We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Here!”
Review of Hotel Stern Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Stern Luzern
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay Here!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while we passed through Lucerne. We were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful this hotel was. Our check-in was smooth and our room was extremely clean. We were very happy with the accommodations. The staff is absolutely exceptional. They were able to fit us in right away for dinner at their popular restaurant on a busy Saturday after we had just arrived. Michael, our server, was really helpful and friendly. The hotel is very central too. Breakfast each morning was one of the best we had during our trip through Europe. We would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkukuk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Manager at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast

Vielen Dank für Ihre super Bewertung! Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir Sie im STERN begeistern konnten und Sie uns so positiv weiterempfehlen.

Ganz herzliche Grüsse und bis bald wieder in Luzern
Ihr STERN-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    92
    43
    12
    3
See reviews for
60
85
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay - it is super conveniently located for the price. We had to pay when we arrived because check out was at 11am, but no receptionist will be there. We gave our key to the breakfast attendant upon leaving. Breakfast was from 7-10 and when we went at 9:30, there was not much left, but it was included, so that was nice. They were very friendly and helpful. We even are dinner there, and while expensive, it was delicious!! Great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Manager at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Google Translation
Liebe Heather

Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Schön, dass es Ihnen bei uns gefallen und das Essen geschmeckt hat. Unser kleines, feines Frühstücksbuffet wird bis 10 Uhr frisch aufgefüllt und selbstverständlich sollte um 9.30 Uhr noch alles erhältlich sein. Wenn dies bei Ihrem Besuch nicht der Fall war, entschuldigen wir uns ganz herzlich dafür. Wir werden künftig noch besser darauf achten und sind sehr froh um Ihren Hinweis. Vielen Dank.

Herzliche Grüsse aus Luzern!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson NC
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My family and I arrived in Lucern after staying in Glitzy Glam Mega hotels in London and Paris but didn't feel as cozy and welcome as we did upon our arrival here. It's quaint, quiet and, clean rooms match the story book feel of the incredible little Village of Lucern. Everyone here works very hard to insure your stay is a great experience.
Be sure you book a reservation for dinner at their charming little restaurant as well. What a special dining experience!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeHeel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Manager at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast

Ihre Zeilen haben uns riesig gefreut; herzlichen Dank für die schöne Bewertung. Was Sie geschrieben haben, ist immer unser Ziel und es ist wunderbar zu lesen, dass Sie sich so wohl und willkommen gefühlt haben.

Herzlichen Dank und bis bald im STERN!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good location. Prices not bad for Switzerland and includes breakfast Rooms are spacious particularly for European hotels and airy.Greeted warmly when we arrived and all paperwork correct and in place including dinner reservation we had made online. Easy walk to old city and information center at train station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Manager at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast

Vielen Dank für Ihre gute Bewertung und sonnige Grüsse aus Luzern!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in Hotel Stern for 3 nights, occupying 2 rooms. The hotel is in a quiet street about 2 minutes walk to Chapel Bridge, 5 minutes walk to the train station. It has clean rooms, an excellent restaurant in the ground floor and the BEST staff in all Europe! Thanks to Michael and Urcina for the "above and beyond" service they gave us during our stay. They gave us tips on where to go for a day tour, advised my son and nephew on which bars to go to and most of all, they helped me prepare a surprise for my son's 22nd birthday. Very accommodating, very helpful, very friendly. The Stern is lucky to have people like them! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peepeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Manager at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast

Herzlichen Dank für Ihre tolle Bewertung! Es freut uns ausserordentlich, dass wir (vor allem Ursina und Michael) Sie auf ganzer Linie begeistern konnten. Dankeschön.

Sonnige Grüsse vom STERN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were welcomed with a smile! Room very simple but very clean. Fantastic location as a start of total tour. We came back for evening and we were absolutely shocked by great croud. Food God amazing, deserts (chocolat fondant with home made vanillia ice cream, creme brule) heaven. We will definitely come back. Basia & Olgierd Warsaw Poland

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Manager at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Google Translation
Liebe Basia & Olgierd

Ihre Bewertung macht uns fast sprachlos; vielen herzlichen Dank dafür! Wie schön, dass wir einander eine Freude machen konnten...

Herzliche Grüsse von uns allen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good hotel, very nice location, good breakfast, very bad wifi.
Good cost-benefit.
Luzern is an expensive city. So, don't expect to pay few bucks for a nice hotel.
Did not go to the restaurant below the hotel, but it seems to be ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo_viajandao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STERN-Team, Manager at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Google Translation
Hallo Leo

Vielen Dank für Ihre gute Bewertung; es freut uns sehr, dass Sie glücklich waren im STERN. Dass Sie während Ihrem Aufenthalt einen schlechten WiFi-Empfang hatten, tut uns sehr leid. Wir entschuldigen und herzlich dafür.

Das Restaurant ist auf jeden Fall einen Besuch wert; vielleicht beim nächsten Mal?

Fröhliche Grüsse nach Rio de Janeiro!
Ihr STERN-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#41 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#30 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Anker
Hotel Restaurant Anker
#39 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#22 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stern Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stern Luzern

Property: Hotel Stern Luzern
Address: Burgerstrasse 35, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stern Luzern 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Stern Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Stern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing