We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Historical Hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Georgetown, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Historical Hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel looks clean and "new" considering the hotel has a long history.
The view (Snow Mountains) from the hotel is great if it is a sunny day.
The staff is helpful and Wifi is only CHF 5 for 24 hours.
The food are OK too as our tour group took the dinner and breakfast in this hotel.
You can request for hot water (free of charge) if you need.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OoiFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    165
    81
    42
    28
See reviews for
102
164
29
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights of a tour of Europe and loved it. Rooms were the biggest we had when in Europe and very clean and quiet. The room even had a couch which was nice when trying to unwind after a long day of walking the city. 10 minute walk to the best shopping in Lucerne was a definite plus. There is a nice porch out front which is perfect for looking at the Alps and relaxing. A great place to stay when visiting Lucerne for a day or a week!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart Manor, N. Y.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel has the look of a grand hotel although slightly old. It is a short walk to get to the center of the city. The walk along the the river is beautiful. We were here on a trip with Gate 1 travel and they always find good hotels. The breakfast was adequate. There was hot and cold food and a lovely dining room. The bed linens were wonderful and they brought us extra pillows as soon as we called. If it had not been raining, we would have enjoyed having a drink on the front porch. I didn't realize it but the front desk was lending umbrellas to people so thay could walk to the center of Lucerne. I enjoyed this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Good alternative to the overpriced 5 star hotels in Lucerne. A lot of Asian groups on their trip through Switzerland and Europe. For one night ok, but not more. Nice view over the lake. If you don't expect too much, you will be happy. Very nice breakfast, friendly staff.

A critical point: Forgot a rather expensive face creme in the bathroom. Was calling the same day. Not found immediately, and the receptionist said that they will send it of course to my Swiss home, but "on my own expenses" - in Switzerland, might be costs of max. USD 10... Swiss hospitality. But, no package arrived until now. Might be stolen. A pity, and bad for hotel's reputation regarding safety.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view. Noisy during the day, quiet during the night. Hot in summer (no AC).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calimero007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

was expecting a lot from this hotel, and prob the only two redeeming features was that it was close enough to town to walk, and that it was clean. Other than that, very average. Worst parts are no air conditioning, and the rooms were sweltering hot, and second, I could only stand up in the shower by opening the window, A frame room design, and with the window open, it didn't leave much privacy. Poorly thought out, and badly executed. Very little parking. Staff were nice though.

Room Tip: don't get a room on the top floor if you are over 4', otherwise you wont be able to shower p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkFmDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here recently and was so disappointed. It's a grand old beautiful nostalgic hotel whose decor looks like its out of the 30's. the staff was very friendly and accommodating to the extent of their seemingly limited ability. The rooms are old and hot. The beds were hard and the sheets had about a 30 thread count. The breakfast was awful The outside is beautiful with flowers everywhere.. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have read the Reviews on here and on booking wasn't sure if i had made a mistake due to the Content. But we were pleasantly surprised as we could Not Complain at all about the Hotel. I Asked for a lake view and that is Exactly what we got and we got an added Bonus of a Balcony. The room was clean and Big; it was a Little Basic but the view made up for that. The Bar was excellent and the staff very Friendly. The breakfast was Not the best but we did manage to find Something we Liked. A Nice Touch was the waitress Service for Drink. A Good Hotel in a Good Location. We Would consider Staying there again.

All in all very Good with nothing to Complain About.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janey2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#18 of 68 in Lucerne
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Lucerne
Hotel Royal Lucerne
#42 of 68 in Lucerne
115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#19 of 68 in Lucerne
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#13 of 68 in Lucerne
829 reviews
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Haldenstrasse 59 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#20 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europe, opened in 1875, combines a grand past with a contemporary outlook and is distinguished by its subtle elegance, attentive service and warm hospitality. If offers 169 tastefully designed rooms, a restaurant with lake view, a hotel bar with patio and garden and two lavish dining halls. Shopping facilities, lake promenade, casino, gym & wellness and a golf course are at short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne
Grand Hotel Europe Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing