We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, comfortable and clean hotel in a good location”
Review of Hotel Stern Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Stern Luzern
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Solid, comfortable and clean hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I found this hotel to be very reliable and came back again with my family to book a larger room. The parking was convenient, everything was very clean and everyone very courteous. This is my go-to hotel in Luzern for a reasonably priced, nice place. There's a great Spanish bar just up the road for a quick nightcap and tapas.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgansue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, 21 December 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    93
    44
    12
    3
See reviews for
62
86
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed here for one night in April. The room is small, but comfortable and the location made it great. If you travel by car there is a public parking garage just a few meters away. The old town is within walking distance, as is the station.

The only negative was the shower curtain. it sticks to your body when you shower. Add proper shower doors and this would be a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, 21 December 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Stern on a Saturday night in mid March. I was with a large group of family, renting 2 rooms for the night. We arrived early in the day to take advantage of Mt. Pilatus (a MUST DO!) and arrived at the hotel well before the 3 PM check-in time. The staff was very courteous, explaining that although we could not yet access our rooms, we were welcome to store our luggage, which we happily did. We were given very good directions to the nearest team to Mt. Pilatus and were on our way to a lovely adventure.

Upon return to the hotel, we were promptly checked in and given two rooms, side by side, which was very convenient. The rooms were small, but comfortable. My only advice is for the shower- be sure to direct the water towards the wall or you will flood the bathroom! The shower lip is very short, and the shower curtain sticks to your legs due to the fan thy runs automatically. It's not a problem if you are aware before you begin. The hotel is located on the Jesuit Cathedral side of old town, very accessible to all wonderful things Lucerne.

I must say that my favorite part of the hotel was the fabulous complementary breakfast served on the 2nd floor. Fresh crossiants, cheese, boiled eggs, homemade yogurt and jam, muslei, milk, and (my favorite), a truly heavenly coffee matching that you could take your pick of coffee types- espresso, latte, macchiato, kaffe, etc.. YUM!

Upon check out at 11:00 AM on Sunday, we were not yet ready to leave Lucerne, and we were once again allowed to store our luggage.

All together a truly wonderful experience. I highly recommend Hotel Stern for anyone looking for a clean, simple hotel. Certainly not luxury, but most definitely above average.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kfv6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, 21 December 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

So convenient with easy five minute walk to the Hauptbanhof and the old town. Beautiful walk at night or in the morning along the river (200 metres away) and to the old town. Across any of the historic bridges will take you to the old town and on some days to the market stalls. Hotel rooms were on the simple side but hotel has lots of character. Pillows were quite flat but this may be the norm in Switzerland fromy my brief experience. This hotel may have the smallest elevator in existence (i'm not sure) but was ok for me and my one suitcase. Children or those suffering claustrophobia may not like it. Take the stairs instead if it's a problem and it is a nice staircase too. Enjoyed the breakfast in the nice restaurant and the bar downstairs was small and quaint and I quite like it too. Probably will stay here again if I come back to Luzern.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, 21 December 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We have been travelling for 4 months and this was the best hotel yet. The staff are very very helpful and friendly, the restaurant serves incredible food and the location is perfect. When we come back to Lucerne we will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giselle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, 21 December 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stern Luzern Hotel has the best location since it pretty close to the train station and bus terminal. In less than 5 minutes, we can get to the kapelbrucke. The room was pretty clean and not so small. The breakfast was also pretty good with nice atmosphere of the restaurant. The elevator is so unique.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenzhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, 21 December 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Location was perfect, less than 5 minutes to the old town. Comfortable & very clean room & comfy bed with down pillows/blanket. Very nice breakfast room - tastefully decorated & the breakfast which was included in our rate was great. Very friendly staff who had wonderdul dinner recommendations. Hotel Stern was perfect for our one night stay in Lucerne!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, 21 December 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#40 of 68 in Lucerne
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 68 in Lucerne
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#25 of 68 in Lucerne
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stern Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stern Luzern

Property: Hotel Stern Luzern
Address: Burgerstrasse 35, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stern Luzern 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Stern Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Stern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing