We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“European Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Royal Lucerne
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“European Charm”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We would return to this hotel in a heartbeat! Although decor was old, the antiquities added to the charm of this hotel. Our room was clean and spacious. The view from our balcony was beyond breathtaking. Food was delicious and service was stellar, with attentive and friendly hosts. The location was fabulous with a delightful stroll along the lake to walk to town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    40
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
41
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is a very well located hotel, just a short walk to the centre of town and the lake. It is an older style hotel and the rooms are pretty basic, however ours was very large but they do not supply shampoo or tissues and there on a tiny 12inch TV on the wall, which is pathetic. The room did feel a bit musty, but you expect that with older buildings. It is a family owned hotel and the friendly atmosphere and staff compensate for any of the other things lacking. However, there was no wifi whatsoever, which in this day and age is very lacking. In my opinion all hotels should offer free wifi to a least the lobby, but preferably to all the rooms too. The dinner and breakfast was also very average.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coops52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Far too often, a hotel sits on a great location with a spectacular view, but leaves much to be desired in the other areas of hosting. The Hotel Royal - more precisely, the Hofer Family (Karl, Albertina, and Barbara) make it all work the way it should. They are wonderful and gracious hosts that make you feel at home from the moment you walk through the door.

Yes, it is Switzerland, and there aren't any bad views...but this view! Pilatus on one side, Rigi on the other...with one of the most beautiful lakes in the middle. It is phenomenal, but so is the hotel. The Hofer family makes you feel at home right away. The service is terrific, the breakfast is wonderful (you must try the homemade preserves), and the rooms are great!!! There isn't a bad view in the hotel - try finding another hotel in Lucerne with a balcony that has this view -- at the same cost!!! They mentioned recent renovations had upgraded several areas, but, there couldn't have been much to change. The hotel was very easy to find, and offers parking. The central location to everything makes them an ideal choice. Did I mention the incredibly beautiful walk along the lake to get to the historic part of the city?

There simply isn't another hotel in Lucerne I would consider while visiting. The Hofer Family is wonderful, and the hotel is a superb deal for the service, room, location, and view!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chart16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I loved everything about Lucerne, their history, culture ,chocolates, mount pilatus , swiss watches, swiss army knife and people.. Hotel has the awesome uphill panoramic view of lake luzern and mountain alps. The thing that I hate about this hotel, everything here is vintage... No A/C, Old distress door and door knob and metal keys, Old 14 inch T.V. sets from the 80's -"No cable TV off course ! ", old furnitures and lighting fixtures. moreso, its difficult to take a shower coz of poor lighting at the toilet and bath ., Shower handspray looks like a bidet hand spray which are located at the lower side of theTub. In short ,amenities are not that great!

Room Tip: All room has balcony..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Castrolgtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

An oases of tranquillity, a heaven of genuine personal service, the immaculate housekeeping, the magnificent views, this is the Royal!
From my first visit here, I fell in love with this house and its lovely people.
Can't wait to be back

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanvanHouten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The cost was reasonable compared to surrounding hotels which was a plus. The hotel is very beautiful with a great outdoor terrace overlooking the water. The rooms are quite plain compared to the extravagance of the rest of the hotel though they are large in size. The bathroom was also quite large and much nicer than the rest of the room. The staff made this hotel. I think it is a family run hotel since we interacted with a brother and sister who seemed to run the place. They were incredibly friendly and so helpful. The breakfast which was included in the rate was top notch, especially the eggs. I would stay here again. The walk into town was not as bad as previous reviews indicate though the walk back uphill was more difficult.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Within walking distance of central Lucerne (or a short bus ride, ask at the desk) the Hotel Royal is a delightful establishment which has been owned by the same family for over 100 years. The rooms are clean and comfortable and have an "old world" charm about them, not fancy but quite nice. The staff are fluent in English and very courteous and helpful. The resturant turns out excellent meals and they're all served up by a waitress who has the most beautiful smile and pleasant manner. After dinner sit on the terrace with a drink (also served up by that lovely waitress) and take in the spectacular views of the lake and Mt Pilatus.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#30 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hofgarten
Hotel Hofgarten
#26 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#14 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
0.3 mi away
Pension Villa Maria
Pension Villa Maria
#51 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#40 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Lucerne

Property: Hotel Royal Lucerne
Address: Rigistrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Lucerne 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Royal Lucerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing