We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIce small hotel in beautiful Lucerne” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bellevue Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NIce small hotel in beautiful Lucerne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

My husband and 2 young adult children recently enjoyed a 4 night stay ant Hotel Bellevue in a quadruple room. Our room was large with 2 comfortable twin beds and 1 queen sized low futon type bed. The staff was very friendly & helpful, especially Marlen. The hotel is a little way from town on scenic road right across the street from Lake Lucerne, but bus station was right next to it and came every 15-30 minutes. Switzerland is a beautiful place to visit, but be prepared to spend a lot of money here, because everything is expensive!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vmcglincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    89
    25
    5
    1
See reviews for
68
56
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

We spent 2 nights in this hotel, staff were great and make efforts to make our stay enjoyable. Room was clean and the view of Mount Pilatus was great. The hotel provides free bicycle rentals which we also enjoyed as we we bike down to the city center. Lake Luzern was just across the street and we had access to swim in it. Although the hotel was a little out of the way but the bus stop was only 20 metres away with frequent schedule. Love to stay here again someday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muhamadian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

I think everybody knows that Switzerland is a very expensive place to visit. We stayed here for two days on a driving tour that included Austria and Germany. The hotels in Switzerland were twice the price of the other countries.

Having said that, it was our choice to stay in Lucerne, and we think we made a great choice at the Hotel Bellevue.

We paid extra for one of their Pilatus Superior Rooms, and asked for the third (top) floor. This ensured a great view over the top of the Hotel Hermitage directly opposite, to the lake and the mountains beyond. I’m pretty sure that lower floors would not really have much of a view at all.

On arrival at the hotel, we were invited to sit down in the breakfast room at the front of the hotel with the receptionist. She offered us a complimentary drink and a snack whilst telling us about the hotel, bus times, local attractions, etc.

A very small lift took the two of us up to the third floor, to our room. It was a lovely, large room with plenty of space. Furniture included a wardrobe with safe, mini bar (surprisingly not too expensive), a large standing fan, and a coffee table with two cosy chairs.

The large windows opened up to a private balcony that offered a great view of the lake. This had a table and a couple of garden chairs, and a canopy that could be pulled down if needed. It was very nice to sit out here for a while and look at the scenery.

The TV had many channels – mainly German, and a couple in French and Italian, but only CNN in English.

The double bed (actually, two singles pushed together as they often are in Europe), was firm but comfortable.

The bathroom was narrow, and had a frosted glass door right next to the bed which doesn’t allow for much modesty, but it was all spotlessly clean, like the rest of the room.

Breakfast was in the room downstairs, and offered a smallish continental buffet with cereals, small bread rolls, small croissants, bread loaves, yoghurs, fruits, eggs to boil and small slices of meats, salami and cheese.

Parking was on the road directly in front, or to the side, of the hotel, and cost 5CHF per day. Once parked, we didn’t touch the car again until we left, and simply caught the bus at the stop next to the hotel. There only seemed to be one route, which passed every 15 minutes and took you directly into Lucerne, so it couldn’t be easier. The trip seemed to take less than 15 minutes. Bus tickets, as well as tickets to local attractions, could be bought at the hotel.

We very much recommend the Hotel Bellevue, especially if you can afford a Superior Room to get the view. Whilst not actually in the town, it was so easy to leave the car and simply catch the bus in and out. I investigated all the hotels in the area long and hard – most of them were simply too expensive or didn’t offer adequate parking. I’m really glad that we chose this hotel, and would definitely come here again if we were in the area.

The only reason I’m giving four out of five stars is because I like to base some of my judgement on value-for-money. And that’s something we really didn’t find in Switzerland.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reddiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

Hotel Bellevue is situated around 4 kms from the main city center of Luzern, but is well connected by bus no 24 which runs every 15 mins during the day and 30 mins during the night. This is a very clean hotel with spacious double rooms and a great team at the reception. The breakfast spread was extremely good , but the breakfast area was a bit small and was a bit of inconvinience during busy times. The daily coffee coupons given to the guests was a good gesture from the management. The view of mount Pilatus from the top floor rooms is really fascinating. The bathroom was small and didn't have exhaust. The double room had twin beds which was a bit awkward. High speed internet at 2 francs was really cheap according to swiss standards. Overall a very cozy and heart warming experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AroundTheWorld25yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

Hotel Bellevue is situated around 4 kms from the main city center of Luzern, but is well connected by bus no 24 which runs every 15 mins during the day and 30 mins during the night. This is a very clean hotel with spacious double rooms and a great team at the reception. The breakfast spread was extremely good , but the breakfast area was a bit small and was a bit of inconvinience during busy times. The daily coffee coupons given to the guests was a good gesture from the management. The view of mount Pilatus from the top floor rooms is really fascinating. The bathroom was small and didn't have exhaust. The double room had twin beds which was a bit awkward. High speed internet at 2 francs was really cheap according to swiss standards. Overall a very cozy and heart warming experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AroundTheWorld25yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

A short way out of town but close to the bus stop. Very easy to get to Luzern. Very friendly and helpful staff. Can't find any fault. Other facilities at sister hotel across road.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Our family enjoyed this hotel. Room was bright and clean and the service was exceptional. The staff spoke many languages and were very helpful. It is on a busy street, but that was not a problem. We had a car, so it was an easy drive to downtown Lucerne (only took a few minutes), plus the hotel had free parking. The bathrooms were clean, but were small and could use updating. I noticed that some other reviewers mentioned that the bathroom doors had opaque-like glass that was actually fairly see-through, and this was something that we fixed by hanging a towel on the door. New bathoom doors would be a big improvement in keeping with the otherise modern style of the rooms. The room had a balcony with a great view of Mt. Pilatus. Good breakfast too.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mudslide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#26 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#24 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Stern Luzern
Hotel Stern Luzern
#33 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#32 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue Luzern

Property: Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Address: Seeburgstrasse 79, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellevue Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bellevue Lucerne is a welcoming 3-star bed & breakfast hotel with 19 generously sized rooms. The hotel is characterized by its personal service, a cheerful team and a cosy atmosphere. Each of the 19 modern rooms is well appointed with en-suite bath/WC or shower/WC, hair dryer, telephone, TV/radio, safe and WiFi. The majority of our rooms have a balcony affording a superb view of Mount Pilatus. We also have three-bed and family rooms for up to six people. For the more budget-conscious, we recommend our smaller standard rooms, which are the same as other rooms in all respects except for a balcony. All rooms are non-smoking areas - smoking is only permitted on the balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bellevue Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Luzern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing