We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Lucerne B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Cute”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

2 Star , 4/10
B&B but in a lot of ways like a hostell.
Seemed very popular with Families, who book out a whole floor to avoid the bathroom sharing.
In a quiet neighbourhood, but street parking only.
Most rooms have common facilities , toilets , dinning room etc
The land lady was nice and the service good but she was over worked.
Nice simple breakfast.
Our loft had Air conditioning and upstairs our own little lounge and a king sized bed with pretty good pillows plus seperate shower and toilet down stairs connected by an attick ladder / steep stairs.

Room Tip: If you want some private facilities go for the loft and get your own bathroom just mind your had on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    63
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
65
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

I dropped in and was greeted by Madeleine who was very warm and friendly. The B&B is very close to zentrum, only 20 minute walk and is charming, cozy and a lovely place to stay. Unfortunately, I did not have a reservation and the B&B was full, but Madeleine phoned other hotels and secured a room for me across town. Then Madeleine drove me across town (and I followed in my car) to ensure I arrived there safely. Now that is what I call 5 star service, just amazing. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B... next time I'll make the reservation in advance!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

The bnb is set in a residential area, which was a plus for us to be away from the bustle of hotels in cities for a few days and it was a very easy 15 minute walk to the centre of Luzern. From booking to leaving, the staff were absolutely amazing - what a credit to any business to have people like this employed! Thank you Simone, Andrea and Evelyn plus a thank you to Isabelle for making booking easy.
We had the attic room, which had private facilities and a bit of space with a lounge. The gardens were lovely, we sat outside on each night that we stayed and enjoyed a few drinks and snacks after our busy days (plus a game or two of cards and soem great chats with the girls there). Great spot to unwind. A bonus is that there are several restaurants / cafes within easy walking distance.
Would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deejay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights and found the the location and the staff to be excellent. Simone was extremely helpful in sorting out our carparking arragements and tickets to Mt Pilatus. The room we had was on the ground floor next to the main entrance and dining room, so we had to deal with noise from people walking around coming and going, plus the floors creaked badly. The room was large and clean but the mattress on the bed was due for a replacement, as it had terrible "roll together". The location was perfect with a bus stop close by, but we walked to the main center in about 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms upstairs away from the entrance and dining room, to ensure a quieter nights sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed here in August , a party of 5 so we had two rooms on the top floor . The staff were very friendly and always helpful . Surroundings were lovely and very quiet at night . You cud catch the bus into the town if u like but we chose to walk as it is so pretty and the weather was wonderful, only took about 20 mins so good exercise when your on hols. Rooms and bathroom were very clean and tidy and we sat out in the garden a couple of time and had a coffee which was very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesp49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

This has got to be one of the best values in Lucerne. We stayed in the attic room and were pleasantly surprised with how charming they were able to make an attic.

We were greeted by the extremely friendly Simone who gave us directions, made us dinner reservations, and generally seemed quite eager for us to make the most of Lucerne. The location is a 10-15min very safe walk from Old Town, and a 2min walk from the nearest bus stop. Very convenient while still being removed from the touristy areas. Breakfast was varied and plentiful (cereals, cold cuts, cheese, pastries- be sure to try the homemade bread & jams, which were delicious), and they even have a fancy espresso machine that whipped me up two cappuccinos. Score.

As other reviewers have noted, there are two long flights of stairs up to the door of the attic room... and another (steep & narrow) staircase between the room's bathroom and sleeping area. If you have mobility issues, this isn't the room for you. If you sleepwalk, this isn't the room for you- I had to step carefully walking down to the restroom when I first woke up. If neither applies to you, you will love the attic room and the B&B in general, both of which are warm & welcoming. The attic room had very capable air conditioning, and two of the windows swing open, if you'd prefer the breeze. Note that a nearby church sounds its chimes relatively early... if you don't find that sort of thing charming, keep the windows closed, and you'll hardly notice. The attic room also has a tv and sitting area.

Overall, a great find in Lucerne!

Room Tip: The charming attic room is worth the walk up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spendyourdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Simone was an absolute treat! Very friendly and made us feel welcome on our first night in Europe! Good start to a good trip. Rooms are very comfortable. Bathrooms are clean. Location good - near to the station and a nice walk from the town centre. We'll definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenaC153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#35 of 68 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#33 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Bed and Breakfast
Address: Taubenhausstrasse 34, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b&b
The Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing