We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is good (very close to main train station). Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alpina Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Ranked #29 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Location is good (very close to main train station). Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hotel Alpina Luzern is a very functional hotel in the centre of Lucerne very close to the main train station. You wont get many luxuries. But if you are OK with staying at a decent, no-frills hotel, this hotel is perfect. All the floors and walls are nicely carpeted and overall the cleanliness levels are good. The central location means you can walk to all the main Lucerne attractions. There are several eateries and cafes just outside the hotel. The main reason i would recommend this hotel is the price. For the location, it is very high value for money and significantly more economical than the other hotels in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akhilesh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Akhilesh0…

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station, the city Lucerne and many restaurants and cafes thank you as well for your feedback about the cleanliness in our hotel.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    127
    47
    19
    17
See reviews for
58
108
48
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in the hotel for four nights. Even though we arrived there before the check-in time, the room was made available to us. The hotel and the room was very clean, the hotel was well maintained, the bed was comfortable. We had to walk to the adjoining hotel owned by the same coy for our breakfast which was very good. WiFi was only available in the lobby accessed using a password obtained from Reception, the bandwidth was very good. The Lucerne Railway Station, reasonable priced restaurants and tourist attractions are within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanthie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Shanthie…

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station, the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about the cleanliness in our hotel and for the confortable beds.

WIFI is at the moment only in the lobby available but we are very happy that we will have very soon in our whole building FREE WIFI and for all guests.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I liked the breakfast at the Monopol Hotel. The location was very good for train travellers.

The room, while quiet, was exceedingly small. The bed was very hard. The wifi was hit and miss and not available in the rooms only in the overcrowded lobby. The staff were not at all helpful. The lift was dangerous in that the exit was very close to stairs and it would have been easy to have fallen if not watching closely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flica3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear flica3
Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that you experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Thank you very much for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne and as well that you enjoyed the very good location, in the middle of Lucerne and directly next to the train station.

We are very surprised that our hotel staff was not at all helpful. We hear this to our first time. Normally we have only good feedbacks. We excuse us for this.
WIFI is at the moment only in the lobby available but we are very happy that we will have very soon in our whole building FREE WIFI and for all guest.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The good thing about the hotel was it was very near to Lucerne station. So easy transfer & commute to other places. Service was okay. We travelled in end of July when it was very hot, 32 degrees. NO A/c, small fan(on request), so bit uneasy. Shower like a box, felt bit suffocation if you close the door.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Hetal S

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Our hotel ALPINA Lucerne is directly at the train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest.

We have only a few days in the summer around 32 degrees. The hotel ALPINA Lucerne as no A/C, but we offer for all clients one or two fans.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon and
we hope you had safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Alpina is brilliantly located, close to the beautiful river and lake, and railway station. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, but my single room was small and outdated. It was located on the fourth floor, and lacked air conditioning. It was also very noisy at night from nearby diners, so having the window open wasn't an option. The breakfast at the nearby Monopole was terrific. The Alpina would benefit from a wider Wifi service, as the small cramped foyer/lobby is the only location which currently receives reception. For a budget-friendly, well positioned hotel it was fine for a couple of days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Sue H

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we really appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Thank you very much for your nice praise for our hotel staff and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast at our sister hotel Monopol Lucerne. We're extremely sorry that it was a little loud at night.
As you have seen, we have at the moment only in the hotel lobby free WiFi but we are very happy, that in the coming weeks, we get Wifi for the whole hotel ALPINA Lucerne.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon and we hope you had safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is rubbish. 3 stars? obviously a self rating. The Monopol next door has an official 4 star rating the Alpina has a no star rating and it's reflected in what you get. Breakfast is included, but it's next door. Laundry no but you can get it done, next door. This place is no more than an annexe of the Monopol. The front desk staff were very helpful so that gets this place a star. The location gets another star. But a hotel that charges 200CHF + for a room with no airconditioing and no in room wifi? We stayed at Lugano which is not cheap either at a hotel that was also close to the station and included breakfast, for about the same price if you want to see what true 3 star value for money is have a look at the Continental Parkhotel Lugano. I accept that Lucerne is expensive but I have no idea why this place has got so many good ratings.
Other reviewers have mentoned the noise from the bar/club downstairs. It will depend on which night yu are in the hotle and where you room is located bu were were on the street front and could hear it but haven't had to sleep the night yet so we'll see.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricksy_Hobbitses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Tricksy Hobbitses

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies. We assure you to take your valuable feedback serious. It helps us to improve our grade of friendliness and to scrutinize our standard procedures.

The hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne is the sister hotel of hotel ***ALPINA Lucerne and both hotel are directly next to each other and as well next to the train station of Lucerne; KKL culture and congress center Lucerne, old town, lake Lucerne and chapel bridge.

At the moment we have only WIFI in the hotel lobby but we are happy to tell you that approx. in four weeks we can offer in all hotel rooms free WIFI. Every day we try to improve something in our hotel *** ALPINA Lucerne.

Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements.

Best regards from Lucerne

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

In front of luzern central station. Twin hotel monopole hotel, where we have breakfast. No room with air conditioning. I came with family, and the room are so spacey. Easy access to downtown luzern just by walk as so as luzern city are small. Unfortunately wifi connection are poor just like internet access in Luzern. Not many menus on breakfast but is enought for us. Last, the price are high, but it is understandable coz switzerland are the most expensive country in the world!

Room Tip: Many bars around hotel, could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Luken M

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback.
Our hotel ALPINA Lucerne is directly at the train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest.
The hotel ALPINA Lucerne as no A/C, but we offer for all clients one fan. As you have seen, we have at the moment only in the hotel lobby free WiFi but we are very happy, that in the coming weeks, we get Wifi for the whole hotel ALPINA Lucerne.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon and we hope you had safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.0 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#12 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina Luzern

Property: Hotel Alpina Luzern
Address: Frankenstrasse 6, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpina Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ALPINA Lucerne, directly at the train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest. Only 3 minutes by S-Train away from the Fair / Messe Lucerne. The well-tended, cosy and reasonably priced 3-Star Hotel *** ALPINA Lucerne is situated at the most central TOP-location (train station, city center, lake Lucerne, fair, center hotels lucerne). A CORDIAL WELCOME in Lucerne Hotels ALPINA Luzern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alpina Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing