We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed at Hotel Mr. Pickwicks with family this summer, the experience was great! The hotel couldn’t be located in a better place, in the heart of Lucerne with only 5 min walk to train station. From our hotel balcony we could sit and enjoy the amazing view of Mount Pilatus and the Chapel Bridge. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The pub downstairs has a great ambiance, with a nice selection of local and international beer and delicious pub food to be enjoyed by the riverside! For its reasonable price and fantastic location, we can only recommend the hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Poulsen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed with two adults and two kids the check in was easy with staff friendly.
Our room (201) was located over looking the river to lake with breathtaking views.

Everything is expensive in Lucerne so the 250 Frank we payed, now 270 for four people is reasonable.

You are above a pub, that is open until between 12 and 1. It has pub noise and each night is different. Night one talking noise only and bit louder at clean up. Night 2 loud mouth patron who loved to yell.

This was bearable, we had to close the windows, however we got up at 1am to open them again and slept well. It is very quiet in the morning so we slept in a little.

We would recommend this hotel, take into consideration the noise. You will never forget the views and the overall cleanliness etc is great.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Spectacular views from the rooms overlooking the water, with a view of the alps and Kappelbrucke. The staff were very friendly and upfront payment is very convenient. It is above an English pub and there was some noise but it was not bothersome (we stayed on Friday and Saturday night). The room was enormous and a good price for Switzerland. In room WiFi was included. Breakfast not included, and not available as the pub does not open until 11am. The hotel is very close to the train station, easily walkable in 5 minutes with suitcases.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the water. There was no extra cost and the view was spectacular; you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phoebe_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed 3 nights in the hotel, and could not have been happier with the experience. The room was large, very clean, and very quiet. Given that the pub is downstairs, I was afraid the room would be noisy, but it's very well insulated so the noise was at a minimum. The room looks out over the 14th century Kappelbrucke and the River Reuss towards the "new" town. Excellent views. Very friendly and helpful staff. I definitely would recommend Hotel Mr Pickwick to anyone wanting a good quality comfortable room in Luzern.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcastle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My wife and I spent one night here as our last night before leaving Switzerland to return home. The hotel is about a five minute walk from the train station which was nice. It is right on the river side overlooking the famous bridge. It couldn't be better located. We knew going into it that this was a room over a pub but liked the location and the price. They do not serve breakfast. The room is somewhat spartan but clean. The bath room is more than adequate. There are many fine restuarants in the area so finding a good meal close by is not a problem. We are giving this hotel an average rating after comparing it to other places we stayed at in Switzerland but we would definately stay there again because of the location and the good value. It is a go with the flow sort of place which suited out needs. The staff are all very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Get as high up in the building as you can to distance yourself from the pub crowd. We were on the 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cwhoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I stayed at this beautiful hotel in the centre of Luzern for 5 nights in early june and was impressed with the overall cleanliness of the room, the friendliness of the staff and the welcoming atmosphere of the pub below. I would recommend a stay at this hotel, whether for 1 night or longer, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyd1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Our family of 4 was able to stay in one room (4 beds). The location is fantastic for Lucerne. The rooms are very very basic though - no bells or whistles for sure. It was a bit odd to check into the hotel through the bartender, but no big deal - she was very nice to us during the check in process. There is no breakfast, but you do get 5 CHF off of breakfast at a hotel just up the street. The breakfast was just okay.

This hotel is nothing to get excited about -- but it's not that bad either. Very basic in the end.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swiss_Traveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz- Adults only
0.1 mi away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#43 of 67 in Lucerne
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mr. Pickwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Address: Rathausquai 6, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £109 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Pickwick is a popular tourist hotel and "Swiss lodge" approx. 600 Yards from the railway station. Located directly on the banks of the river Reuss, in the heart of the historical old town of Lucerne, the hotel commands a superd view of the world famous wooden "Kapell bridge". Very well maintained simple rooms with en-suite shower and WC, flat-screen TV, room-safe, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, and free WIFI. Most rooms have a small balcony overlooking the river. Every room is a "room with a view"!Breakfast is not included but we recommend a nearby restaurant (only a few steps away) that offers a great breakfast buffet.Parking: due to our location in the historical old town we recommend that you use the parking garage at the train stations (600 yards away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mr. Pickwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mr Pickwick
Mr Pickwick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing