We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Surprisingly quiet given the central location of this hotel. We were very thankful for an early check in. Tea and coffee service in the room is lovely. Excellent breakfast selections and helpful service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rupert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Waldstatterhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

When we arrived at Lucerne main train station, it was raining. It was such a great relief to see that the hotel is just a stone throw away from the station. U can't miss the hotel. It's just next to McDonald's. If u plan to visit places like Mt Pilatus and Mt Rigi via ferry like us, u will glad to know that the ferry station is also within 5-8mins walking distance from the hotel. Easy walk to the major tourist attractions like the chapel bridge, old town, and lion monument.
Room is also tastefully done. Not very spacious, yet clean, functional and comfortable.
So if u place high emphasis on location and comfort, this is one of the best that you can get.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank breezer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Walking distance from the train station, and so central to everything we had on our list of "must do"activities. At last tea and coffee making facilities in the room! A welcome sight. It was very comfortable and the toast making machine actually made toast as opposed to drying out the bread or merely warming it up. Because the hotel is so central, it's possible to go out and do sightseeing, come back to the room have a coffee or two , a quick rest, and then head out again. The main tourist attractions are never very far away, and the walking is easy and enjoyable. Staff at reception are efficient, not overly friendly, but the restaurant staff are great. Big plus, the meals at the restaurant are affordable and handy when it's late and you're tired out from walking all day. In the bathroom, the bath is extremely high walled so would be difficult for elderly people to step in and climb out of. It is also very small and cramped, the soap dispenser on the wall digs you in the back while you are having a shower. Double sink was valuable for 2 single females trying to get ready to go out at the same time. :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Candy-Stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. The location is extremely convenient, across the street from the train station and easy walking distance to the old town and most attractions. It is a nicely appointed hotel, our room was comfortable, and the breakfast was quite nice. The only aspect that keeps me from giving the hotel a 5 rating is that there was considerable street noise, though the hotel did supply ear plugs in the room. All in all, a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a very contemporary hotel in an old building. The rooms are what I suppose you could call "minimalist" (white), and are very modern in design - however, they are not very comfortable or practical. I must preface this review by stating that we stayed in room 4002, which seems to be an extension to the original hotel, so I cannot be certain if all the rooms are identical.
I have noticed with a number of new hotels, or hotels which have been recently refurbished, that the bathroom design favors opaque or partly-opaque glass doors. Personally, I am not a fan. Call me old-fashioned, but I prefer to be able to close and lock the door of the bathroom so I can have a little privacy when doing what must be done in a bathroom!! No matter how intimate you are with someone, there are some things you would prefer not to see or hear! So if sharing as a couple is uncomfortable, then I can only imagine what it must be like to share with a friend or family member. The bathroom itself is spacious however, and with good amenities, although an extra couple of hooks would have been appreciated.
There was no air conditioning in the room, although a fan was provided and kept us cool enough.
There is no bar in the hotel, so if like me you like to have a night-cap before you retire to bed, then you may need to bring your own!
On the positive side, the staff were friendly, the location is excellent if you are arriving in Luzern by train, and it is a great base from which you can explore the city. It is also very convenient for events at the KKL convention center. The breakfast is also very decent, in a large and comfortable dining room.
Would I stay at this hotel again? Probably not. I have been to Luzern several times and would prefer the dated 'kitschness' of the Hotel Monopol which is just next door. But if modern design is your thing, then go ahead by all means......

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank barryjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel has an excellent location opposite the railway station, very close to the ship quays and not far from the old town where there are many restaurants.
Our room was high enough to give good views, it was spacious and included tea/coffee making equipment.
We found all the staff very helpful and the buffet breakfast excellent. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel's restaurant but the prices looked reasonable for the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veni_bibi_edi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Staff attitude is not good. When we checked in, we supposed the staff will take care of each customer one by one. Our check-in had not completed, staff already catered other customers' request and ignoring us which make us really feel uncomfortable.

The hotel itself is good n close to the station but the staff is really terrible. We do not expect such a nice hotel will have such unqualified n poor attitude staff and this does not match with its name 'quality' hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank CY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
989 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#16 of 67 in Lucerne
835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldstatterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldstatterhof

Address: Zentralstrasse 4, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland (Formerly Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#12 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £124 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Waldstatterhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities and comforts is set in late-19th century Victorian in the downtown area; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Waldstatterhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing