We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A beautiful Stay"”
Review of Grand Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Union, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"A beautiful Stay"”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Upon arrival you are greeted with the most beautiful landscaping. The colorful flowers are beautiful! The location is central but not on a busy street. There is a wonderful restaurant next to the hotel. The lobby is quite grand. The rooms are more spacious than most in Europe as it was the next to last of the eight countries I visited. The bathroom was spacious as well. The beds were so comfortable I fell asleep before I hit the pillow. The restaurant in the hotel has a great breakfast. When I visit again this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NyasaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    157
    74
    41
    26
See reviews for
97
160
28
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Lucerne was our second stop on our honeymoon trip and we chose to stay at Grand Hotel Europe after reading all the good reviews on TripAdvisor.

The hotel is a nice place to stay with a wonderful location as the lake is just across the road. We had booked a lake view room but to be honest the view isn't that great since the hotel is not situated right on the lake. Also the hotel is situated in a quiet location so if you need a place which is right in the mix of things this place might not be for you.

Room was comfortable and clean and had a lovely little balcony too. The service however was just about average and definitely has scope for improvement.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbbyDoo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Grand Hotel Europe is one of my favourite places to stay out of any of the places I've visited around the globe. Staff are friendly and speak many different languages and the overall "vibe" is spot on. Located just across the street from the lake, Hotel Europe has magnificent views from the lake facing rooms (most of which have balconies) of Mount Pilatus and surrounding mountains. I personally think this is one of the best locations in the city because it is a short walk, and even shorter bus ride, into the heart of the city while still being in a quieter area.

Overall the hotel keeps its traditional look while providing modern amenities throughout. The food served in the ballrooms is very good as well. I've stayed here almost annually since 2007 and it just keeps getting better. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake/mountains or any with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SNV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Staff was so friendly and welcoming! We had a little room on the 4th floor with amazing views, always clean and very comfortable. Breakfast every morning was excellent and again the staff incredibly attentive. Very easy walk to town and directly across from the lake walk. Would stay here again in a second!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank moffett5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

There is nothing Grand about this hotel. The room interiors are old, bed and pillow are way to soft/used. The room also lack amenities such as a mini bar.

Restaurant wait staff are terribly rude. I asked for a spoon and was denied simply because she was lazy and afraid that other diners would ask for a spoon. Well, she should have set them on the tables since we are all having rice. No common sense and yet has the cheek to be rude/stuck up. This is the GRAND standards of the hotel. Pathetic.

Room Tip: there are rooms with larger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yane14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I actually stayed here in September 2009 (but couldn't set the date that far back). I came for a conference and brought my wife for a few extra days. We loved the hotel. We spent a little extra to get a corner room with a balcony. The balcony was VERY small - enough for two seats and a very small table - but it was just such a nice spot looking out over the lake with a cup of coffee or tea. The bedroom was very large and had a recessed ceiling panel which was back lit. The bath was modern and quite roomy. Unfortunately the walls were on the thin side without much sound insulation. We could hear conversations through the walls! A colleague did not ask for a special room and got a small room facing the back. I think he said it looked at the dumpster! So keep that in mind. The breakfast was nice, European-style, with cold meats, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, coffee, tea and the like. The hotel is a short walk to the center of town. I'd stay here again if I had the chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here two nights and first impression on arriving was WOW. Ok, so the age of the hotel means its facilities aren't ultra modern but room was comfortable and clean. The lounge area had an old world charm to it same as the breakfast room. Well within walking distance to the centre and what a lovely walk along the lake. Reception area was non descript and staff weren't over bubbly but friendly. Try to get a front balcony room as this would just top of your stray.

Room Tip: Get a front balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henryd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#19 of 68 in Lucerne
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Lucerne
Hotel Royal Lucerne
#41 of 68 in Lucerne
111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
815 reviews
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Haldenstrasse 59 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#20 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europe, opened in 1875, combines a grand past with a contemporary outlook and is distinguished by its subtle elegance, attentive service and warm hospitality. If offers 169 tastefully designed rooms, a restaurant with lake view, a hotel bar with patio and garden and two lavish dining halls. Shopping facilities, lake promenade, casino, gym & wellness and a golf course are at short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne
Grand Hotel Europe Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing