We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value - Great views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Ranked #29 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Value - Great views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

This is a pub on the ground floor (great burgers by the way...). Our room was on the first floor (yet no noise whatsoever), had a long balcony with an amazing view! Big warm beds.
No-frills, very spacious room and prime location. Not impressed by dorm-style bathroom. Great price (especially in low season, it was the cheapest stay of our Europe trip, in what probably was the dearest place. Highly recommended if you're on a moderate budget.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    135
    34
    10
    11
See reviews for
55
105
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

I stayed at Pickwick in September of 2008. I was in a single room in a higher floor, 4th maybe. I would recommend getting as high as possible, as there is an English pub on the main floor. The location is great, it was a 10 minute walk from the train station. The views from my room were overlooking the lake and the gorgeous covered walkway bridge. The pub downstairs is a bit pricey, but it was a great place to watch footy. Some people I've seen review this place complained about the fact that the bartenders check you in to the hotel. I had to wait a little bit, but no biggee. Not worth complaining about. There is one computer in the lobby for internet, which is free. The room was basic, but did the job. The shared bathroom was clean. Somewhat annoying was a smoker who for some reason thought that they were hiding the smoke smells. All in all, good value, location, and access to pub food/drink.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2009

Sensational location with fantastic views of the Chapel Bridge from the room. It was just a five minute walk from the train station, so super convenient. The room was too small for our family of four, and while it was warm and clean enough, it was let down by a dodgy bathroom that seemed to be tacked on to the end of the room and wobbled a bit. Free internet was a plus, no breakfast was a minus. Staff were helpful and allowed us to leave our bags in the closed pub when we arrived too early to check-in. For a one-night stay, Hotel Mr Pickwick was OK value in a very expensive city.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank algrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canadian
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

I spent 2 nights at Hotel Mr. Pickwick in Jan 2009. I was fortunate enough to get a balcony room (what a nice surprise!) The check in process at the bar downstairs was painless (very good English spoken by employees). The internet access point was much appreciated for staying in touch with my family back home. The room was very neat and clean, reminding me of a university dorm room. The attached washroom had a roomy stand-up shower, a toilet and sink, towel bars, and a hair dryer! (that wasn't expected.) I felt safe staying there, and coming and going during the day/evening (good locks on doors).
This was my first trip to Europe, and my first stay in a "tourist hotel", and I was very impressed. Hotel Mr. PIckwick is indeed a very short walk from the train station, and from restaurants and cafes. I would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, safety
  • Disliked — Having to leave at end of vacation
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eagertraveller37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

As all the pictures say for themselves, this hotel's top selling point is its view-price combination. We stayed in a room with the lake view. Felt very privileged every time we looked out the windows and see the beautiful Luzern.

Our room was very clean and the en-suit shower room was clean as well. We also checked out the floor with shared WC/shower room and those were clean as well. So, if the next time the en-suit rooms are fully booked, we wouldn't mind using the shared ones.

We can't comment much on the hospitality... as we had minimal contact with the staffs. Once we checked in, they gave us a key which we can get in from the back of the building. To check out, you only have to drop the key in their box. The hotel doesn't serve breakfast.... But there are plenty of options around the area.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amaruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2008

Our four nights in Lucerne were absolutely wonderful. The location of the Hotel Pickwick is terrific. You are within easy walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The train station is around the corner and across a bridge--perhaps a five minute walk. The area felt very safe.

We found the check-in process to be easy and before long we were in our room. As in many places in Europe, our double room consisted of two single beds. However, in the Hotel Pickwick they were aligned top to bottom rather than side by side. Though a bit surprised by this, it wasn't a problem. (I think we could have paid a different price to have a category of room where the beds were side by side.) The beds were quite comfortable and the room was very clean. We had a wonderful view of the bridge. I appreciated that there were blinds that went over the window as well as curtains. This made the room very dark even during the day (helpful when we needed to sleep in late our first few nights after arriving in Europe).

The pub was made smoke-free earlier this year. It's a happening place in the evenings and we were surprised that we couldn't hear any noise from the pub in our room. The pub staff was very friendly and we heard from an American expat that they have the best burgers in Lucerne.

The hotel has a small coin-operated washer and dryer. It was so nice to have this right in the hotel! Also, there was a computer with access to the Internet in the lobby.

On Saturday mornings there is a farmers market along the riverfront. We enjoyed seeing the fresh produce and beautiful flowers for sale. The other side of the river has a flea market at the same time.

Our room rate did not include a breakfast but there were a few places nearby. We ate breakfast every day at the Hug Bakery-- delicious pastries and a nice view of the water.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank youngtravelerJJLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Pickwick in September 2008. The hotel is located right on the water with a picturesque view of the Alps. We were a little concerned when we realized the check in was in a pub (they own a restaurant and the hotel), but we couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. Location is great. Best view in the city. Large balcony. Clean. Good price. My only wish was that we booked more in advance. Our room was on the small side; they have much larger rooms but during the shoulder season they book fast. Recommend to those looking for a value.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eurovaca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#28 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mr. Pickwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Property: Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Address: Rathausquai 6, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Pickwick is a popular tourist hotel and "Swiss lodge" approx. 600 Yards from the railway station. Located directly on the banks of the river Reuss, in the heart of the historical old town of Lucerne, the hotel commands a superd view of the world famous wooden "Kapell bridge". Very well maintained simple rooms with en-suite shower and WC, flat-screen TV, room-safe, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, and free WIFI. Most rooms have a small balcony overlooking the river. Every room is a "room with a view"!Breakfast is not included but we recommend a nearby restaurant (only a few steps away) that offers a great breakfast buffet.Parking: due to our location in the historical old town we recommend that you use the parking garage at the train stations (600 yards away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mr. Pickwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mr Pickwick
Mr Pickwick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing