We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Luzernerhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luzernerhof Hotel
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our Cosmos Tour.
PROS:
- Location - the hotel is centrally located close to the Lake, Shops and the Lion Monument. It is walking distance to the train station.
- Internet was not free but cheap - 5 Swiss Francs for 24 hours from memory
- The staff at reception were friendly and helpful.

CONS:-
We were desperate to do laundry once we got to this hotel. They charged 20 Swiss Francs for a shopping bag of clothes - which I thought was quite expensive. Initially we had four bags of clothes we wanted washed - which is basically one load in a standard washing machine, but the hotel was charging us 60 Swiss francs because they were insisting it's going to take 3 loads of washing to do it. In the end we agreed to paying 20 swiss francs to wash one small load of our jeans and pants. I read in a recent review that it cost them 16 swiss francs for one load... Prices must have inflated in the last two months?!? Hmmmm..

- Rooms were okay - however they did not have air conditioning (I'd hate to stay in the hotel during the summer time). When we opened the window for fresh air, it was quite noisy because of the traffic.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuckylena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia D, Leiter Front Office at Luzernerhof Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2017
Dear guest
Thank you very much for you feedback. We will forward your rating and concerns to our supervisors in order to constantly improve our services.
We hope to welcome you soon
Best wishes
Your Luzernerhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    34
    61
    32
    41
See reviews for
36
61
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

stayed here in late may.
in summary,
pros:
-very convenient location (near to migros, coop, lion monument, city, lake lucerne)
- if you are looking for convenience stay here
- friendly reception
- decent room
- paid wifi (5chf/24hr)
cons:
- the rooms had only partial blinds (sunsets later during summer so could be a problem)
- hot water supply runs out when many people are bathing
-no air conditioning (imagine summer!!)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia D, Leiter Front Office at Luzernerhof Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2017
Dear guest
Thank you very much for you feedback. We will forward your rating and concerns to our supervisors in order to constantly improve our services.
We hope to welcome you soon
Best wishes
Your Luzernerhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during a Cosmos tour. The staff at the front desk were very nice and helpful. The rooms were small but clean and adequate. Internet was not free but not expensive and with adequate speed. Laundry was cheap (16 Euro for one bag) and quite efficient. I would recommend staying here if you're not really looking for 5 star amenities, but who really needs that when you're out most of the day for your tour?

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia D, Leiter Front Office at Luzernerhof Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2017
Dear guest
Thank you very much for you feedback. We will forward your rating and concerns to our supervisors in order to constantly improve our services.
We hope to welcome you soon
Best wishes
Your Luzernerhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Hotel was close to lake and shopping rooms were on the small side but ok . There is no air conditioning opening window cools it off if you can sleep with the street noise . We were here May 2012 so it was not too hot yet , would not want to stay here July or August .

Room Tip: lower floors will have more street noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addean65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia D, Leiter Front Office at Luzernerhof Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2017
Dear guest
Thank you very much for you feedback. We will forward your rating and concerns to our supervisors in order to constantly improve our services.
We hope to welcome you soon
Best wishes
Your Luzernerhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

a very disappointing experience at the restaurant dining room during my stay at Luzernerhof on October 6 and 7 this year with a COSMOS tour group.

In the evening of October 6, 2012, I stopped by the hotel restaurant for a quick late dinner.

The restaurant manager at the dining room showed me to a seat which a guest just finished dining at. I noticed there was some residual food crumbles on the table so I asked if she(the manager) would replace the table cover. She said "no" to me bluntly, saying the patron who dined at the seat was very clean, strange answer. I decided to sit at the seat anyway as there was a large party on the other side of the dining room and I preferred the quieter corner. I politely asked the manager if she would at least clean up the table a little bit to get rid of bread crumbs on the table left by the previous patron, she came over and swept the pieces of food right onto my lap as I was sitting there, mumbling grumpily that the previous patron did not have bread with her meal. No matter what kind of residual food there were, it was not out of the line to request having the table cleaned after the previous diner. Not only that, she turned around and told the other staff members about me right away in front of me in Germen, which was extremely unprofessional.

After I ordered the meal, I waited about 15 minutes and asked her how much longer it would take, she said, in a very grumpy manner, "the food is being made already, you have to wait!", then she turned around and told her staff about me again loudly.

On my way out after the dinner, I asked her for her name as I was very unpleased with her service, she refused to tell me. I was stunned and told her the behavior was not in line with a reputable hotel in Switzerland. She answered shamelessly, "I don't represent Switzerland".

I stopped by the front desk afterwards and asked for her name, but was told that they would not give me her name as she had instructed them not to do so and by being a manager of the dining room, she is the supervisor . Again, a very unusual business practice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank April794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia D, Leiter Front Office at Luzernerhof Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2017
Dear guest
Thank you very much for you feedback. We will forward your rating and concerns to our supervisors in order to constantly improve our services.
We hope to welcome you soon
Best wishes
Your Luzernerhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lucerne hotels

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during a Cosmos tour. We had two beds pushed together in a smallish room, but certainly more than adequate. The room included a flat screen TV and tight but functional and clean bathroom. The hotel lacked air conditioning, but the windows (without screens) opened and the room cooled off nicely at night. The downside is that the open windows did permit lots of street noise to be heard throughout the night. The hotel staff were very polite and spoke very good English.

From a hungry American's point of view, this was the worst breakfast on our week and a half tour. The options were croissants, corn flakes, lunch meats and cheese, warm milk, and lukewarm coffee. We took a five minute walk to the Kapellbrucke area and had a nice breakfast at a Starbucks. This area is loaded with nice restaurants and shops and is adjacent to the main shopping district where one can buy any number of premium Swiss watches. Most of the restaurants have waterside seating.

The hotel is conveniently located near Lake Lucerne, the Kapellbrucke, the Lion Monument, and a variety of shops and restaurants. One caution is that you are given an actual key to the room, but we encountered no problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 60HzMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia D, Leiter Front Office at Luzernerhof Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2017
Dear guest
Thank you very much for you feedback. We will forward your rating and concerns to our supervisors in order to constantly improve our services.
We hope to welcome you soon
Best wishes
Your Luzernerhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

nice friendly receptionist. room are decent size except for the bed which is a tad narrow.
we stayed there for 1 night but location is good. We came down with shops around. Restaurant and breakfast was good

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeTravelCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia D, Leiter Front Office at Luzernerhof Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2017
Dear guest
Thank you very much for you feedback. We will forward your rating and concerns to our supervisors in order to constantly improve our services.
We hope to welcome you soon
Best wishes
Your Luzernerhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#14 of 68 in Lucerne
464 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
#44 of 68 in Lucerne
161 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#33 of 68 in Lucerne
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Falken - Luzern
Hotel Falken - Luzern
#63 of 68 in Lucerne
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#43 of 68 in Lucerne
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pension Rosli
Hotel Pension Rosli
#59 of 68 in Lucerne
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luzernerhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luzernerhof Hotel

Property: Luzernerhof Hotel
Address: Alpenstrasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luzernerhof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Luzernerhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luzernerhof Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing