We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Nearby Hotels
US$207
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$184
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Seeburg(Lucerne)
US$281
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CASCADA Hotel(Lucerne)
US$237
US$229
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$345
US$277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$248
US$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$591
US$554
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Magic(Lucerne)
US$202
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
126
148
55
21
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
148
55
21
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelgreat locationtrain stationstar hotelbreakfast is servedchapel bridgesmall elevatorburger kingold townfree upgradetriple roomthe hotel is cleanminute walkbasic amenitiescentral locationair conditionerthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The location of this hotel is very good and for me, the most important things were room & bathroom cleanliness. The room was great, newly remodeled and the bathroom was spacious and clean. What is funny is that the rooms look like they fit in a different hotel because once you step outside your bedroom the halls and building are old and stuffy.

I have 0 complaints about the room; having said that, I think there are a few things that could be improved for the hotel itself.

1. When we arrived the hotel was closed and they put a sign on the door telling you to go to another hotel (the mothership) to go register. Unfortunately the map guiding you to the other hotel is so tiny that I didn't see it so I had to ask around. It's right next door so not a big deal but they could definitely improve that.

2. As some other people mentioned, Wifi is only available inside the tiny lobby and the signal belongs to the bar next door. Unfortunately that means that the lobby will get a bit crowded with hotel guests, especially at night, all trying to email, FaceTime, Facebook etc. You will watch people having very personal conversations with their families and learn intimate details of their lives (uncomfortable). I don't know why the hotel doesn't just provide WiFi signal to the whole place instead of having people piled up in the lobby...

3. The hotel "encourages" you to give them a good review in Tripadvisor by saying that if you give them a good review by X date they will enter you to win a stay at the top suite in the master hotel for 2 people. I think that's dishonest and ticked me off because if people are giving a hotel good reviews to get entered into a raffle then I must question what they actually said.

Our experience here was good; as I said before, all I cared about was having a good and clean room and bathroom. Would I stay here again? Hmm... maybe...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaRaJiTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear PaRaJiTo

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very happy that you tell us what we can improve in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne. All feedbacks are very important for us so we can make improvements as well.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your room and the cleanliness. And as well the good location of the hotel ALPINA Lucerne is very close to the centre of Lucerne and directly next to the train station.

WIFI is at the moment only in the lobby available but we are very happy that we will have very soon in our whole building FREE WIFI and for all guests. Nobody have to sit anymore in the crowded hotel lobby.

Thank you for the feedback that the map guiding to our sister hotel****MONOPOL Lucerne is not so big. We will improve that definitely.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

A really well placed hotel very close to the railway station, the bus station, lake steamers and the main attractions of Lucerne, and not too highly priced for Switzerland. If you book early you can get a discount as we did. Although central, as the hotel is on a side street there is less traffic and crowd noise than you'd expect as the double galzing seemed to be effective. However, our room seemed to suffer from internal noise or perhaps we just hit a time with noisy guests! Whatever partitioning of rooms has taken place over the years, our room did not have good wall or ceiling insulation. Breakfast at the sister Hotel Monopol down the street was very good, but we were surprised to find that a hotel of such size had no restaurant serving other meals except for some of its coach parties. Presumably they expect people to use the on-site Macdonalds and Starbucks. Shame. Our shower room was a little too small for comfort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroleburrows9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear carolebur…

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Thank you for your kind feedback about the good location of the hotel ALPINA Lucerne. Very close to the train station, the bus station, Lake Lucerne and the main attractions of Lucerne. We have many lovely restaurants around the hotel ALPINA Lucerne with Italian food, Greece food or Thai food. Our reception staff can recommend to everyone a nice restaurant.

Our breakfast is served in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne, directly next to the hotel ALPINA Lucerne. We are very happy that you enjoyed the cold and warm buffet breakfast.

We are very sorry to hear that you had noise neighbours during your stay. We just like to inform you for your next stay, please call our reception staff.

We hope to welcome you soon again at our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Kind regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Out of all the hotels we stayed in during our Europe trip, this was the best hotel for several reasons.

1) great location to everything ie chapel bridge, the train station (literally across the street), old town, lake Lucerne and the pier to take a boat ride of the lake or to the mountains, and vistor centre
2) we stayed in room 54 which was very clean especially the washroom! We were very impressed. The washroom was very spacious as well as our room itself. The only thing we didnt like was the flat pillows.
3) a great discount to see mount pilatus at 89.00 Swiss franks vs 98 at the visitor centre
4) breakfast was good too. It's a 1 min walk to hotel monopoly.

Wifi was only available in the lobby but that didn't bother us much.

There's a really good restaurant called Istanbul right next door which is well priced if you have a buffet plate vs a la chart.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovefoodandlotsofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My wife and I had a one night stay at this Alpina Hotel, Luzern, Switzerland. Together with us is our friend, his wife & daughter.
We kind of enjoy our stay at this hotel.
1) Hotel rate is kind to our pocket.
2) Very near the Train Station.
3) Very kind, helpful & thoughtful front desk staff. Who give clear instructions, good recommendation for restaurants, loan us umbrellas so that we don't have to buy one.
4) Personally brought to me the login name & p/w for internet slip, when I was at the lounge to log on to free internet.
5) I ask for extra pot of coffee, with pleasant SMILE (though we have our breakfast at Minopol Hotel, 1st floor.
6) We were given extra checkout time, the only one hotel in Europe that allowed us during our Europe 14 days tour from 11am to 11:30am so that we still could use the toilet before leaving.
7) We left with the small sweets as a token of sweets, was a very good gesture. Cheers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sengkhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is a rather odd little hotel, comprising just a tiny reception area and bedrooms served by an ancient looking lift. For breakfast, you have to walk down the road to the Monopol hotel, and wifi is served by a hub in the adjacent Turkish restaurant. The usual services that you might expect from a 3* hotel are non existent. Having said that, it was a surprise to find that we had an excellent room, very comfortable, spacious and well equipped. However, there was no air conditioning and, if you opened the window at night, there was constant noise from rowdy passers by well into the early hours. (I would imagine that rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter). The bathroom was spacious, but the shower outlet was blocked and overflowed (yes, I did shut the shower door). We reported the fault to reception, but 24 hours later nothing had been done. When we again raised the matter with reception, they said that the porter had looked at it and said there was nothing wrong with it. Well, take my word for it, the shower outlet in room 59 is blocked. We actually enjoyed staying at the Alpina, despite its shortcomings, but I’d recommend that you ask for a room at the rear, and just hope that the shower works.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KWD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear KWD_11

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that you experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.
All feedbacks are very important for us so we can make improvements as well.

WIFI is at the moment only in the lobby available but we are very happy that we will have very soon in our whole building FREE WIFI and for all guests. Nobody have to sit anymore in the crowded hotel lobby.

Great that you enjoyed your room which one was a superior double room completely new renovated with wood floor. We excuse us sincerely that our hotel staff didn’t deblock immediately the shower outlet.

Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements.

We hope you had a safe journey home, warmest regards from Lucerne

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews