We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hofgarten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hofgarten
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

I'm surprised this place has received some of the lower reviews that it has. I stayed here for two nights. The room I was in probably had to have been the largest room in the building as it was very, very spacious. I slept with the windows open and the church bells didn't bother me. I was tired at the end of each day so that helped I suppose. Its in a great location just on the edge of the city center. Maybe a 5 minute walk and you are right in downtown Lucerne where all of the shops and restaurants are. The restaurant in the hotel is very good also. I guess it used to be a vegetarian kitchen but now its a good place to get some meat also. The restaurant and hotel staff were outstanding in every regard.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ultrasweatproof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    55
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
53
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doral, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

The hotel is in a great location. Centrally located and easy access to busses. Very clean and comfortable beds. A friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast had a good variety of foods from which to pick from (eggs, cereals, cheeses, freshly baked croissants, juices and your choice of coffees, etc.)
The only draw back is that there is no air condition (like most hotels in the area). This was an unusually hot summer, so we emailed the hotel prior to our arrival requesting a fan. When we checked in, the fan was already set up in our room.
So we slept just fine. Yes, you can hear the church bells, but I liked hearing them.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravel357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

Hofgarten is very well located and is in a old building. It is supposedly very romantic. What is amusing is the star status that is attached to this hotel. This is definitely not 4 * in any one's books. The rooms are quite small and amenities are just OK. Breakfast is passable.
As a student I would have enjoyed staying here. As a grown up, I find it too small and too inconvenient. Location though is nice. Buses are close by. The hotel does not offer public transport passes like the other hotels in Switzerland we stayed in. Would have been very convenient to have that.
On the whole, value for money was questionable
Nice and young staff, very helpful

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DNPRAHLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

I agree with other reviewers that this hotel is very overpriced, especially when you consider that it is not good for sleeping. There is no aircon and in summer you have to have a window open for some type of relief but this means you have the near by church's bells, which ring quarterly, half hourly, and hourly, 24/7, and there are cars, buses, and trams running on the busy street, so if you are at all noise sensitive just forget a decent night's sleep. We stayed for 4 nights and I was ready to leave after the first night. I noticed in the time we where there that there were no Swiss people staying there -- only hapless tourists who (luckily) were usually only there for one night!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alternatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

I would agree with the comments of an earlier review but the price I paid was something less--
180 CF per night. The noisy street was especially so at 4:00 AM on a Saturday morning when a group early morning partiers waited for a bus and woke anyone within earshot. It does have a good breakfast that is included with the room rate.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatawonderful1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
277 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

Pretty good deal but expensive. A member of the staff very courteously advised us about an arts festival and a musical performance, and arranged tickets.

Good food unless you love meat.

Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BornTooLoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#28 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#26 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hofgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofgarten

Property: Hotel Hofgarten
Address: Stadthofstrasse 14 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hofgarten 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Unique" hotel is conveniently situated just outside the historic old town. Within the three historical buildings you will find 18 beautiful & charming rooms, each individually styled and tastefully decorated. The hotel is secluded by its lush gardens and has its own fine restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hofgarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofgarten Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing