We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great location and nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I stayed for two nights in June, 2011 with my parents. The hotel is very nice and trendy.It was clean and the rooms were nice and spacious. The theme of the room we stayed in was blue. Once you got out of the hotel the lake was just accross and there were a lot of eateries to go to. The train station being just accross was a great help as there was a lovely buzz to the city. The main shopping area was accross the bridge and it was a lovely walk.
The breakfast was excellent and there was a good choice of fruits, breads, cereal , juices, ect
Over all an excellent hotel and if i go back shall definately stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NosheenN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

This hotel was absolutely wonderful and I can't wait to return! It was located right by the train station and thus in the center of town. When we checked in they said they were putting us in one of their business suites, room 6002 (maybe it was 6001...can't remember). Although it was a bit warm, we opened the windows and turned on the fan. It was fine after that. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The bathroom was the best part of it! It was very big and absolutely spotless. The room faced a courtyard and other apartments so it was very quiet which was nice as we had some jet lag and needed a nap or two. The service at the front desk and at breakfast was wonderful. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLCityTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

For a hotel located so centrally, just opposite the main rail station and near a host of bars, the Waldstaetterhof excelled in providing a quiet and restful experience. Its bedrooms have electric metal blinds which can provide total room darkness at night and it provides complementary ear plugs. The dining room staff provided an exceptional standard of service while the food was always wonderful. The front desk was good too - the right combination of friendliness and efficiency. The hotel was well able to provide for the individual traveller, couples and large parties. Our visit coincided with an international rowing event on Lake Lucerne and several of the rowing teams were staying there. Everyone was accommodated at meal times without any visible difficulty or issue.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingScotsman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is the second time we stay at Waldstaetterhoff. It is now better than before with newly decorated and bigger room. It locates near Lucerne train station and within 5 minute walk to Kapellbrucke. We will come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ervin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This hotel appears to be an old hotel but it is very close to the Luzern train station for convenience. We were catching an early train to Milan for next leg of this long trip, so we have decided to stay here for this reason only. It only took two minutes to walk to the train station, and it is as convenient for any other destinations in Luzern. We didn't expect much else out of this 3 star hotel, but to our surprise, the hotel was totally renovated inside, and offers very spacious double room and modern interior design. My 8 year old son compare this room more faverably with the other 4 star hotel nearby where my friends were staying, and we all agreed. Hotel staff were very helpful and we liked the breakfast even the selection was limited. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed 4 nights here and had such a fantastic time we didn't want to leave. The hotel is literally across the road from the train station and tourist office and a short 5 minute stroll to the Chapel Bridge. We had a lovely (small) balcony that gave us views of the lake through the trees. The rooms are very clean and spacious enough for the two of us. A delighful message from the cleaning staff await you upon arrival which was a lovely touch. Breakfast was superb with a great range to choose from. All the staff were freindly and helpful. Take some earplugs as the rooms can be internally noisy unfortunately, no outside noise bothered us, but this can vary depending on the consideration of other guests. This really is a fantastic base to explore this beautiful city. Make sure you venture to the park behind the hotel and watch the men play outdoor chess, it's a fantastic way to spend a balmy evening.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accidentalsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

As part of an Inghams holiday my wife and I stayed here for one week in June 2011, as we were familiar with it's situation from a previous stay in Lucerne.
As our holiday was rail-based, the hotel is in a perfect place - right opposite the station !
The hotel is a large old hotel, but most of the rooms have been modernised over the past few years, and our room was large, with enough storage space, and a large well equipped bathroom.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the food was superb.
On the downside, the hotel does not have air-conditioning, and therefore the rooms can become unbearable in the summer. The hotel does provide a tower-fan in each room but all these do is move hot air around.
Make sure you ask for a room which is on a high floor, and overlooks the rear courtyard, otherwise you will be overlooking a very busy main road, with all the problems that entails.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the rear courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biasbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 66 in Lucerne
1,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 66 in Lucerne
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 66 in Lucerne
987 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 66 in Lucerne
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldstatterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldstatterhof

Address: Zentralstrasse 4, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland (Formerly Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £116 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Waldstatterhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities and comforts is set in late-19th century Victorian in the downtown area; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Waldstatterhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing