We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“budget-friendly and excellent location in Lucerne” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant Spatz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Restaurant Spatz
Ranked #45 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“budget-friendly and excellent location in Lucerne”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I only stayed here for one night in my short trip to Lucerne.
The location is excellent, you can get there by 8mins bus straight from Lucerne main train station.
You can also easily get to the old downtown and the Chapel bridge from there.
The Internet did not work for me as my room was at level 2. I need to get out of the room and closer to the main restaurant so as to get my device connected.
There was no lift in the hotel; however there was helper to carry your luggage.
The room is basic but clean and well-maintained. I came in a sunny August afternoon, so it was a little bit stuffy at first but it gets better when the sun set.
The restaurant was lovely and the staff was friendly and helpful.

In general, the hotel is budget-friendly for traveler.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    35
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
33
29
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Highly recomend this hotel as the service and location are fantastic, very well run hotel with some simple but very comfortable rooms. The location is busy and the public transport runs from the front door, easy access on the main road with good parking off he street.
We were very happy with our stay and the staff are very welcoming and helpful.
The Brieses

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katzenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Spatz for one night and had a wonderful stay. There were three adults in our group and we had a double bed and a twin bed. The rooms were pretty basic with a bathroom attached to the room, but everything was clean and we had plenty of room. The staff at the Spatz was incredibly friendly and made our stay more enjoyable. They were always willing to answer our questions and provide recommendations. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the train station which we didn't mind. The only negative we had about the hotel was that it was located next to a busy road so the road noise was noticeable at night. Otherwise, we had a great stay and will go back to the Spatz!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jshyatt710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed in Hotel Spatz for 7 days on a business trip. The room I had was with a lovely balcony and a great view. The hotel is very well located with very easy connectivity to all parts of Lucerne. The room was clean, nice and friendly. Internet in room was a bit of a problem but ended up spending more time in restaurant when required to use wi-fi.

Also had lunch and dinner once and the food was really good. Euro matches were on and the evening barbecue and football were a huge draw. It felt nice and lively.

People are very friendly and hospitable. Would love to come and stay here again and eat more often.

Room Tip: Strong sunny days can be a bit of a problem in some rooms that get quite warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deval_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Our family of 4 adults & 2 children stayed in this hotel for 3nts/4days . this was our last stay during our 16 days of holidays in Italy & Switzerland where we had excellent experience in six hotels .

location of this hotel is right next to a T junction which has heavy volume of traffic 24 hrs , making it noisy & difficult to rest . the rooms are painted with dark colours & poor light with low voltage bulbs giving it a dingy look . Even during day time , windows cannot be opened for light due to noise of vehicles on surrounding roads.

there is a restaurant but staying guests are provided break fast in an adjoining room . the so called continental breakfast is not laid on the table but given to each guest separately with about two pieces of bread , measured jam+ butter & a cup of coffe / tea. Most unwelcome behaviour was that of the staff serving breakfast , they were picking and choosing guests for standard of service , it was very noticeable and smacked of racial preferences . we have also given this feedback to a well known travel agency through whom we booked this hotel online.

the hotel has no gateman nor any lobby , infact there is no check in table during day or night . One has to go around & around the hotel to meet someone in the restaurant which has a separate entrance where every guest is given a key to the entrance of the hotel which is a security risk

Room Tip: Avoid staying in this hotel if you are on holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Musafirhoonyaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lucerne hotels

Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I happen to stay at this hotel with my family of 7 members during 3rd week of May 2011 for 2 nights. I would rather call this a guest house than a Hotel which is managed by a very hospitable family. This small property is close to 15 minutes of walk able distance from Lucerne main station. The location was a major turn off for us as we thought it was far from main attractions of lucerne but we had to ply bus every time in order to reach lake lucerne or chappel bridge or any other place. There were not many good food options available close to the hotel and all of us being vegetarian in our group had difficulty finding restaurants which were closer to main station.
We were particular about Indian food and found good options like NY food company + Kanchi restaurant again far off from the hotel. Now coming to this hotel, the staff(family members) were hospitable and served us well. The breakfast at the hotel was basic as well and the rooms were below average. We booked 1 family room + 1 double room. The family room was kinda okay but double room was sad to look at. Anyhow, the purpose of our stay in Lucerne was to be out most of the time and that is why we looked for budgeted stay.
I would suggest other members to book their hotel near Weggis town at the other end of the lake lucerne which is a more serene place to stay at and offers far better accomodation with in the same budget.
Although, one positive about the location was that the bus stop was right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atulagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solomon, Kansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We needed an affordable place to stay on a road trip through Switzerland. This hotel was clean, though small, basic and very dated in its decor. It was definitely not fancy, but the staff were very helpful and nice. They spoke English and gave us insight on what we could see in our very short stay. The evening meal was filling and good, while not gourmet. If you want a place to spend the night that is fairly close to the old-town sights and that does not break the bank, Hotel Spatz is a good place to stay. The breakfast was very simple, with only rolls and cheese, and not very filling from an American point of view.

If you want elegant decor and gourmet food, choose somewhere else. If you need a place to stay on a budget that is convenient, this is a reasonable choice. If nothing else, you can buy beer out of the vending machine, which made for a great conversation between me and my children!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyfromkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#32 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#35 of 69 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pension Villa Maria
Pension Villa Maria
#49 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#23 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Spatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Spatz

Property: Hotel Restaurant Spatz
Address: Obergrundstrasse 103, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant Spatz 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Spatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spatz Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing