We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful meal every time”
Review of STERN Luzern

STERN Luzern
Ranked #7 of 405 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$59
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal every time”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was the second time I had dinner at Stern in the last month, and there are a few reasons I returned: the lovely relaxed atmosphere with a chic yet simple decor, tasty, fresh and well presented food and very friendly service.
No doubt I will be back again soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cez79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Manager at STERN Luzern, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Cez79

Thank you for visiting our Restaurant and taking the time to write this nice Review.

For us it is likewise a pleasure to welcome you in several occasions.

Hope to have you back soon and warm regards from the whole STERN - Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    153
    65
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
zeist
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One "Stern"? Three Sterns!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We came there by accident, but what a surprise. Great food, nice service. Especially a surprise in tourist spoiled restaurants in Luzern.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tripZeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Manager at STERN Luzern, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear tripZeist

Thank you a lot for your visit and your Kind Review.

Hope to welcome you soon again and have a good time.

Warm regards from the whole STERN-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midstream
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great restaurant.excellent food.The best minced meat fritters in Europe.The fresh Swiss products make it a winner.Thanks to Olivier the host for your good and friendly service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RializeNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Manager at STERN Luzern, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear RealizeNel

Thank you so much for your visit and your so friendly review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our STERN.

Warm regards from the whole STERN-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome service, food and ambience!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Many restaurants and shops close early in Luzern, but this one keeps serving the entire menu until 10PM, and stays open until 12:30AM serving apps and drinks. It's located across the river from the main historic district, but nothing's really far in the historic district -- from near the old wall to the restaurant, I'd say the walk is about 10-15 minutes.

The menu is small but terrific: appetizers and desserts are fun if you get two or more in small glass jars (although one wouldn't be a stand-alone snack). The cuisine is modern Swiss, the main courses are light, aromatic and interesting, and the portions are just right for feeling satiated within a three-course meal.

There is an outdoor patio with umbrellas (for the frequent rain) as well as a spacious indoor sitting area. Everything is clean, the decor has a touch of antiquity, and the tables don't feel crammed. If you have a dog with you, they'll even bring them a water dish!

Service was prompt and cheerful, and all the servers spoke English. If you meet Ursina then you're in luck, you just met the sweetest person in Luzern! Thank you for the wonderful experience :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Manager at STERN Luzern, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Janet

Thank you so so much for your beautiful review and even more for your visit. We enjoyed it a lot.

We are please to hear that you had a great time and hope to welcome you in the near future.

Warm regards from the whole STERN-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Schnitzel for dessert!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

D and I chose this restaurant based on TA reviews!
If you are looking for authentic food without the tourists this is a fantastic choice
In a very pretty location out of the craziness of the tourist spots.
The space itself is welcoming, very very clean, warm feeling without feeling stuffy or sterile
The service impeccable informed and helpful
My dinner was so mind blowing (schnitzel ) I had it again for dessert!
No kidding!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Manager at STERN Luzern, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Angela

Thank you so much for your visit and the time taken to write this awesome review.

We (and the Schnitzel) are looking forward to see you again.

Warm regards from the whole STERN-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed STERN Luzern also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to STERN Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing