We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contiki Tour "Cultural Experience"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jailhotel Loewengraben
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Contiki Tour "Cultural Experience"”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I’m shocked to say that the Jailhotel Loewengraben was actually a decent hotel! Compared to our 3 previous stops in Italy (feel free to check out my other reviews), this was almost a 5* experience!

The rooms were what we expected – a standard cot. Other than that, I couldn’t really complain. Not the most comfortable ‘bed’, but we slept well. The room was spacious. The bathroom was something like an IKEA addition – it was very small but it worked. Clearly there never were washrooms in each “cell” so the washrooms are more modernized. It took a little bit of getting used to the step in/out of the washroom so I usually stumbled out!

We had breakfast and dinner at the Jailhotel and they both were excellent! We had a great assortment of breakfast options and for dinner we had a nice salad, lasagna, and dessert.

Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    63
    108
    97
    160
See reviews for
53
128
48
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Visited this hotel whilst on a contiki tour. The hallways and rooms are trivial at first, the excitement last for about 10-15 minutes. Then the reality kicks in. There are only stairs, so hope that you're not put on the 3rd floor. The rooms are tiny and yes, they still look like jail cells which can be creepy at times. We went during summer and it was stinking hot in the room, there was barely a window so there was not much relief from there. The meals were horrible, the chicken we got for dinner was not cooked through so a lot of us left it and had to go looking elsewhere for food (try soul chicken across the road!). The only positive was that it was about a 5-10 minute walk into the town which was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jareth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lucerne hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

From the reviews I read on here I was expecting it to be a total pigsty. However, on arrival lobby was very neat room was perfectly clean and it actually smelled like fresh paint, wifi was terrible however.
It wasn't as creepy as I thought it'd be which was nice but still not great to walk around by oneself haha.
Dinner was good! Weird desert that was trying to be crime caramel but just didn't quite get there.

In saying this there was a definite room difference/quality. My friend and I had a twin on second floor that was like you see in the pictures. 2 beds, basic bathroom etc. but my other two friends had a room on first floor that was v. Snazzy and done up with modern bathroom, fancy bunk beds etc. and couple rooms also varied greatly depending what floor you were on.

Overall though it's in a good location that's near to two

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here because it was the least expensive accomadation with a private bathroom in Lucerne. We opted to spend our $ on lake trips and funicular/cable car visit to Mount Pilatus.

This accomadation is definately 'bare bones' but after all it was a jail. Switzerland is one of the most expensive places to visit (our 3rd time to Lucerne and probably our last) so we saved a few francs by staying here.

I think the staff changed our towels in error after the first night as they never entered our room again until we left.

The room was functional and we were able to open the window but this is a spartan room - not even a water glass and no hooks for hanging clothing! The single beds were adequate. Although the shower is tiny the hot water and pressure were great

The breakfast was ok with the usual cold meats and cheeses and the rolls and croissants were quite good however the coffee machine did not function one morning and the staff person did not know how to get it up and running.

There is a Co-Op grocery store right across the street so you can p/u snacks and drinks.

If you opt to stay here you save $ for other expenses and enjoy the 'ambience'.

I did not like the fact they levied a 'swipe charge ' of 4 francs to pay by CC - kind of 'cheesy'.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVE b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This place is HORRIBLY overpriced, first off. Location is good and the concept is... humerous but that's about the only benefit of this place. Rooms were tiny, creepy and had absolutely no amenities. Literally just a bed and a bathroom. Only a tiny window, so high up you couldn't access it or enjoy any light from it. No idea why people continue to go here. If you want to spend a night in the isolation room of a jail it'd be more economical to just commit a crime.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Well, if I could select zero stars I would! We stayed here as part of a tour, it was disgraceful. As a couple, we got separate single beds, with the mattresses being a slab of foam. There was no ventilation in the room apart from a tiny window. It was hot and stinky, there are some sort of pipes running being the bed heads making the room even hotter. There wasn't even enough room to put out suitcases anywhere. The staff were no help what so ever. My partner went to ask for an extra pillow, and was greeted with "no we don't have any".

I would not recommend this one to anybody.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eelboy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Our room smelled/reaked of urine, the trash was overflowing (how would you forget to empty the trash prior to a guest arriving?!), it was difficult to even open the window with it being so high up, the floor was dirty, the food was ABSOLUTELY awful - cold - flavorless - cold. Location is the only thing this place has going for it, but id much rather stay farther out and get a cab. I've stayed at many hostels before, but this place is just awful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cait717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.7 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#33 of 68 in Lucerne
1,530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
#26 of 68 in Lucerne
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Falken - Luzern
Hotel Falken - Luzern
#65 of 68 in Lucerne
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#14 of 68 in Lucerne
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhotel Loewengraben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhotel Loewengraben

Property: Jailhotel Loewengraben
Address: Loewengraben 18, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhotel Loewengraben 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jailhotel Loewengraben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhotel Loewengraben Lucerne
Jailhotel Loewengraben Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing