We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice except for the street noise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Waldstatterhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
552 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Very nice except for the street noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

May 15, 2010
Our group chose this hotel, not only because of TA reviews but also its proximity to the train station. It is directly across and no more than 10 minutes away on foot with luggage. Its appearance is grand and traditional although the common areas are updated with several young staffers willing to help and answer questions.
Our superior double was much more than that. I think it was a triple with a convertible sofa as the third bed. There was so much room to spread around. All the bathroom fixtures were new, and the general upkeep was topnotch.
It has two very small elevators. The dining room is very large and modern. We had our breakfast buffet there. I think their breakfasts are better than most.
The only fault is that the noise on Saturday night is very loud and continues through the night. I think it comes from the bar and McDonald's nearby. It was the most miserable sleep I have had in a long time. The management accepted our grievance although it was not their fault and gave us a generous rebate. But still at 260 ChF this place is pricey. Ask for a quiet room.

Stayed May 2010
Helpful?
Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    449
    125
    39
    19
See reviews for
283
391
74
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

The hotel is situated next to the train station, 5 minutes walk from the pedestrian zone of Lucerne. The rooms are modern furnished and very quite, also the common spaces are nice. The quality of the hotel is very high with respect the price (304CHF per night for a triple room with breakfast). The personnel of the reception is kind and the continental breakfast is well-provided. The only not-so-good note is about the dimension of the bathroom, that however is clean and modern.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cex10k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

Fanstastic location - adjacent to the Railway station and the Lake. Excellent eating joints round the corner and near the lake. Convenient for sightseeing trips as well like Mt. Pilatus. Morning walk a must near the lake to catch the morning markets that are set up there. Rooms are spacious and well kept. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good - can be better!
Will come back to stay here...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ishan512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

This is an excellent hotel walking from the railway station in Lucerne. Lake and Keppel bridge are both a short walk away. Offerring pleasing service ot guests

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VIG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

HI,

This is excellent place to stay when you visit Lucerne.

Hotel staff is very co-operative. Rooms are great and very well furnished. Hotel is just opposite railway station and bus stand. It is extremely convenient place to stay. Breakfast is also very good with good variety. No free Wi-fi :( . Overall an excellent stay and highly recommended.

Ajay

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocking_Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March 2010. We used Lucerne as a base to visit the local mountains and region. It is literally across the street from the train station so you are right there for any excursions - buses too. The tourist information office is also right across the street. The building is old on the outside but very modern inside. Rooms are incredibly large with nice earth tones - very warm looking. We had 3 people in a triple room and had so much space. Breakfast is included in the rate and was great. A lot of locals stop in the resteraunt for afternoon tea or a meal which was very nice to see. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely book this hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abumbolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

The hotel is located within a few metres from the central railway station and the bus stand. You can walk your way to the boat pier (for lake cruises), the chapel bridge, the old town and of course the train station. Its central location, helpful staff, clean & quiet rooms at budget prices make it absolute value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek_Saha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#12 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldstatterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldstatterhof

Property: Hotel Waldstatterhof
Address: Zentralstrasse 4, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland (Formerly Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#12 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Waldstatterhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities and comforts is set in late-19th century Victorian in the downtown area; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Waldstatterhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing