We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Asia in 🇨🇭”

Restaurant Thai Garden
Ranked #28 of 433 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$158
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The freshness and the refined aromas of Far Eastern cuisine arguably reach their pinnacle with Royal Thai cuisine. It's no surprise that Thai cooking takes top spot in Asian cuisine, and you will discover this culinary experience full of unique quality and authenticity at the Restaurant Thai Garden for yourself. You'll feel as if you are in the King's Palace in Bangkok with the stylish Thai interior through to the attentive service and skilfully prepared delicacies. Many foodies actually consider the Thai Garden the best Thai restaurant in Switzerland. It is not without reason that the Thai Garden has been awarded 14 points by Gault Millau.
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

A spontaneous visit after 4 years but again: all is best
To be recommended and repeated
Consider that each course is very generous, so don't order too much: being 4 it is advisable to a order each a first and share 2 mains.
Excellent

1  Thank Remoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Restaurant Thai Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Remoli

We would like to thank you for your visit at restaurant Thai Garden and for your positive feedback.

We are happy that we could convince you with our food quality and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017

My family had recently visited the restaurant. The food is indeed excellent and our waiter did a good job. Nevertheless we waited extremely long time for the main course (more than 45 min) to come. When we complained to the manager he debated with us instead of finding a solution.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Gil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Restaurant Thai Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Gil B

Thank you very much for your visit at restaurant Thai Garden and your feedback. We are happy that we could convince you with our food quality. Nevertheless, we are very sorry that the service did not go that smoothly at your table and we did not fully satisfy your expectations concerning your issues.

We offer our sincere apologies and hope you grant us another chance in order to convince you of our good service standard!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

I can not find my review, hence need to write again to share my experience, especially for the people who plan to visit this restaurant with baby.

I was there last week with my family and friends and the six month old boy. To keep the baby quite, I have to stand up and hugged him in my arm a little bit. The baby has laughed a while.

Later the restaurant manager came to us and said: "this is a nice restaurant and not everyone would like to pay as much as you. You can not walk around with the baby".

We have called to reserve the table. If the restaurant do not welcome guests with baby, they should not take our reservation.

I could understand the complain from the other couple guest. But this restaurant has two floors and the upper floor is very quiet. What the manager should do is to separate the room for different kinds of guests from the very beginning but not to speak something like that.

I have complained to another lady there, she said she was sorry, she will talk with her manager. Unfortunately, the restaurant manager did not show up again. No feedback at all.

4  Thank Swiss_yoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

After living nearly 3 years in Switzerland, we'd given up trying to find a decent Thai restaurant. But thankfully we came across this amazing restaurant. The food is amazing. We have high standards for Thai food.....we're Australian (which has amazing Asian food) and travelled in Thailand. This is some of the best Thai food we have experienced, and the decor is amazing. Felt like we were in an upmarket restaurant in Thailand. The lady playing traditional Thai music was a great touch. There was a great atmosphere. Yes the food is expensive, but even average food in restaurants in Switzerland is expensive, so I'd rather spend extra for an amazing place. Definitely worth the splurge. We'll definitely be back.

3  Thank Naomi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Restaurant Thai Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Naomi G

Thank you very much for your visit at restaurant Thai Garden and your wonderful feedback. We are pleased that we were able to convince you especially with our service and quality of our Asian food. Praise like yours shows us that we are on the right track and motivates us to get better and better.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again at the restaurant Thai Garden!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

This is a high end restaurant from many points of view; prices, decor, quality of service and most importantly quality of food.
It's a bit hidden on the side of the Astoria hotel and underground so if you didn't know about it you probably wouldn't find it. I've been there several times and never been disappointed.
The service is a combination of Swiss efficiency and Thai charm. The Thai decor includes a musician continuously playing a stringed instrument and the tables are well spaced.
For starters we usually go for the Thai garden sampling and then enjoy a good Thai curry. The duck and Thai aubergine green curry is excellent, especially if you like spicy food.
They have a really good selection of wines from all around the world, the majority being French. There are a couple really interesting older Bordeaux wines at reasonable prices for those older vintages.
Certainly the best Thai in Lucerne, just be ready to pay the price for it.

1  Thank irkbylihp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Restaurant Thai Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear irkbylihp

We would like to thank you for your visit at restaurant Thai Garden and for your positive feedback. Praise like yours shows us that we are on the right track and motivates us to get better and better.

We would love to welcome you soon back at restaurant Thai Garden!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Thai Garden also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Restaurant Thai Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing