We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I liked the breakfast at the Monopol Hotel. The location was very good for train travellers.

The room, while quiet, was exceedingly small. The bed was very hard. The wifi was hit and miss and not available in the rooms only in the overcrowded lobby. The staff were not at all helpful. The lift was dangerous in that the exit was very close to stairs and it would have been easy to have fallen if not watching closely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flica3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear flica3
Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that you experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Thank you very much for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne and as well that you enjoyed the very good location, in the middle of Lucerne and directly next to the train station.

We are very surprised that our hotel staff was not at all helpful. We hear this to our first time. Normally we have only good feedbacks. We excuse us for this.
WIFI is at the moment only in the lobby available but we are very happy that we will have very soon in our whole building FREE WIFI and for all guest.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    133
    50
    20
    19
See reviews for
61
114
50
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The good thing about the hotel was it was very near to Lucerne station. So easy transfer & commute to other places. Service was okay. We travelled in end of July when it was very hot, 32 degrees. NO A/c, small fan(on request), so bit uneasy. Shower like a box, felt bit suffocation if you close the door.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Hetal S

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Our hotel ALPINA Lucerne is directly at the train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest.

We have only a few days in the summer around 32 degrees. The hotel ALPINA Lucerne as no A/C, but we offer for all clients one or two fans.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon and
we hope you had safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Alpina is brilliantly located, close to the beautiful river and lake, and railway station. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, but my single room was small and outdated. It was located on the fourth floor, and lacked air conditioning. It was also very noisy at night from nearby diners, so having the window open wasn't an option. The breakfast at the nearby Monopole was terrific. The Alpina would benefit from a wider Wifi service, as the small cramped foyer/lobby is the only location which currently receives reception. For a budget-friendly, well positioned hotel it was fine for a couple of days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Sue H

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we really appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Thank you very much for your nice praise for our hotel staff and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast at our sister hotel Monopol Lucerne. We're extremely sorry that it was a little loud at night.
As you have seen, we have at the moment only in the hotel lobby free WiFi but we are very happy, that in the coming weeks, we get Wifi for the whole hotel ALPINA Lucerne.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon and we hope you had safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is rubbish. 3 stars? obviously a self rating. The Monopol next door has an official 4 star rating the Alpina has a no star rating and it's reflected in what you get. Breakfast is included, but it's next door. Laundry no but you can get it done, next door. This place is no more than an annexe of the Monopol. The front desk staff were very helpful so that gets this place a star. The location gets another star. But a hotel that charges 200CHF + for a room with no airconditioing and no in room wifi? We stayed at Lugano which is not cheap either at a hotel that was also close to the station and included breakfast, for about the same price if you want to see what true 3 star value for money is have a look at the Continental Parkhotel Lugano. I accept that Lucerne is expensive but I have no idea why this place has got so many good ratings.
Other reviewers have mentoned the noise from the bar/club downstairs. It will depend on which night yu are in the hotle and where you room is located bu were were on the street front and could hear it but haven't had to sleep the night yet so we'll see.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricksy_Hobbitses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Tricksy Hobbitses

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies. We assure you to take your valuable feedback serious. It helps us to improve our grade of friendliness and to scrutinize our standard procedures.

The hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne is the sister hotel of hotel ***ALPINA Lucerne and both hotel are directly next to each other and as well next to the train station of Lucerne; KKL culture and congress center Lucerne, old town, lake Lucerne and chapel bridge.

At the moment we have only WIFI in the hotel lobby but we are happy to tell you that approx. in four weeks we can offer in all hotel rooms free WIFI. Every day we try to improve something in our hotel *** ALPINA Lucerne.

Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements.

Best regards from Lucerne

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

In front of luzern central station. Twin hotel monopole hotel, where we have breakfast. No room with air conditioning. I came with family, and the room are so spacey. Easy access to downtown luzern just by walk as so as luzern city are small. Unfortunately wifi connection are poor just like internet access in Luzern. Not many menus on breakfast but is enought for us. Last, the price are high, but it is understandable coz switzerland are the most expensive country in the world!

Room Tip: Many bars around hotel, could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Luken M

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback.
Our hotel ALPINA Lucerne is directly at the train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest.
The hotel ALPINA Lucerne as no A/C, but we offer for all clients one fan. As you have seen, we have at the moment only in the hotel lobby free WiFi but we are very happy, that in the coming weeks, we get Wifi for the whole hotel ALPINA Lucerne.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon and we hope you had safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a nice one night stay at the Hotel Alpina in Luzern. The hotel is very close to the main train station, the lake and the city centre. The service during ckeck in and check out was very pleasant, as well as the service during breakfast at the nearby Hotel Monopol. Our room was nice, with a terrace onto the street. Since our room did not have air conditioning, and since we could not leave the windows open during the night because of the noise in the street, we had to use the fan all night which was ok.

Very good value, very central location, highly recommendable.

Room Tip: During summer time, ask for a room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TightLoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear TightLoops

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback.
Our hotel ALPINA Lucerne is very close to the main train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest.
Thank you very much for your nice feedback for our hotel staff and for the nice room with terrace onto the street.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon and we hope you had safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Booked this Hotel through a Hotel Reservation Webpage (not tripadvisor) and added in the appropriate text-field the Annotation "Please a quiet room". Unfortunately this was not forwarded to the Hotel and we were given the loudest room they have - 1st floor, right above a Pub/Restaurant that was having lots of - loud and laughing on the street - People. So no sleep until 5am. The good news: the Hotel handled our complaint the next morning super-professionally. The bad news: As I said the Hotel was never forwarded our wish to have a quiet room by that Hotel Reservation Webpage. So please make sure to book this Hotel in whatever way you want - but make sure contact the hotel also directly to ensure to have a room facing the Yard. All the rest is fine - very conveniently and very centrally located (right next to the Train Station).

Room Tip: Make sure to contact Hotel to get a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euro-Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Euro-Leo

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies. We assure you to take your valuable feedback serious. It helps us to improve our grade of friendliness and to scrutinize our standard procedures.

Thank you very much for your kind feedback about the location then the Hotel ALPINA is very central and next to the train station, the famous Chapel Bridge and the tourist sites.

We would be happy to welcome you on another occasion in our city.

With best Regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
815 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#19 of 68 in Lucerne
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 68 in Lucerne
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
933 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central Luzern
Hotel Central Luzern
#42 of 68 in Lucerne
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina Luzern

Property: Hotel Alpina Luzern
Address: Frankenstrasse 6, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpina Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ALPINA Lucerne, directly at the train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest. Only 3 minutes by S-Train away from the Fair / Messe Lucerne. The well-tended, cosy and reasonably priced 3-Star Hotel *** ALPINA Lucerne is situated at the most central TOP-location (train station, city center, lake Lucerne, fair, center hotels lucerne). A CORDIAL WELCOME in Lucerne Hotels ALPINA Luzern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alpina Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing