We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Really enjoyed are stay here. Location is great, walking distance from the train station and from where the ferry takes you to Mt Pilatus. Rooms are nice and cozy and the restaurant downstairs is pretty good.
The staff were very friendly. As others have mentioned the lift is a little small. But thats not a big issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hath82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    427
    138
    52
    17
See reviews for
193
491
78
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The location of the hotel was very convenient, we were easily able to reach all the places we wanted (we were exploring the city on foot). There were also quite nice and cozy restaurants close by to the hotel. The best part was the view we had from our room's balcony. Kapellbrücke (Chapel Bridge) was right in front of us, along with the magnificent view of the Alps! Also, the staff were polite and helpful. Had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgoknil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear bgoknil

Thank you very much for your kind review. You are right, the view from our rooms with balcony facing the lake/river is unique. We are happy, that you enjoyed your stay.

The team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Beautiful old hotel, perfect view of the Chapel Bridge. We got a very large room that had a balcony and it was amazing! The hotel is old and feels a bit dated but it feels very authentic. The location was walking distance from the train station, an awesome brewery and great places to eat and walk around in the old town. We would definitely stay here again if you don't mind the rooms being a bit sleepy. The restaurant and front desk staff were very helpful, great time overall.

Room Tip: get a balcony room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachloverandfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear beachlove

Thank you so much for the kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view over lucerne and the chapel bridge. Wishing you all the best for the future!

Your team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very conviently located. Breakfast was free and very good. The rooms are small and we didn't get a room with balcony. The staff is courteous and nothing like the reviews posted here.

The elevator is very dingy and can get claustrophobic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadz_4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear nomadz_4ever

Thank you very much for your kind review, especially the comment about our kind staff. We are pleased to hear that. Greetings to SF!

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEL AVIV
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Visit Lucerne for 3 days in December- the hotel is in a perfect location, you can see the sign
from the train station. Room is not so big, but the view from the vindow- is something special !
The breakfast is very good, the staff very helpful- by a ticket to Pilatus from the hotel, and after a small ride by the bus you will enjoy the gondola ride to the mount.
I'm looking forward for the next visit Lucerne at Chirstmas time !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAULATelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear PaulaTelAviv

Thank you for staying with us in December. We are pleased to hear that you spent a wonderful time in Lucerne and in the Des Alpes.

Kind Regards

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel on the 19th December on route to our skiing holiday in Veysonnaz. We loved the comfortable rooms, good service, great location and the stunning views. As a serious hobbyist photographer I was extremely chuffed with being able to take the most awesome pics right from our balcony.

I will recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chani7644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Chany 7644

Thank you so much for staying with us recently. We are glad that you enoyed your stay and hope that you enjoyed you holiday.

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Ives Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Christmas and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. Good food and service from friendly staff. Ideal room with view over the river and looking towards Mount Pilatus and the lake. Hotel in pedestrianised old town, five minute walk to train terminus and lakeside boat piers. More than happy to return again in the future. Good breakfast buffet and typical Swiss efficiency.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Christoph

Thank you very much for staying with us over Christmas. Isn't Lucerne beautiful with all the Christmas Lightning?

Your Team of the Hotel des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
1,068 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,052 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Property: Hotel des Alpes
Address: Furrengasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Hotel
Des Alpes Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing