We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beds are horrendous”
Review of Beau-Rivage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
477 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“The beds are horrendous”
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

This is a strange review. The hotel is all class - impeccable service, friendly & efficient staff, and the location on the lake is unsurpassed. The bedrooms are large and spacious, with equally large and spacious bathrooms. The meeting and convention service is top class too. So I have to wonder why they spoil it all with rock hard, springless mattresses and flat pillows on the bed? Why be premium at all levels and then be totally poor on the most important aspect of a hotel i.e. sleep quality. I spent 3 nights there and managed about 7 hours of sleep, constantly waking up with sore hips, a stiff neck and an aching back. Given that the major hotel chains are competing on the comfort of mattresses and sleep quality, this 5-star hotel has dramatically fallen behind.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing the Beau-Rivage Hotel for your recent stay in Neuchâtel and for having taken the time to share your thoughts with us.

We are glad to read that many of our services and facilities have met or even exceeded your expectations but this does not occult your non satisfaction regarding the sleep quality.

We are sorry to read your disappointment and be assured that your remarks have been duly taken into account. Moreover we encourage our guest to signal any inconvenient they may encounter during their stay, has we aim to react as fast as possible to provide the best comfort as possible.

Looking forward to welcoming you back, please do not hesitate to contact me personally and be sure that no effort will be spared to make this new experience purely enjoyable.

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    75
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
100
7
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I stayed in Beau-Rivage Hotel at Neuchatel beginning of 2013; this was not my first stay at this nice hotel, where the service and staff are excellent. I had a nice rooom with a view to Neuchatel Lake, and a comfortable bed. Free wi-fi internet connections for both my iphone and laptop, and fast internet of Switzerland were very useful for me. I had skype with home without any interruption or disturbance.
I had one of my dinner at Hotel, and it was fantastic. If you ask my experience, I will rate 5 out of 5. I had recommendation of chef, a perfect steak with a wonderful red wine. The price is a bit higher but compared with the service and facilities offered it is not really expensive. It is on the center square of Neuchatel, just near the lake. You can go to shopping by walk, and can enjoy the public transport easily.
I recommend this hotel who will visit Neuchel and looking for a fine hotel.

Room Tip: First floor with a lake view rooms will be very nice. In a clear day, you can see Alps at the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazzzci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your very kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed our property and the service we provided to you, as well as the quality of restaurant. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive reviews, especially from our guests how have stayed several times at the Beau-Rivage Hotel.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back to your home in Neuchâtel.

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner and Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

My second time here and unlikely to be my last. Very attentive, professional service. The place never seems busy which is great if you’re on business and want somewhere peaceful to stay in the centre of town with all the facilities you’d expect. Lovely setting overlooking the lake. The first time I stayed I had a massive room with a dedicated private lounge area. One of my colleagues had a corner room with balconies on two sides. The second time I stayed I had a smaller room and the window was rather small which wasn’t too nice. Good breakfast. Good piano bar too. I’ll be back without doubt.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Owner at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing your beautiful comments about your recent stay with us. We do pride ourselves in creating unique experience, and we are glad that you have picked up on this.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back to the Beau-Rivage Hotel.

Best regards from Neuchatel,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at the Beau Rivage on our last visit to Neuchatel, and it compares favourably to hotels in Europe, in general. The rooms are smaller than most North Americans are probably used to, but they are well appointed and clean. Much thought has gone into the decor of this hotel, and the modern interior manages to both differ from, and compliment, the older, classic exterior.
It is well located. The Beau Rivage is right on the water front of Lac Neuchatel (the largest lake that lies entirely within Switzerland), and is also on the edge of Neuchatel's downtown area. If you are arriving by train, and have a great deal of luggage, take a taxi for check in. If you come to Neuchatel by train, and have only a piece of carry-on, consider walking. It is a bit of a walk, but from Neuchatel station, it is all downhill and a very pleasant stroll.
The staff are polite, friendly and efficient. The same can be said of every hotel we have stayed at in Switzerland, but it is still nice.
The only downside is that it is a bit pricey, even by European (and Swiss) standards.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a lake view. You will pay more, and you may not actually look out the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDTVancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay at the Beau-Rivage Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that we could meet your expectations such as room comfort, interior design and friendliness of our staff, as well as its outstanding location on the lakesides of Neuchatel, at a walking distance from the historic town centre.

We hope you will have the opportunity to return again in the near future!

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner and Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The Beau Rivage is a very nice hotel. Service is exceptional and it is centrally located with a beautiful view of Lake Neuchatel. The piano bar is very comfortable and a great place to visit at the end of the day. Breakfast is delicious - make sure you don't miss it. You can walk to the main downtown core in 2 minutes. Highly recommend this spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large window facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed the Beau-Rivage Hotel and the comfort of our Veranda-Bar, as well as the center location on the lakesides of Neuchatel, at a walking distance from the historic town centre.

We truly hope to welcome you back soon at the Beau-Rivage Hotel and wish you a magnificent autumn.

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner and Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on business for 2nights in Sept. It was superb.

Excellent spacious and quiet room, beautiful restaurant and perfectly located on the lake and the edge of Neuchatel centre. The staff could not have been more helpful and this is somewhere I sincerely hope to stay in again.

Oh and do visit the stunning little chocolate shop in Neuchatel centre, about 5 mins from Beau-Rivage. Slurp!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Business T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay at the Beau-Rivage Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that we could meet your expectations such as room comfort, restaurant design and the quality of service.

We truly hope to welcome you back soon at the Beau-Rivage Hotel and wish you a magnificent autumn.

Best Regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Hotel itself was great. Very large and comfortable rooms, though windows overlooking the lake are a bit small. It has a good but pricey restaurant too. But I had to wait till 2 pm to check in, although the hotel seemed rather empty.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajuniaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Inhaber at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with us.

We are very happy to hear that you appreciated our property and the quality of our food.

According to our general conditions, our room are available from 15h on check-in day. However we do every day our utmost to provide our guest an earlier check-in as you encounter.

We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Best regards,
Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
0.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant La Maison du Prussien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpes et Lac
Hotel Alpes et Lac
#5 of 12 in Neuchatel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Hotel de l'Ecluse
#7 of 12 in Neuchatel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#6 of 12 in Neuchatel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau-Rivage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Hotel

Property: Beau-Rivage Hotel
Address: esplanade du Mont-Blanc 1, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury five-star Superior Beau-Rivage Hotel in Neuchatel enjoys a privileged position on the popular Esplanade du Mont-Blanc promenade beside Lake Neuchatel. The hotel enjoys spectacular views of the lake and the Bernese Oberland Alpine chain and is within a five-minute walk of the historic city centre. In addition to the 66 stylish and spacious rooms and four suites, the hotel offers a restaurant called O'terroirs, a Veranda Bar and two well-tended outdoor terraces with bar, lounge and restaurant. As well as a B-Spa, a cellar and six conference rooms. The hotel is member of Relais & Chateaux and the Swiss Deluxe Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Beau-Rivage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing