We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entirely depends on the room you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Entirely depends on the room you get”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was the third hotel I stayed in on a recent trip around Switzerland. The hotel is in a great location in Lucerne and very central, but it is quite noisy in the evenings. There is a nightclub downstairs so we were unable to sleep with the window open (and it was quite hot!). You just have to cross your fingers that you get a room far away from it!

The lift is outdated and a death trap (the old style elevators where the walls move as you ascend/descend). If you have children, keep them away from it!

Onto the room... We had been given one on the fifth floor. It was modern and beautiful and I couldn't tell that it was only 3 stars, it was one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in! Unfortunately, it seems as if the hotel has upgraded a few rooms and there are only a handful of these nice "upgraded" rooms. The rest seem basic and honestly, if I had been given one of the older rooms and seen the modern ones, I would complain. To my knowledge, I did not pay extra for the nicer room and it's the sole reason why I'm scoring the hotel so high. Ours didn't have a bar or safe but that was okay for us. Wifi was good enough. The view was lovely. The breakfast was in the other hotel which may be annoying for some but it was one of the better hotel breakfasts I'd had.

Would definitely stay again, but only if they gave me one of the more modern rooms.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the bar and I'm pretty sure all the fifth floor rooms are modern, not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    133
    50
    20
    19
See reviews for
61
114
50
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel is very close to the station and is central. However for me, the hotel itself was very basic and a bit dated. The bathroom looks very dated but it was clean and served it's purpose. You check-in and have breakfast at the sister hotel, The Monopol, which was nice and if possible I would recommend staying at the Monopol instead. The Alpina had no wifi and the walls were particularly thin! Make sure you go to the bar at the top of the Monopol as it has amazing views. Overall, the Alpina was ok for one night but I in future I would probably go for the Monopol which seemed nicer (but is more expensive).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahL8732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear SarahL873...,

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that you experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies. In the winter season the check-in and check-out take place in the sister hotel **** MONOPOL Lucerne, directly next to the ALPINA. During summer season the reception is open every day. In meantime we have free Wifi as well in our hotel *** ALPINA Lucerne in the lobby and in all hotel rooms.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your room and the cleanliness. And as well the good location of the hotel ALPINA Lucerne is very close to the centre of Lucerne and directly next to the train station.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards
Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restauratrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I booked hotel Alpina *3 stars ( and got an upgrade for free to Monopol *4 stars). Very good value for money, close to the railway station, port, the KKL and old historical center of Lucerne. Good breakfast. I asked for a quiet room and got exactly that. I will go there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72BlueSky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I had a brief, 2 night stay at the Alpina Hotel. I booked a single room and because of my experience with a similar hotel in Geneva, my expectations were not high. Again, I chose this hotel because of its short distance to the station and, for Switzerland, at a reasonable price. As it turned out the hotel exceeded my expectations, Check-in check-out was quick and efficient, nice and helpful young ladies at the reception. It had the smallest lift I've ever seen in a hotel, it just about held me and my suitcase but families might have to make multiple trips. The room, at the back of the hotel, was clean and quiet. There was a safe, mini bar, desk, comfortable bed and quite a good bathroom.. The breakfast at the sister hotel Monopol, 50 meters up the road, was excellent and so was the service. About a 5 minute walk to the lake / Rhone. Perhaps 10 minutes across the bridge to the old part of town. I was quite happy staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddoubleddutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear ddoubledd...

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station and the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne.

Thank you very much your feedback about our hotelstaff and for the quick and efficient Check-in and Check-out.

Our small lift is really very small and only for 3- 4 persons. But we do always a safety check with the elevators company and we can assure that the small lift is normal Swiss standard.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a small tourist hotel with very small rooms that were clean. It was quiet enabling a good sleep. A super excellent breakfast is served in an affiliated, and much nicer, hotel 100 metres away. Off street parking available. Located very close to the rail station and thus well placed to walk about the lake and central parts of the city. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Ray R

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice and small hotel ALPINA located directly next to the train station and the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverstone Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The location was excellent as it was only a three minute walk to the train station. The Alpina was within close walking distance of the Lucerne attractions. The room was very quiet and comfortable and the breakfast (at the affiliated Monopol Hotel) was absolutely delicious. Diana, the receptionist was very helpful and spoke excellent English. She was so likeable that we ended up naming her "Princess". Diana is a real asset to the Hotel Alpina. Other staff were very helpful and attended very promptly to our query about the heating. The very small lift was an experience in itself. Only scary because we didn't realise that it had two exits and had to manually push one of them open! This hotel was great value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VickiB122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear VickiB122

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station and the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne.

Diana will be very happy about your nice and friendly feedback. She is really a little “Princess” because her work is absolutely great.

Our small lift is really very small and only for 3- 4 persons. But we do always a safety check with the elevators company and we can assure that the small lift is normal Swiss standard.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hotel Alpina Luzern is a very functional hotel in the centre of Lucerne very close to the main train station. You wont get many luxuries. But if you are OK with staying at a decent, no-frills hotel, this hotel is perfect. All the floors and walls are nicely carpeted and overall the cleanliness levels are good. The central location means you can walk to all the main Lucerne attractions. There are several eateries and cafes just outside the hotel. The main reason i would recommend this hotel is the price. For the location, it is very high value for money and significantly more economical than the other hotels in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akhilesh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Akhilesh0…

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station, the city Lucerne and many restaurants and cafes thank you as well for your feedback about the cleanliness in our hotel.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
815 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#19 of 68 in Lucerne
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 68 in Lucerne
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
933 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central Luzern
Hotel Central Luzern
#42 of 68 in Lucerne
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina Luzern

Property: Hotel Alpina Luzern
Address: Frankenstrasse 6, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpina Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ALPINA Lucerne, directly at the train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest. Only 3 minutes by S-Train away from the Fair / Messe Lucerne. The well-tended, cosy and reasonably priced 3-Star Hotel *** ALPINA Lucerne is situated at the most central TOP-location (train station, city center, lake Lucerne, fair, center hotels lucerne). A CORDIAL WELCOME in Lucerne Hotels ALPINA Luzern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alpina Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing