We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cool Experience, But Not My Favorite Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jailhotel Loewengraben
Ranked #65 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Let me start off by saying, there are no elevators, pack a day bag and leave your larger bags elsewhere if you can. If you are on Contiki, this is especially important since the bus cannot drive up to the hotel and you have to lug your bags across the city. The bathroom is rather small, but was clean and efficient. The wifi was down while we were there which was unfortunate. The window in our room could not be opened and we didn't want to sleep with the door open because of the automatic lights in the hall, so we were a bit warm. This hotel gets pitch black. Bring your phone or a small flashlight if you have issues with the dark. The hallways have automatic lights that sometimes go off and you have to find the right spot to kick them back on. The rooms are extremely dark if you turn off the light, like cannot see your hand in front of your face, and there aren't many other options. Oddly enough, it was the best nights sleep I had the entire time I was in Europe. The food was pretty decent (we had dinner at the hotel). There is a pretty cook bowling alley and arcade right next door and it is within walking distance to city center and some great shopping. Also, if you get a chance to get fondue, it is absolutely amazing! Just check the prices, the first place we went to was insanely expensive, but we found another place a little bit further away that was much more reasonable. Overall, I'm really glad we stayed here because I can say I stayed in a jail in Switzerland, but I don't know that I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetMelissa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Unique hotel,really fun! It's my first time for staying in the jail! Unforgettable moments.. I stayed two nights in this hotel with my friends.. At first i thought it was creepy but we love it! The bathroom is small but it's clean and they provide the amenities.i really enjoy my sleep there

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fisiana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Pros: super clean I mean spotless!, cool concept, walking distance to anything in town, clean bath and bed, nice staff, good breakfast.
cons: if you stay in a cell and not a suite there is no power source for plugging camera or phone...it is an old jail :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheChipperCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was really cool staying in the old Jailhouse. They decorate the hotel really nicely, the rooms are painted all white and has a tiny bathroom. The walkways and entrances are really cool as well. In the hotel there are facts about the old jail and how it used to be. I thought it was really cool staying here. The facilities are really clean and you are given what you need. I was perfect and something new and different.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hi we stayed here for few hours while coming from jungfrou on the way to titlus it is located near the station in the corner of main shopping area .The rooms were with the feel of a jail having a very small bathroom and a small ventilation we were so tired that we just start snoring in few min as we had to leave early we hardly stayed 8 hours in the place . i will only recomend itfor the people who want a felling of an old swiss jail or you dont get a room somewhere else

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunangadsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Welcome to jailhouse hostel! Hostel accomadation at hotel prices. The rooms are very small and badly put together light fixtures coming off the walls, bathroom glass doors cracked and glass shards all over the floor. Only one staff member had a brain the rest impossible to deal with.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Simple, you sleep in an old jail, expect the same comfort a prisoner had back in the day. There is nothing exciting about the rooms, other than it use to be an old jail.

However, I must say, I've slept in worse in places when I was in Italy, so don't get to fussy.

There is no tv, but let's face it, if your travelling from overseas, you can't understand half the stuff on tv here anyway.

Rooms appeared clean, no sign of these so called bed bugs that everyone is whining about.

Service was good, asked for extra pillows and received them. Wifi worked from our room on floor 2, but only just.

Good concept, in the middle of the city. But something I'd be happy to only do once.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Miles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#43 of 67 in Lucerne
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#31 of 67 in Lucerne
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz- Adults only
0.0 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 67 in Lucerne
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhotel Loewengraben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhotel Loewengraben

Address: Loewengraben 18, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: £113 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhotel Loewengraben 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jailhotel Loewengraben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhotel Loewengraben Lucerne
Jailhotel Loewengraben Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing