We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lucerne Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Nice if simple rooms, very clean bathrooms and communal kitchens, staff good at encouraging people to be clean and tidy in a friendly way. No aircon, but well insulated so not too hot. Don't get a room above the entrance, as smokers lurk there and the smoke comes into your room. Also get mosquito repellent. Rooms have card locks and are secure. Leave window shut when out and about, as balconies link. Very very good value, recommend.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Narrowfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    106
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
28
65
62
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hostel is a great place for budget travellers and backpackers! The walk from the train station would be far if it weren't for the view of the lake. The first few floors are located for guests while the top floors are for residences. That makes the place even cosier and home-like! There is a very well-equipped kitchen available for hostel guests and even a dining area on the ground floor! They have board games too! This hostel is highly recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This place is by far the best hostel iv stayed at so far.
Yes its expensive (But that is switzerland (cheap for the country i guess) so you would expect it to be good.
there is 2 kitchens so you don't really have to wait around to cook dinner. and you can buy things there so great for that late night snack that you where craving.
its a very open floor plan so great for meeting new people.
and the reception is awesome and friendly THUMPS UP !!
The only thing i think it should have is a 24hr reception but... thats understandable.

Room Tip: 11 or 12 on first floor. right opposite showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville, Vermont
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We (2 25 y.o. Backpackers) stayed here for one night this fall. Overall, it fulfilled it's purpose, but nothing I was crazy about.
We stayed in a 4 person dorm. I did like the locker set up as it was in the corner of the room and not intrusive to you roommates as some of he under the bed lockers can be. The beds were pretty average. Similar situation with the bathrooms. The water ran freezing out of the sinks, and there was no mirror in the ladies bathroom at all. I didn't use the kitchen, and while it was small, it seemed to be well equipped. The location is nice, and on the lake. But, the walk from it to the city center was very quiet and a bit 'out of the way', with 2 of us it felt fine, but I will admit I wouldn't love doing it alone at night. The wifi in our room was very spotty, but worked well in the lobby.

Overall, it was an adequate, cheap place to sleep, but not hugely social or standout.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kala B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

The hostel is a 10-15mins walk away from the train/bus station. Just look for the exit with the KKL building facing you and walk towards the building. Go around the corner (right) and continue walking straight all the way along the lake and you should see a bridge. Cross the bridge and continue heading straight down. You should pass several office buildings and the Seepak restaurant/building with the hostel flag just beside it (can't miss it even in the dark ;)) alternatively you may want to take a bus (follow the directions on the hostel website, they're very comprehensive)

Rooms wise, the private double rooms were furnished with floor beds and 4 lockers. Please bring your own lock as locks are not provided.

Please note that cooking with a stove is ONLY allowed from 4pm-11pm. Microwaves/electric kettles and toasters are available from 730am (when the counter opens) so do plan ahead. Personally I could cook a full meal (pasta, chicken, sausages, soup, etc) without a stove but it'll take some getting use to ;)

Bikes are available for rent at CHF16 for a whole day and umbrellas are available free (just remember to return them). If you need to check out before 730am, please do a 'soft check out' the night before. Approach the reception for instructions.

Food and accommodation here are extremely costly and this place is a must-go if you're on a tight budget :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imma_beach_bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Located in a quiet area by the lake,this is the perfect budget option in an expensive city. My fears of an invasion of mosquitos were unfounded,just don't leave your windows open with the lights on. The restaurant next door closed without warning after i'd eaten there on the night I arrived,however a bar nearby sold snacks,and there is a large supermarket nearby. The staff were helpful and cheerful,it was a pleasure to stay here for six nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyfitzsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hostel was good value, very clean, quite, with good facilities and in a beautiful location. It feels quite grown up for a hostel, though this is the case in most of Switzerland. We had a private room and were just opposite the showers which was very convenient. The room was large and airy, with decent surface space. The room had a lovely lake view. The walk by the lake into town is wonderful in the sunshine (it may be a bit long in the rain). I think it is one of my favourite ever hostels, and I've stayed in a few. The only drawback is that they close the kitchen for cleaning for a few hours, which is inconvenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wana_Go_Everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#35 of 68 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#33 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
1.8 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucerne Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucerne Backpackers Hostel

Property: Lucerne Backpackers Hostel
Address: Alpenquai 42, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lucerne Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Backpackers Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing