We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying here, bad idea!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jailhotel Loewengraben

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jailhotel Loewengraben
Ranked #66 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Staying here, bad idea!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Welcome to jailhouse hostel! Hostel accomadation at hotel prices. The rooms are very small and badly put together light fixtures coming off the walls, bathroom glass doors cracked and glass shards all over the floor. Only one staff member had a brain the rest impossible to deal with.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    63
    108
    96
    160
See reviews for
53
128
48
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Simple, you sleep in an old jail, expect the same comfort a prisoner had back in the day. There is nothing exciting about the rooms, other than it use to be an old jail.

However, I must say, I've slept in worse in places when I was in Italy, so don't get to fussy.

There is no tv, but let's face it, if your travelling from overseas, you can't understand half the stuff on tv here anyway.

Rooms appeared clean, no sign of these so called bed bugs that everyone is whining about.

Service was good, asked for extra pillows and received them. Wifi worked from our room on floor 2, but only just.

Good concept, in the middle of the city. But something I'd be happy to only do once.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon County, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

It's was a great time. 1st we had a room with a bad odor. We couldn't stomach it. We went down and explained and they gave us a new room. Yes, it's a jail, yes it was tiny. But, it was clean. We had a bunk bed room for three. So really no room. But, we invited our other friends in our room and told ghost stories and had such an amazing time. The wifi was terrible, but over all I can't fault this hotel! It was great.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

GOOD:
- fantastic location to explore Old Town on foot and for short stays
- about 10-minute walk to train station and boat ticketing window
- the room was clean (stayed in a 2-bed room with a bath cubicle, #201) and didn't experience bugs or any other creatures.
- stayed alone in a 2-bed room so I had more space for my stuff
- coffee / beverage machines in hallways for a fee
- mattress was comfortable even though it appeared to be rather thin
- staff was courteous

BAD:
- WiFi doesn't work in a room, very weak signal otherwise, it worked slowly in the sitting area at the reception and on the couch outside reception. People gathered around this area to catch a signal and it gets a bit crowded as there are only a few places to sit (depends on occupancy at a time of your stay)
- room is not functional. I would seriously consider another, more expensive or further location if I were to stay longer than 2-4 days unless I'd travel on a seriously low budget. No shelves, hangers, hooks, closets, not to mentioned lockers. If you travel with a backpack and room is fully occupied, it must be inconvenient and claustrophobic. I was glad to stay on my own. There was one electric socket in a working condition. Towels were provided. Sink was located outside a bathroom cubicle in the room. Bathroom cubicle is small but does its job (shower and toilet). Doors to the bathroom were not locking properly though.
- No curtain in a window / no privacy - there are either apartments or offices across the street so if you're changing or walking out of the shower in the evening, you may have no privacy.
- Rooms facing the street may get noisy in AM. Recycling trucks pick up empty bottles early in AM and I had a "pleasure" of waking up to quite a bit of noise.

NEUTRAL:
- it's an old building with wide hallways that echo everything so be ready for some noise made by guests coming in and out of their rooms. Personally, it didn't bother be much but it may be a nuisance to you.
- breakfast buffet for 15 Swiss franks. If you're super hungry and have money to spend, I'd say go for it. Otherwise, skip it!
- the hotel has a 100% jail feel and that's how they're marketing it. It may be creepy for some, too simple for others and amazing for somebody else. So assess your expectations before you book.
- lounge/club next door - I stayed during the week and didn't use it but heard it can get loud on weekends.

I'm giving 3 starts strictly for the location and room cleanliness. I'd consider staying there again for a couple of days even though room decor and functionality don't bring the best memories.

Room Tip: Room facing back may be less noisy. It's a real jail experience so assess your expectations bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyInes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

As the name itself, it a hotel that looks like a jail. But don't worry, it is worth the experience. We came from Munich using our Day 1 Eurail pass. The Luzern train station is just one bus station ride or you can walk if you don't carry heavy luggage. Our mistake is that we took a taxi for 20 Euros so that back to our next destination we took the bus. The hotel is nearby shops and we were lucky to eat rice in a small restaurant nearby during our stay.

Room Tip: keep your windows close when you change your clothes because its too close to the windows of the hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7106MJayR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel was a little creepy for me, small room, two small beds and the bathroom, which was built in after and looks like a shack had a stand up shower. The rooms have "codes" that you punch in to get in, heavy doors, dark long empty hallways...just very eerie. The mattresses were thin foamy ones, and there were bugs all around the floor. I was grossed out, thank god it was only one night as part of my Contiki Tour. The lobby provides free internet so that was a plus I guess. Its definitely a different "experience" or whatever if thats your type of thing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvMat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lucerne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.7 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#35 of 69 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Falken - Luzern
Hotel Falken - Luzern
#64 of 69 in Lucerne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#32 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Himmelrich
Hotel Himmelrich
#5 of 6 in Kriens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pension Rosli
Hotel Pension Rosli
#57 of 69 in Lucerne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
#28 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhotel Loewengraben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhotel Loewengraben

Property: Jailhotel Loewengraben
Address: Loewengraben 18, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhotel Loewengraben 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Jailhotel Loewengraben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhotel Loewengraben Lucerne
Jailhotel Loewengraben Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing