We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must staying place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must staying place”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have just returned from visiting the heavenly city Luzern of Switzerland. Stayed in a Hotel which could be best at its location if one visits Luzern. Standing on the bank of Lake Luzern, the heart of the city, The Radisson BLU Lucerne Hotel should be the best choice for a traveler who seeks tranquility. As a matter of fact Luzern is a small town embodied with all sorts of natural beauties ranging from Lake, Greenery and Mountains. In a nut shell Luzern is one of the few Heavens on Earth.

Having such wonderful surrounding, staying in Radisson BLU Hotel, Lucerne may disappoint the travelers. The services are quite noncontinuous at least for the Asian travelers who usually expect a hospitality to its extreme at a rated Hotel. There is no Bell Boy or any assistance to carry your luggage to or from rooms. No potable water is available in the rooms. The most weird thing is that the Hotel itself is over hanged on a adjacent rail track.

Though the rooms are well equipped with necessary FF&E but the toilet is made of full glass with three fixtures. One needs to jump on the bath tub for shower sprinkling water all over the toilet. The Hotel has limited number of Restaurants and doesn't serve any room service 24/7.

As a whole, staying in Radisson BLU Hotel, Lecerne with regard to the room tariff would be a painful experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustapha Khalid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Conzelmann, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guest thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry that you are feeling like this about our hotel. It is not always easy to meet all the expectations of our guests but certainly we will take your rating to heart and work on the points you mentioned above. Nevertheless we hope you had a wonderful time in Lucerne and you will visit this city again. Best regards. M. Conzelmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    480
    173
    42
    28
See reviews for
227
475
30
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I spent 2 night in this hotel. Very close to Lucerne central station. Walking distance also to the famous shopping arcade and travel spot destination in Lucerne. The breakfast is awesome, especially for vegetarian. A lot of healthy food choices. The room is spacious. Quiet surrounding. A good choice for either business traveler or holiday visitor.

Room Tip: I didn't notice whether there is a swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DionWidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Conzelmann, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for taking your time to rate us on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you liked the two nights you stayed here at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne. The whole team is always aiming to make every stay at our hotel perfect and to get a positive feedback motivates us even more to improve our "Yes I can" Service. We hope we can welcome you here again very soon. Kind regards M. Conzelmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My review below is based as a business cum leisure trip traveller, so will try to cover both the facets, the good the bad & the ugly if any.

1. LOCATION is very good but depends on what you want ; if you are a tourist who wants to live closer to action, go to the old town side on the other side of the lake but don't miss the lake front.

If you want a place next to the railway station, this is where you should be, but always ensure you get the lake facing room. Since it is a very small city, one can walk over to the old town in 10 minutes.

It's a quiet place, with a good outdoor restaurant ; restaurant I say good because of the location purely, nothing more.

2. FOOD quality is nothing great to talk about. I sense a possible improvement area here ; breakfast spread is very dull, very surprising looking at the room charges they command.

It was tourist season & the place was fully occupied with all kinds of nationalities ; I guess they tried to satisfy all kinds of tastes for Chinese, Americans, Indians, Japanese etc. but lost the plot.

3. The place looked very business kind but had a huge tourist population mostly groups.

4. Beware of the robotic methods of check in times especially during heavy tourist season ; I reached at 8 am due to a early flight connection ; I could see huge group checkouts but could manage a room only around 2pm for which I do acknowledge their support but I sense they could be far better in this area.

5. Staff is very good, friendly, can speak English very well & rest assured of their support always ; the restaurant staff could be seen wanting with their smiles probably due to increased loads but a smile costs nothing I guess !

Beside a few improvement areas listed above I see only positives all around ; next time I am on business travel I would like to stay there again but if am on leisure purely I may look for another option.

Room Tip: Lake facing are the best !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaiSiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Conzelmann, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for this extensive rating of the Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne. It's a pleasure to see that you took your time to give a honest feedback. We are always eager to improve our services and for this reason it's very important to have guests who show us the positive as well as the negative side. We will sure take your review to heart and give our best to improve the negative points you mentioned. We hope to welcome you here again very soon! Kind regards M. Conzelmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Hotel is a just a small walk from the train station and is located in the quiet part of the city. The surroundings consists of business districts and offices.
The room size was the biggest we had in our stay in Switzerland and the bathroom was excellent.
The interior of the room had clean lines and sedate colours, Looked perfect if you are on a business trip. For Holidays the opinion is divided. No balconies, nothing ornate, competent service but lacked personal interaction, still the professional service and the size of room is a good reason to choose this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pranav_GoelI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Conzelmann, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to rate us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne. Sometimes it is not easy to meet all the expectations of our guests and as we are predominantly a business hotel also the interior is concentrated on this sector. Nevertheless we try to comply with all the wishes of our guests and we aim to make every stay at our hotel something special. Kind regards M. Conzelmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for two nights. Room good, it was quiet, the bed was comfortable and the hotel was situated within easy walk of the lake and the city. The breakfast buffet was o.k. but we did not like the amount of children messing about around the food and taking things the putting them back because they'd seen something they preferred - not hygenic. Then at lunch time we went to look at the lunch menu and found all the breakfast food stuffs still out on the buffet - ug. We opted to have something from the bar menu, which was hot and freshly cooked, which was tasty. If it hadn't been for the fact we were waiting for transport for an onward journey and it was 38 C outside we would have gone elsewhere to have lunch. As Breakfast finished at 11.30 you would think that by 1.30 all the breakfast buffet would have been cleared away and the area cleaned. As for the containers of sausages still being kept warm at that time heaven only knows how many bacteria were multiplying by then.

Room Tip: 5th floor, non smoking, quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathlyn171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Conzelmann, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for rating the Radisson Blu Hotel Lucerne. It's always important for us to get some honest feedbacks we can work on. We are sorry to hear that you couldn't enjoy your lunch at our restaurant. Our brunch buffet on Sunday is usually open until 14:00 o'clock so maybe this was the reason the food hadn't been brought away yet? On some busy days it can occur that a few guests chose to sit a little bit longer so that we extend the breakfast time for some minutes. As a matter of course we are always adhering to regulations in terms of hygiene and we have specific rules of how long food can be kept outside. We can ensure you that our food is impeccable at any time. Nevertheless we hope you had a wonderful time in Lucerne and it would be a pleasure to have you here again soon so that we can convince you of our best service qualities. Kind regards. M. Conzelmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
464 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel was booked as a package by Viking River Cruises and would not have been our choice. That said it was functional, clean and worked well enough for a 3 day stay.
It is soulless and you could be staying anywhere. White modern furniture (like IKEA/ 1960s Habitat) in the bedrooms - slightly used feel to things and mean bath towels.
Good nights sleep though and it had all the basics you need - kettle, ironing board and iron, largish wet room (can be slippery), hairdryer in room not in bathroom. We had no view but quiet enough.
Breakfast fine though not lavish. Bar area and restaurant have no character - open plan style dining at its American worst - would have much preferred one of the older Swiss hotels.

Room Tip: Try to be in bedroom away from railway sidings. Eat out in evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Conzelmann, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guest
We are very sorry that you feel that way about our Hotel. The Radisson Blu Hotel Lucerne positions itself as a stylish and modern hotel with comfortable décor. The furniture in our Lobby was designed by the Italian designer house Moroso and stands out due to its fresh colors. But we are aware of this being a matter of taste and we hope that you had a wonderful stay despite of not liking the interior. Our team is always trying to give their best and we hope you had the chance to experience our Yes I can service. Best regards. M.Conzelmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This very chic hotel is well placed for the lake, but a good few mins walk round the back of the railway station and near a school - not as good at night. Be aware that tour buses can deliver coaches of passengers at late hours if you are a light sleeper. Good to have dark blinds.

Great food and choice at breakfast. Service a bit aloof.

Spa lovely but pool too cold for swimming - as was chiller room!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine B, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for taking your time to rate our hotel. Sometimes it is not easy to meet all the expectations of our clients and being well situated in the heart of the city there is always the risk that you hear some traffic in the evening. Nevertheless we hope you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne with its unique design and we would be more than happy to welcome you here again, so that we get a second chance to convince you of our best Yes I can - attitude. Kind regards M. Conzelmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#20 of 68 in Lucerne
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
888 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.2 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#13 of 68 in Lucerne
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
Address: Lakefront Center Inseliquai 12, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#11 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#16 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at this Lucerne hotel enjoy the best of both indoors and out, with comfortable accommodation overlooking the banks of Lake Lucerne. At the Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne, choose from 189 comfortable rooms and suites with thoughtful amenities, including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. All rooms feature stunning views of either the lake below or the soaring Alps in the distance. Dine on exceptional cuisine at the on-site LUCE Restaurant, and be sure to pay a visit to the LUCE Wine Lounge to sample the expansive list of delicious wines. This Lucerne accommodation also offers a fitness centre and sauna as well as flexible meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Rezidor, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne Hotel Lucerne
Radisson Lucerne
Lucerne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing