We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and basic”
Review of Grand Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Perth , Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean and basic”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel was part of a bus tour , marketed as a 4 star hotel.
Clean and decent sized rooms, adequate bathroom . No air conditioner was a disappointment as we were travelling in summer and we had some 30 degree days. A fan was supplied and was sufficient with the windows open. Buffet breakfast was good for a hotel coping with a huge number of bus tour groups. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and the lady in charge of the front bar was amazing, sorry I didn't get her name but she was an asset to this hotel.
Wifi had to be purchased in 24 hour blocks.
For a hotel dealing with massive numbers of bus tour guests I could not complain.If I was travelling on my own I would probably not book this hotel .

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake would have been lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    157
    73
    41
    26
See reviews for
97
159
28
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golden Square
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

On arrival we were told that we would have beautiful views of the lake and the alps, given a disgusting view of the back alley. Room conveniences minimal, electricity dodgy, great for backpackers. We were unable to be given free Wi-Fi and had to pay for it and we found out that this is not available at this hotel. The electricity wiring is old and unreliable and we were forbidden to run a kettle or iron. Also there were friendly bugs in the room, and if you want an adaptor a high deposit is required. This hotel does not provide these basic facilities. Apparently if you want a nice view you may have trouble getting a lake or alp view as our room could not be changed.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel as it is only suitable for young back packers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HowardGoldenSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel was clean and very simplistic . Minimalist decor. No air conditioning but a fan was provided. Breakfast was very nice. We stayed in this hotel while on a Globus tour, so I can't attest to the value. We were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Beware, this hotel is not worth your money! We stayed here last week during our Trafalgar trip. The rooms were spacious, the staff was helpful, the breakfast okay, but there was NO AIR CONDITIONER at all. The fan is just blowing the same hot air inside the room, and with the temperature at 85-90 degrees - it was almost unbearable. Plus, you had to pay for wifi. But believe me, with no AC in the height of summer, the wifi is the least of your worries.

Room Tip: Don't book a room here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was disappointing, to say the least.

I do understand that Switzerland is expensive, but I was not charmed with this hotel, at all.

Our room was spacious and clean, but the air-conditioning was abysmal. We stayed in the summer, so to have that not working was a fail from the moment we set foot in the room. As a result, we had to sleep with the doors open- even with the mosquitoes present. (Luckily they didn't attack us, as they did our fellow travellers.)

A plus was the fact that the latrine and bath / shower were 2 separate rooms- there was more than enough space for the layout.

We found no iron or board and our pillows were horrendous. They were so thin that my wife had to ask for 5 just to make up 2 decent pillows.

As we travelled with a group, a dinner service had been set up for us, but I am not sure what happened to my choice of beef, which appeared as chicken. That being said, there were 3 groups staying at the same time, so the waiters were getting mixed up and run off their feet, but the food was boring and in some cases, bland or dry.

However, if 3 groups were staying- management should have made provision. As a result- our dinner was rushed- our starter, mains and desert was pushed out in 45 minutes.

Some of our fellow-travellers looked up the hotel and found that there was a great view of the lake- maybe a few years ago, before the building directly in front of the hotel and across the road was erected. We did expect to be able to see the lake, but unfortunately, our placement was down the side, where we just managed to get a view between the buildings across the road.

Location is quite close to town though, so it could be walked, but a bicycle would be a better option.

Not a good impression at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anon3690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Beautiful location, walk across the street and Lake Lucerne is right there, just breathtaking. Perfect location can walk along the water, many bars and restaurants, close to the casino and downtown shopping.

Hotel was very nice inside. However the elevators rarely worked the two nights we were there. Had to pay for wifi, and only 1 device could connect at a time. You also had to keep logging in, so if you were connecting to a phone or tablet it wouldn't stay connected for you to get notifications.

Rooms are very basic, very small tv, no air conditioning in the hotel, just a fan in the room. We ordered room service one night, it was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikechik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel from outside into the lobby is grand and charming, it’s in a great location within walking distance to town. Unfortunately the rooms were below average, the rooms are in need of a massive makeover. Our room was facing east at the back of the hotel and it had no air-conditioner, fridge or safe in the room. The bedding was hard and basic you couldn’t leave the window open for comfort due to mosquito problems and add road and train noise to that.We paid for internet to our room this was fast and reliable but you couldn't connect more than one device at the same time. Seating at dinner in the dining room was uncomfortable and a shambles in terms of service and the food was basic. The breakfast choices were limited and bland. We loved the look of the hotel from the outside and that’s all we liked about the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#20 of 68 in Lucerne
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Lucerne
Hotel Royal Lucerne
#41 of 68 in Lucerne
111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
814 reviews
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#16 of 68 in Lucerne
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Haldenstrasse 59 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#20 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europe, opened in 1875, combines a grand past with a contemporary outlook and is distinguished by its subtle elegance, attentive service and warm hospitality. If offers 169 tastefully designed rooms, a restaurant with lake view, a hotel bar with patio and garden and two lavish dining halls. Shopping facilities, lake promenade, casino, gym & wellness and a golf course are at short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne
Grand Hotel Europe Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing