We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff (at another hotel), not so great hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altstadt Hotel Le Stelle Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altstadt Hotel Le Stelle Luzern
Ranked #50 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great staff (at another hotel), not so great hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had this property booked by our travel agent as this was the best available option on the dates we wanted to travel as all the other hotels were booked.

The only good thing about this hotel is it's location, which is bang in the city centre.

Other than that I have nothing good to say about this hotel.

1. Check in at another hotel (Hotel Krone)
2. Luggage to be carried till first floor.
3. Slowest lift ever encountered in my life. It resembles more of a industrial lift for goods rather than for people.
4. Rooms are pretty small and even the floor height is very less. A six feet tall person can easily touch the celiling without even extending their arms fully above their heads.

The staff at hotel krone were ok and co-operative and they also let us keep the luggage after check out to roam the city.

Avoid this hotel if possible, grudginly accept if no other choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paradoxcy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    32
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
10
53
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We've spent two nights at Le Stelle and were very happy with our experience.

Previous comments mentioned noise and no air conditioner. We were expecting it, and wanting to stay in the old part of the city we had no problem with that. Buildings are old (cannot change how they are laid out!), located perfectly on little squares (with bus loads of tourists walking through them), so yep, noisy and fresh air from outside only... In a charming way. Windows are very well insulated, so no noise at all when closed. We visited Lucerne in summer, and where lucky it was coolish (22degres).

The room was very clean, modern, with free wifi and coffee machine. Shame about the twin beds next to each other and not one big mattress. Cuddling with better half becomes tricky!

The little italian restaurant downstairs was nice (especially with the 20% discount voucher from the hotel!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexy7772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mounds View, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Adorable hotel right in the middle of Old Town Lucerne. Perfect lcoation and the restaurant attached is lovely, the owner was extremely nice and welcoming - even made us dinner reservations at a place she recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Strange idea checking in at one hotel and then walking outside to another. Hotel Krone is where you check in and this is easy to find in the old town area. You then have to walk about 3 minutes to find your hotel above a restaurant. As others have said the lift starts from floor 1 so luggage does need to be carried to here. Lift is slow but gets you there, stairs are quicker. Room was very comfortable but small. Great view over the square. Nice L'occitane toiletries for the bathroom.
Yes - you do have to walk back to Hotel Krone for breakfast but not too bad although breakfast was one of the more basic continental offerings we had on this trip.
Helpful reception staff who stored our luggage whilst we went out for the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BidBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
293 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Overall stars - 2 of 5

Hotel staff - 3 of 5, basic. Do not expect Best Western standards.
Restaurant staff - 2 of 5, unhelpful
Room service staff - no room service as far as I know

Housekeeping staff - 0 of 5 did not come and service my room, when I call reception, reception said they could not access my room. What BS is that?? Plain lazy and probably did not try to open the door 2nd time after 1st failed attempt

Room - 1 of 5 no airconditioning (they said they can provide fan in summer... can't imagine staying in summer). Terrible soundproofing. You can hear the persons in the room above you walking and their conversation if they talk louder. Never seen this in my entire life of travel... Asked to change rooms, but their top floors are all single rooms. Gave up and used ear plugs.

Bed comfortable rating - 3 of 5, not really comfortable. 2 twin beds are actually joined together. If doesn't give the split you need for twin beds, and it doesn't give you 1 single bed like king or queen size bed (with the timber divider in between). Not practical at all.

Room size – Very small

Restaurant / breakfast - included at Best Western Krone, 2 mins walk from hotel but in winter it means you have to put on your winter jacket etc to go breakfast. Selection is very limited continental breakfast. Some fruits, bread, coffee and juices. That's it.

WIFI - included, good connection

Location - Right in the old town, better to get map and your directions right before you find it. Plenty restaurants downstairs and nearby (but all very expensive by EU standards).

Free shuttle - no

Spa - not available
Room Tip - there is a tiny elevator but its manual. You gotto to hold the button to when it is moving.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lucerne hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

The hotel is a bit hard to find. It's across the bridge from the train station in a great location in the middle of town in a cute plaza. The view from the hotel room was awesome. It's was a bit annoying to check in and out; have breakfast, and get ice from of the Best Western Hotel Krone which is a few minutes walk away. The rooms are located above a restaurant. There's no lift from the ground level to the 1st floor so you'll have to go up narrow stairs -keep that in mind for luggage (the elevator is up one level). The walls are extremely thin so we could hear every conversation and movement from the guests above us. Otherwise, it's a good option for someone looking for a modern budget hotel.

Room Tip: The highest floor rooms probably have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

I have no idea how I came across finding this hotel but I am SO glad I did. To be honest, I feel this place is a hidden gem. The location is superb in the wonderful town of Luzern. Nestled right downtown and can walk everywhere from here. Great 'old school' feel of location. True as some other reviewers state, its a boutique hotel so its small and not your standard mass accommodation. But thats why we loved it. Because there only a few rooms it feels like you have the place to yourself and aren't bothered by a lot of other guests.

The views are nice and the room style is very modern and stylistically-cool. Bathroom/shower is nice. Our room had skylights (with optional adjustable shades) and we loved that. The price was very good, especially compared to the rest of Switzerland....couldn't believe it actually. They served a great breakfast just across the plaza at the neighboring Hotel Krone (same place as check-in. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Great place. Wished all hotels I stayed in were like this. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkirbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern
0.0 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#32 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#27 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadt Hotel Le Stelle Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadt Hotel Le Stelle Luzern

Property: Altstadt Hotel Le Stelle Luzern
Address: Hirschenplatz 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadt Hotel Le Stelle Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHECK IN / CHECK OUT AND BREAKFAST AT THE ALTSTADT HOTEL KRONE LUZERN - WEINMARKT - 6004 LUZERN The Altstadt Hotel Le Stelle Luzern is located in the pedestrian and cobblestone zone of Luzern. For the arrival and departure, guests with a car are allowed (also taxi) to drive in front of the hotel for unloading. Public parking garages are located nearby. The Altstadt Hotel Le Stelle Luzern offers its guests exclusive valet parking for CHF 27.00 per night. The front desk of the Altstadt Hotel Le Stelle Luzern is at the Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern and on duty from 06:30 until 23:00. The check in after 23:00 takes place at the Hotel des Balances, just across the square. The Altstadt Hotel Le Stelle Luzern is not suitable for disabled guests and wheelchair users. NO ELEVATOR FROM THE GROUNDFLOOR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Altstadt Hotel Le Stelle Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing