We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of our rail trip through the alps it was the pick of the hotels we stayed in, it has a great location. If you get a front facing room the view is of the lake and the chapel bridge which is superb. The hotel is a short walk from the railway station and very close to everything that is good to see and do in Lucerne, the rooms are a good size and clean, staff were very helpful and spoke good english. The hairdryer is hidden away under the hand basin so at first my wife thought there was not one available but to her relief it was also very effective,
The food in the restaurant is acceptable but not something that you would remember breakfast is standard fare but with no hot options.
Great place for a drink on the riverside outside the hotel to watch the world go by before setting out for the evening..

Room Tip: Front room if you can great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We really liked this hotel. The staff were so congenial and pleasant! The location, right on the river in the old town, was perfect! It is an easy walk to the train station, to the boats that do the lake tours and to the city bus terminal. Breakfast, which is included in the room rate, was excellent! Guests will find the elevator a major convenience, and will find the rooms more than adequate. We requested and got a room with a small balcony overlooking the river and the city, which became a great place to relax and enjoy the stunning views. We were in Luzern during unseasonably hot weather, and discovered that the hotel, like many other facilities, is not air conditioned. However, the hotel provided electric fans, which helped immensely.

Room Tip: The additional cost for the balcony is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had 2 nights here and were more than happy with our choice.
Rooms were very comfortable.
Lucky to have a balcony room overlooking the lake.
Breakfast had everything you could want.
Restaurant downstairs was great with a good atmosphere and great food.
We loved Lucerne and glad we stayed at Des Alpes.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SydneyGlennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed a night here and had a great time. The room was a little small, but clean and well appointed. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English. The view from the room of the lake and bridges made it special. The breakfast had a good selection although I couldn't get an egg past soft boiled. A little pricey, but would go back again.

Room Tip: Get an upper level room looking over the lake and with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scvrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel des Alpes, we had a balcony overlooking the river, covered bridge and pedestrian walkway, and it was well worth the extra few dollars for the view. The room was large, comfortable and had good internet connection. The breakfast buffet had a good choice to satisfy all. We would definitely return the next time we are in Lucerne,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScubadiversM-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is situated in the best part of Lucerne, easy walking distance from the train. Staff were most helpful and friendly. Needed Swiss adaptor and had trouble with internet in lobby and nothing was too much trouble. The included breakfast is good and I appreciated a kettle with coffee and tea in the room. Although room was small it was clean and comfortable. Would stay here again and recommend it to another traveller.

Room Tip: I had a room at the bacl and did not have any problem with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our visit to Lucerne this year included another stay in the Hotel des Alpes. This was out 3rd stay here. The hotel still doesn't disappoint. The location is its best asset. We enjoyed a river view room again with a small balcony. The floors were a little creaky but this is an old building. The bathroom is modern and clean and neat. The beds were comfortable.

Since our last visit in 2006, the breakfast dining room had been moved to the ground floor. It is bright and cheery with a nice view of the river and promenade. There are actually two dining rooms for breakfast. The smaller one fills up fast and the second room has more space - just a few more steps takes you to the larger room. The food was fine, typical Swiss offerings and great coffee!

All in all, a great location makes this hotel work.

Room Tip: An upper floor room on the river side offers the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
963 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 67 in Lucerne
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: Furrengasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £102 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Hotel
Des Alpes Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing