rooms were small and there was no air conditioning to be had.It had a small tv which was difficult to manoeuvrings the controls of.The bed was soft and there were spare pillows to be had.The view was not of the lake but other buildings nearby.The bathroom was old and could do with a bit of renovation.No internet connection was had.The staff spoke adequate English and advise us that only Swiss francs would be accepted for any transactions,not euros.Breakfast was okay although limited in its selection.Being located on the main road proved a bit noisy at times with construction work goingb on nearby.Transport to town was seldom and it was easier to do the 20 minute walk.Shopping in Vienna was fantastic with the biggest sellers being Swiss Army knives and watches.

Room Tip: Top floor facing lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thriftyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkinson, QLD.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

What a disappointment this hotel was. This is one of the many that we stayed at wilst on a Trafalgar Tour. Small room with no air conditioning and the we had a fan that if you left it on you had trouble either hearing your partner or getting off to sleep. We had a set meal for dinner which to praise it, one would say it was average at best and the service was the same. Breakfast the following morning was jus as bad.
Perhaps we were there at a bad time as we were just one of a large number of tour buses, however everything was not up to scratch and needed to be mentioned.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secunda, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had a last minute change of plans, and booked at this hotel the night before our arrival. I see some of the reviews are not too great, but we really couldn't complain. We got a lovely lakeside room, with a beautiful view and a bath. We travelled with our 3 year old daughter and she had a very decent bed made up and we still had tons of space in the room. The hotel was really only a stopover for us, so I cannot comment on a long stay, but we were really pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly, breakfast was a HUGE spread with a beautiful view of the lake and check-out was only at 12pm. As we had a flight out of Zurich at 10pm, this was really convenient for us. A big negative for us personally was just the lack of coffee and tea in the room. A kettle and the necessities to make coffee is really not too much to ask. And if you want to order tea it's CHF5!!! We thought that was a bit extreme. But other than that, we won't hesitate to return. (Ask for a room higher up, we were on the first floor and the traffic can become quite noisy underneath your window. However, the doors to the patio are soundproof, so once you go to sleep at night, you don't hear the traffic).

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koala1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Overall, I had a great stay at this historic hotel in Lucerne. This was not my first visit to the hotel, and I was glad to be back. I had a newly remodeled room, flatscreen TV, and separate toilet and shower rooms. The mattresses seemed new, also, and the sleep was fine. The hotel has a great view of the lake, especially if you sit out front. Bar service was excellent and the prices were good, too.The hotel is old, but in great condition. Breakfast was great every morning, and there were many options to choose from. Patrick at the front desk was extremely helpful throughout the stay, providing great directions and wonderful restaurant suggestions. He made my stay much easier. While this isn't the newest hotel on the block, it does offer a lot of charm and character, and I look forward to returning next time I'm in Switzerland.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chase P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#19 of 68 in Lucerne
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Lucerne
Hotel Royal Lucerne
#42 of 68 in Lucerne
113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#18 of 68 in Lucerne
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
471 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#14 of 68 in Lucerne
828 reviews
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Haldenstrasse 59 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#20 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europe, opened in 1875, combines a grand past with a contemporary outlook and is distinguished by its subtle elegance, attentive service and warm hospitality. If offers 169 tastefully designed rooms, a restaurant with lake view, a hotel bar with patio and garden and two lavish dining halls. Shopping facilities, lake promenade, casino, gym & wellness and a golf course are at short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne
Grand Hotel Europe Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing