We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, plentiful Italian food!”

Restaurant La Cucina
Ranked #8 of 441 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$52
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Pizza & PastaLa Cucina is the city’s premier Italian restaurant, delivering delicious Italian cuisine including home-made pasta e pizza and great wines in a welcoming Mediterranean environment.
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We had a nice dinner at La Cucina. The food was delicious and well prepared. The restaurant had a nice energy to it and was full of people enjoying a nice evening out. Large portions. Knowledgable wait staff. Excellent wine. Great dinner!

1  Thank aloha25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear aloha25

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at restaurant La Cucina and thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that we could convince you with our food quality and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 108 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

I really enjoyed dishes, tasted good, presentation was nice, wine was also nice, small portion but I would have expected a bit more warm waiters attitude. Restaurant was full that may explain the speedy attention.

1  Thank didier c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear didier c

Thank you very much for your visit and your feedback. We are happy that we could convince you with our food quality and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

After a day on the mountain we found this pearl. The best pizza for many years, efficient and friendly service, beautiful dining room and tiramisu from heaven. A true gem!

2  Thank Benlundstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Benlundstrom

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at restaurant La Cucina and thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Having read all the reviews on trip advisor before we left for our trip I could not wait to have dinner at La Cucina. The room we ate in was lovely and would have been romantic except for the poor acoustics. The noise level was quite high. Also it seemed as though the waiters were rushing around and seemed somewhat stressed out. Our waiter was friendly and efficient and the vegetable risotto was good. However we felt the food was average and the prices quite high even for Switzerland. All in all somewhat disappointing.

Thank Rockport4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Rockport4

We thank you for your visit and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies. We hope you grant us another chance in order to convince you!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

We went here based on the restaurant’s high TA rating. The concierge from our hotel secured ‪8:30‬ reservations for us on a busy ‪Saturday night‬. When we arrived promptly on time, we were asked to wait at the bar while our table was cleared and set up. While we waited for about 5 minutes, we saw two tables for two already set but instead were seated at what seemed to be a table for four with another younger couple sitting there. They appeared to be annoyed (as were we) at having someone seated so close. They listened to our entire order and conversation with the waiter. Luckily they soon finished their colas and left. We nudged the table a bit further away but soon another couple “joined us.”

As if the proximity to other diners wasn’t bad enough, the service was extremely slow. Our waiter was very friendly but it took a really long time to get menus. Drinks took longer and by the time our appetizer finally arrived, the apertifs were finished. We ordered a bottle of wine that was so-so and from experience, rather overpriced.

The disappointing part was the food. The bread basket was cold and the small amount of pre-poured olive oil and basalmic vinegar was gone with one slice of bread. My husband said his ravioli with mushrooms was okay but the Penne Alla Vodka that I ordered was terrible. The pasta was cooked al denti however the sauce tasted exactly like canned Chef Boyardee spaghetti O’s. Nothing like the boastful web site’s claims of “both the ambience and the delicacies served here make a visit to Tuscany practically unnecessary.” It was so loud inside, we could barely hear each other when we spoke!

When we told the concierge about our experience, her reply was, “she would not have recommended this restaurant.”

Our conclusion was that this restaurant is probably better suited for the younger beer and pizza crowd or those who rely on Yelp more than TripAdvisor.

Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant La Cucina also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Restaurant La Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing