We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location!!!”
Review of Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Mr. Pickwick at the end of our trip to Switzerland this summer. I would never have dreamed that we could afford such a great location, with a balcony view of Chapel Bridge, but Mr. Pickwick made it happen. My only regret is that we didn't spring for the private bathroom...the micro hall baths are not comfortable to say the least, but our room was great. I even forgot a piece of clothing in Zurich and had it shipped to Pickwick, but it didn't arrive before we checked out and I thought it was lost forever. The staff shipped it to my home in the US, without charge. Summary: Perfect location, great staff, comfortable room, unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies have amazing views of the river and bridge, but will be noisy at night with res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

I was just thinking about my great stay at Lucerne and relised I didnt leave a review for this great Hotel,
It is a short and easy walk from the train station even with luggage, and easy to find, checked in at the bar, the staff were friendly and check in was quick, the room was small but enough for sleeping in and was very clean and the bathroom was quite large and modern it had a lovey balcony that had one of the best veiws of Lucerne over the chapel bridge with the mountains in the backgroud Beutifull both day and night. and overlooking the main night area can be a bit noisy but was fairly quite by 12pm bring ear plugs if you need, we didnt.. and the sunday markets set up right outside the door plenty of fresh produce and other wares to buy, great little market.
we had one meal downstairs at the pub it was a bit pricey but everything is in Lucerne but the meal was execellent and very large.
there is a starbucks next door and plenty of shopping around you,:-)
the town itelf is easy to navigate and easy to find the main attrations. The loin of Lucerne was beutifull. Actually the whole town was beutifull and the people were the friendliest we came across in the 7 countrys we visited and seem to be able to speak most laungues. it also felt lovely and safe walking around both day and night. so overall great area to stay....

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel with a balcony Beutifull view and good for peole watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belinda1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and it is just a skip away from the train station. We got a room that is facing the Chapel Bridge and the view in the day or night was just great. It was interesting to stay in a hotel that does not have a proper reception. You actually checked in at the pub counter. Luckily we did that in the late morning. Can't imagine if you have to do that at night when there are so many people. Room is a bit small but for the price and location, can't complain. We expected it to be noisy at night but surprising, we only heard drunk singing one of the nights...but we were so tired that it did not bothered us at all. Free wifi is a plus but no breakfast. There is a supermarket at the train station that opens till 10 pm. On Sat mornings, the market is smacked right at the entrance so at dawn, you can hear them setting up their stalls. Small TV in room that has CNN. Other than that, get used to watching movies in German language which we did....with Raiders of the Lost Ark. Service is a little lacking....they did not replace our towels one night and the other, they forgot the shower gel. But we just had to go down to the pub and let the waiter know, and he got it sent to our rooms very quickly. Again, if you are choosing this hotel for its service, then you will be disappointed. But if it is for the location and price...then it provides that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The location is across from the Chapel Bridge with easy walking distance to everything. We spent 3 nights. The staff was great; they pretty much left us alone, but made it clear they were there if we needed anything. We did need some help at one point and they were right there! The rooms are nothing fancy, but they are clean and have updated fixtures in the bathroom. We loved the view and enjoyed sitting in our window watching the world go by. Plus, the pub is good. When we booked this room through the tourist information next to the train station, we were told it is over a pub. That was OK with us because we knew beer would be close. We were touring on our tandem and we felt it was safely stored during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IdaVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in early June 2011.

Location is just less than 10 mins from the train station and faces the river. We asked for a balcony upon booking and was told "subjected to availability" but eventually we got one and on the seond level. You could the Chapel Bridge and mountains from the balcony! : )

As the weather was cooling, the lack of aircon and fan was no problem. We left the window ajar and the noise was no issue at all.

Check-in was done in a bar and the staff are generally friendly.

The room was no-frills, clean and reasonably-sized for us - 2 Asians.

We really couldnt ask for more for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JolaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hotel was no bargain. Generally, we just need a clean, quiet place to crash and not much else. This hotel did not meet even those minimum requirements.

When we first arrived, we went to the hotel entrance and were greeted by a sign that told us to go arpound the building (the block, really) to the pub entrance. Once at the pub entrance, the bar keeper said we had to meet him on the other side of the block to check in. That meant that we had to trek all the way around the block a second time in th pouring rain. So right away, you get the sense that the hotel was not interested enough in thier guests to provide a doorbell and did not consider them good enough to let them walk thru the hallway into the hotel registration behind the bar area. It was pretty much the way the staff approached everything to do with the hotel.

The bar staff are the only ones there and once the bar is closed for the night, there is no way to contact anyone if is there is a problem. There is a service phone in the hallway, but it states emergency only for after closing. Even if the bar is open, they are not interested in your problems. It was a little understandable that when we asked about things to do and transportaion, they referred us to the tourist info center. When we asked for a place for dinne,they told us to "go walk around". The tourist info center said the hotel should have given us a guest card for discounts - the bar staff evidently could not afford the time away from serving drinks.... and it was a sunday night.

I had called in advance to make sure there was parking and was assured it was not problem. It was no problem for the hotel, but it was a big problem for us. There is NO PARKING. There isn't even a place to drop off bags. We had to walk three blocks in the rain with our bags to reach the pub (only to be told to go back around the block again). The bar keep offered us a five franc card that he said would allow us to park for free on the street at the end of the block. There were only 5 spots. All other street parking was 3-5 blocks away. Plus, the card did not provide free parking. I have no idea why the bar keep didn't tell us that the card was only good for overnight parking. We got a 40 franc ticket, plus parking garage fees and ended up paying a LOT more than if we had simply chosen a better hotel.

The room itself was clean, but I can't say anything else good about it. The stairs smelled like a latrine and the main hall smelled like old spilled beer. The smaller hallways and room were hot and stuffy even tho the outside air was cool. We sooon found out why....no one opens the windows. You can't, without getting a full blast of sound from the revelry downstairs and out on the boardwalk.

We asked to be moved to a higher room and was told that the noise was be gone by 9pm, because it was a Sunday. We were also told that they didn't open the higher rooms unless the hotel was full - ease of housekeeping, I suppose. Between the bar below, the doors opening and closing on our floor, the footsteps above and boardwalk party, it was impossible to sleep thru. It was stuffy, smelly and 30c in our room. We had a choice of opening the window for air or keeping it closed to dull the din.

Don't stay here to save money - you won't. This place is only good if you happen to drink too much downstairs and can't get back home until you sober up.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

What we liked about this place
(1) Faces the river, amazing view from the room
(2) Located in central Lucern, heart of old town
(3) Walking distance from train station
(4) Walking distance from ferry ( to Mt Pitalus, Mt Rigi, Mt Titlis)
(5) Loads of local eating joints close by
(6) Clean room
(7) Very friendly and helpful staff
(8) Reasonably priced
(9) Free high speed internet
(10) Safe box in the room.

We came early, our luggage was accommodated while we waited for the room. Instead of a 24 hour reception, there is a pub downstairs that we checked into, asked directions and other questions from. The staff was always very helpful. My wife hurt her ankle and so I asked from a bread and butter to take into the room. The staff was genuinely concerned and did not charge for the bread and butter.

We communicated via email, even for booking at hotelpickwick@gastrag.ch, the hotel always responded within hours. The photographs at http://www.hotelpickwick.ch/ are a accurate representation of the place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TusharM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 67 in Lucerne
490 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#19 of 67 in Lucerne
601 reviews
0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mr. Pickwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Address: Rathausquai 6, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £99 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Pickwick is a popular tourist hotel and "Swiss lodge" approx. 600 Yards from the railway station. Located directly on the banks of the river Reuss, in the heart of the historical old town of Lucerne, the hotel commands a superd view of the world famous wooden "Kapell bridge". Very well maintained simple rooms with en-suite shower and WC, flat-screen TV, room-safe, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, and free WIFI. Most rooms have a small balcony overlooking the river. Every room is a "room with a view"!Breakfast is not included but we recommend a nearby restaurant (only a few steps away) that offers a great breakfast buffet.Parking: due to our location in the historical old town we recommend that you use the parking garage at the train stations (600 yards away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mr. Pickwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mr Pickwick
Mr Pickwick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing