We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for people who eat little and sleep heavily!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Spatz
Ranked #45 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 2 July 2007

This was sold to us on the internet as a 3 star hotel with modern spacious rooms - really? When we complained about the facilities we were told that it had been downgraded to 2 stars due mainly to the lack of lift - ha!

The hotel is on a very busy junction so it is impossible to sleep with the windows open.
The room was TINY, I could just about wheel my case around the bed.
No lift and lots of changes in floor level (trip hazards) and a serious need for redecoration.

However our main complaint was 'the breakfast', 1 slice white bread, 1 slice brown bread, 1 roll plus a few pots of jam and butter, hardly a breakfast. When we went to complain we were told that it was standard continental breakfast, another guest commented that it was the worst breakfast he'd had in 2 weeks, more like 2 years we thought.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ChocaholicWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2006

Terrible hotel! They claim to be a 3 star hotel but I don't believe it. This was the worst hotel we stayed in on our trip. Room was tiny and needed painting. When you sat down in the bathroom your head is literally over the sink! Was too far from city center and noisy traffic if you want the windows open. Only coffee/tea, rolls and jelly for breakfast. Pay a little more and find someplace else. They had free internet (1 PC) but it was always being used by other disappointed guests looking for a different place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Beaches1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2006

We traveled around Europe for 10 days with our two daughters. It was very difficult to find a hotel that would accomodate 4 people, so our options were limited. We found this hotel on line, and were a little concerned because the reviews we read were not as positive as we had hoped. We were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was extremely easy to find. It's barely off the autobahn in a great location. There was ample parking. The staff spoke English quite well, and were very helpful. The room was large, with a double bed and two singles. We had a balcony with a great view of Luzern. It was nothing fancy, but had everything we needed and was clean. Breakfast was limited, but we found that to be the case in most European hotels. We thought the meals in the restraunt were a little expensive, but the food was about the best we had in Europe. It was only ten minutes from Mt. Pilitus, which is a must see while in Luzern. I would stay there again, and I would recommend it to anyone traveling with children.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toni07grantmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2005

Like the previous reviewer, I also found bites around my ankles as well, but am not sure if they came from this particular hotel.

The bed sheets looked dirty & they were too thick for September. However, the rooms were quite clean and use of free internet was convenient.

The location is good, 5 mins bus ride from town, and the buses are very regular, stopping right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2005

Though the staff was very pleasant - DO NOT STAY HERE. That nice picture you see (Spatz Restaurant) has no affiliation to the hotel in the back. It was like staying in a hostel - except very very pricey for the condition it was in.The bed covers were dirty and there was no top sheet to sheild you from the dirty comforter. We woke up with what we believe to be bed bites. Also, beware of Venere's reviews. I wrote this same review - and it did not show up on their website. Only the good reviews came up. Hope you find a better place to stay in.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REA312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
17
Reviewed 22 June 2004

Free internet and genuine, helpful hosts were the best feature at this hotel. Just a pity the inet was in the corner between the front reception desk and the stairs. This place has potential but only if they make some attempt to rid the rooms and corridors of cigarette stench, and clean up all the furnishings with burn marks in them. As Australians we learnt to tolerate it but we never got used to it. The busy 3 way intersection it sits on might also be less of a problem, if you didn't have to open the windows. Overall, affordable and friendly, but badly in need of air conditioning and redecorating.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Pillone80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
2.1 mi away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#18 of 66 in Lucerne
613 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#23 of 66 in Lucerne
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#36 of 66 in Lucerne
356 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stern Luzern
Hotel Stern Luzern
#34 of 66 in Lucerne
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Spatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Spatz

Address: Obergrundstrasse 103, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: £81 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant Spatz 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Spatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spatz Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing