We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Hotel Magic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Magic
Ranked #43 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    63
    43
    17
    7
See reviews for
18
94
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I were upgraded to the King Suite in the Magic Hotel when the hotel we had booked (Hotel Krone) could not give us a double room. We were very happy to take the upgrade for our 3 nights!! The room was huge with corner spa! (though very small bathroom ??), very clean and well equipped, even a coffee machine. Spa is very noisy, so we decided against using. The bed was very comfortable, but the 2 doonas was a bit confusing. There is a fairly comfortable sofa. There were 3 large windows we could open to allow fresh air though at night this also let in a lot of noise. The hotel is in an excellent location for we tourists, but that also means it is above a lot of restaurants etc and it gets noisy when others are enjoying themselves. We had to walk to the Hotel Krone for breakfast and to book in and out, but this was only about 150m and didn't bother us at all. From our windows we had a view of the stairs to one of the bridges and a small part of the lake. There are a lot of cafes, restaurants and shops very close and the main station is about 5 min walk at most. The only drawback to this beautiful room was the gorgeous clock tower that stands approx. 30m away and that chimes every quarter hour and loudly announces every hour - 24 hours a day!!!!! I can't say I slept well being a light sleeper, but the husband managed fine! Breakfast was typical continental, but very fresh and the staff were all very friendly, helpful and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again if we get the chance!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pidge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the magic for 3 nights in the 'farmers' room. Going by the name the room is set up in a typical swiss farmers room with many hens and rooster figures and hay on the window sill..coffee machine..fan and toiletries are provided as well. the place was booked by our travel agent Gloria who did a good job. Less than ten min walk to the station..lotsa restaurants..shopping and bars. The reception staff 'Ivan' is very nice to speak with and did give us pointers on what to look for. Bucherer is a 5 min walk as well!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubaina21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed in the Lotus Room, it was gorgeous. Plenty of room with a lovely view over the square. my friends stayed in the Baroque Room, with a big corner spa in their room, which was also spacious but did not have such a good view. We did have to go to another hotel to book in and out and to have breakfast but this did not bother us! The location was perfect, we managed to walk from there to all the points of interest, with lots of different restaurants to chose from close by.
What a clever idea to have themed rooms with names instead of numbers. we would have loved to see inside some of the other rooms!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My family was surprised and delighted to find ourselves in the Honeymoon and Swiss Chalet suites after having been upgraded from an overbooked hotel nearby. The rooms were spacious and clean, but it was the excellent location -- right in the hear of the old city -- and the unique decor that made our visit truly magic.

Room Tip: We loved the view from the Honeymoon Suite--the only room with a balcony. And we slept well there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NittanyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed one night in this place (can't call it hotel). We had booked two rooms at Best Western Krone 3*. The sweet talking front office person convinced us that BW Krone is sold out and he will give us a suite at a nearby hotel and took us to hotel Magic. We wen through a small lane and entered a smaller door and dingy elevator. No front office, no room service, no drinking water in the room, no airconditioning - only a table fan was available. The suite was a large, gawdy, terribly decorated room with cheap tile flooring and this was called "King Suite". The bathrooms were so small and myself being only 130 pounds found it difficult to have a decent bath. The funny thing is that when we were checking out, I could see the same scenario which happened to us happeneing to another couple, The FO person was telling them about the suite at a nearby hotel???

Room Tip: Don even think about it. There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rksitaraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lucerne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#14 of 68 in Lucerne
464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#35 of 68 in Lucerne
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#39 of 68 in Lucerne
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic

Property: Hotel Magic
Address: Brandgassli 1, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magic 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHECK IN / CHECK OUT AND BREAKFAST AT THE ALTSTADT HOTEL KRONE LUZERN - WEINMARKT - 6004 LUZERN The Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern is located in the pedestrian and cobblestone zone of Luzern. For the arrival and departure, guests with a car are allowed (also taxi) to drive in front of the hotel for unloading. Public parking garages are located nearby. The Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern offers its guests exclusive valet parking for CHF 27.00 per night. The front desk of the Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern is at the Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern and on duty from 06:30 until 23:00. The check in after 23:00 takes place at the Hotel des Balances, just across the square. The Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern is not suitable for disabled guests and wheelchair users. NO ELEVATOR FROM THE GROUNDFLOOR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Magic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing