We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location -- just across the bridge from the train station. The rooms overlook the river, with a beautiful view of town and the mountains. Nice room and bathroom. One of the few places we stayed in Switzerland that did NOT include breakfast. Very convenient to catch a bus to take you sightseeing or a boat for a lake cruise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DarDarTheRockStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

It is a nice hotel with the great location and view on the river. Very convenient to connect with transport. Just few steps from the main station.
Expensive as everything in Switzeland. There is no breakfast.
The rooms are simple.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ankosito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

First, let me say, I travel extensively and Lucerne is the MOST expensive city that I have ever visited. I have been on every Continent and seriously, this is the MOST expensive place ever! A cup of ! Originally, I had arranged to stay in a very expensive hotel, just around the corner from this property. My per night rate was increased dramatically, by the property, which caused me to look elsewhere. This is right one the lake, steps from the train station and famous sites, looking onto the water. It is a very European type of place with twists and turns but a great value. There is a bar below but the noise did not affect my stay. I was on the third floor. Small but cute and clean!

Room Tip: The higher up give better views but I am sure anythingwould be fine. They have elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maslandprodinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This nice hotel is located in one of the most beautiful parts of Luzern, opposite the Kapellbrücke / Chapel Bridge, the most famous landmark of the city. If you like to be astonished by fantastic views from your room... this is the right place to stay.

Customers can access to the hotel using the main door, trought the pub or using a secondary door in the back of the building. Free WIFI. Tea & Coffee facilities in the room. Good bathroom, very clean! Friendly staff... so, a good value and deal!!!

No breakfast included :( but there is a special discount offer to the customers of this hotel in other close hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Javi_Varela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A very limited hotel in terms of capabilities. Rooms were clean, but were very basic. Good shower, wireless and bed for a business trip of no more than one night. May I suggest to look for a different hotel option if you travel to Altdorf instead of this…

Room Tip: Select a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alvaro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Spent 2 nights at Hotel Mr Pickwick from 8-9 Oct. This is one of the better choice for hotel stay if you prefer to stay near the Main train station, just 5 mins walk to the hotel if you have 29" inch luggages to drag along, The other plus point it's just above Mr Pickwick pub downstairs if you enjoy to have a pint or 2 after spending a day gallivanting around Lucerne.

Nice view of the famous chapel bridge if you get a room facing the river with beautiful swans cruising up & down the river. Bed was awfully comfortable, plush and super clean. Our other couple friend had a room just next to us and both rooms had open balconies. so we could actually hop into each other balconies. We shared our bottles of wine sitting by the balcony while watching the world go by & planning the rest of Europe trip.

Checking in & out was a breeze, we booked through Booking.com which again was fast and hassle free.

Would recommend this hotel for your stay in Lucerne.

Room Tip: very close to Lucerne Train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JM070707Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Based on previous reviews, we chose this hotel for our stay in Lucerne. Very nice, helpful staff. Room extremely clean. Fantastic views, easy walk from train station and to all activities, shops and restaurants. We would stay again, highly recommended. Just wished the English breakfast on their menu was available for purchase earlier than 11:30am when they open for lunch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 66 in Lucerne
1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 66 in Lucerne
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 66 in Lucerne
1,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#13 of 66 in Lucerne
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mr. Pickwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Address: Rathausquai 6, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £95 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Pickwick is a popular tourist hotel and "Swiss lodge" approx. 600 Yards from the railway station. Located directly on the banks of the river Reuss, in the heart of the historical old town of Lucerne, the hotel commands a superd view of the world famous wooden "Kapell bridge". Very well maintained simple rooms with en-suite shower and WC, flat-screen TV, room-safe, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, and free WIFI. Most rooms have a small balcony overlooking the river. Every room is a "room with a view"!Breakfast is not included but we recommend a nearby restaurant (only a few steps away) that offers a great breakfast buffet.Parking: due to our location in the historical old town we recommend that you use the parking garage at the train stations (600 yards away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mr. Pickwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mr Pickwick
Mr Pickwick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing