We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I had a brief, 2 night stay at the Alpina Hotel. I booked a single room and because of my experience with a similar hotel in Geneva, my expectations were not high. Again, I chose this hotel because of its short distance to the station and, for Switzerland, at a reasonable price. As it turned out the hotel exceeded my expectations, Check-in check-out was quick and efficient, nice and helpful young ladies at the reception. It had the smallest lift I've ever seen in a hotel, it just about held me and my suitcase but families might have to make multiple trips. The room, at the back of the hotel, was clean and quiet. There was a safe, mini bar, desk, comfortable bed and quite a good bathroom.. The breakfast at the sister hotel Monopol, 50 meters up the road, was excellent and so was the service. About a 5 minute walk to the lake / Rhone. Perhaps 10 minutes across the bridge to the old part of town. I was quite happy staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddoubleddutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear ddoubledd...

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station and the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne.

Thank you very much your feedback about our hotelstaff and for the quick and efficient Check-in and Check-out.

Our small lift is really very small and only for 3- 4 persons. But we do always a safety check with the elevators company and we can assure that the small lift is normal Swiss standard.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    135
    54
    21
    21
See reviews for
66
115
53
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a small tourist hotel with very small rooms that were clean. It was quiet enabling a good sleep. A super excellent breakfast is served in an affiliated, and much nicer, hotel 100 metres away. Off street parking available. Located very close to the rail station and thus well placed to walk about the lake and central parts of the city. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Ray R

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice and small hotel ALPINA located directly next to the train station and the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverstone Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The location was excellent as it was only a three minute walk to the train station. The Alpina was within close walking distance of the Lucerne attractions. The room was very quiet and comfortable and the breakfast (at the affiliated Monopol Hotel) was absolutely delicious. Diana, the receptionist was very helpful and spoke excellent English. She was so likeable that we ended up naming her "Princess". Diana is a real asset to the Hotel Alpina. Other staff were very helpful and attended very promptly to our query about the heating. The very small lift was an experience in itself. Only scary because we didn't realise that it had two exits and had to manually push one of them open! This hotel was great value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VickiB122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear VickiB122

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station and the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne.

Diana will be very happy about your nice and friendly feedback. She is really a little “Princess” because her work is absolutely great.

Our small lift is really very small and only for 3- 4 persons. But we do always a safety check with the elevators company and we can assure that the small lift is normal Swiss standard.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hotel Alpina Luzern is a very functional hotel in the centre of Lucerne very close to the main train station. You wont get many luxuries. But if you are OK with staying at a decent, no-frills hotel, this hotel is perfect. All the floors and walls are nicely carpeted and overall the cleanliness levels are good. The central location means you can walk to all the main Lucerne attractions. There are several eateries and cafes just outside the hotel. The main reason i would recommend this hotel is the price. For the location, it is very high value for money and significantly more economical than the other hotels in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akhilesh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Akhilesh0…

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station, the city Lucerne and many restaurants and cafes thank you as well for your feedback about the cleanliness in our hotel.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in the hotel for four nights. Even though we arrived there before the check-in time, the room was made available to us. The hotel and the room was very clean, the hotel was well maintained, the bed was comfortable. We had to walk to the adjoining hotel owned by the same coy for our breakfast which was very good. WiFi was only available in the lobby accessed using a password obtained from Reception, the bandwidth was very good. The Lucerne Railway Station, reasonable priced restaurants and tourist attractions are within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanthie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Shanthie…

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station, the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about the cleanliness in our hotel and for the confortable beds.

WIFI is at the moment only in the lobby available but we are very happy that we will have very soon in our whole building FREE WIFI and for all guests.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I liked the breakfast at the Monopol Hotel. The location was very good for train travellers.

The room, while quiet, was exceedingly small. The bed was very hard. The wifi was hit and miss and not available in the rooms only in the overcrowded lobby. The staff were not at all helpful. The lift was dangerous in that the exit was very close to stairs and it would have been easy to have fallen if not watching closely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flica3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear flica3
Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that you experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Thank you very much for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne and as well that you enjoyed the very good location, in the middle of Lucerne and directly next to the train station.

We are very surprised that our hotel staff was not at all helpful. We hear this to our first time. Normally we have only good feedbacks. We excuse us for this.
WIFI is at the moment only in the lobby available but we are very happy that we will have very soon in our whole building FREE WIFI and for all guest.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The good thing about the hotel was it was very near to Lucerne station. So easy transfer & commute to other places. Service was okay. We travelled in end of July when it was very hot, 32 degrees. NO A/c, small fan(on request), so bit uneasy. Shower like a box, felt bit suffocation if you close the door.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Hetal S

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Our hotel ALPINA Lucerne is directly at the train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest.

We have only a few days in the summer around 32 degrees. The hotel ALPINA Lucerne as no A/C, but we offer for all clients one or two fans.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon and
we hope you had safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#13 of 68 in Lucerne
829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#24 of 68 in Lucerne
428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central Luzern
Hotel Central Luzern
#40 of 68 in Lucerne
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina Luzern

Property: Hotel Alpina Luzern
Address: Frankenstrasse 6, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpina Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ALPINA Lucerne, directly at the train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest. Only 3 minutes by S-Train away from the Fair / Messe Lucerne. The well-tended, cosy and reasonably priced 3-Star Hotel *** ALPINA Lucerne is situated at the most central TOP-location (train station, city center, lake Lucerne, fair, center hotels lucerne). A CORDIAL WELCOME in Lucerne Hotels ALPINA Luzern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alpina Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing