We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best spot in Neuchatel”
Review of Beau-Rivage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed at the Beau Rivage on several occasions this past year and each time, it was lovely. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The service is excellent ....always and the location is perfect. The outdoor patio is very nice and the view of the lake is pretty. It was our home away from home this past year and we'll be back again someday. Thank you!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank WTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

A simple hotel with spacious rooms, and the hotel provides hermes amenities experience. Amazing location with a beautiful view over the lake. Friendly service. Beautiful view of the sea in the morning- serene and goodness.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is what a five star hotel should be about. A location on the edge of the lake, a hotel that has not come out of an architect´s giant lego box and service which is so good, you fail to realize that it is there, so smoothly do the well-oiled cogs turn.

The bar is situated with a view onto the lake, so bring good weather with you, the restaurant next door is small enough to be intimate but the tables far enough apart to give you space. My standard room on the 3rd floor was large, with its own sitting area and sofa, and the bathroom was better than I´ve seen in some five star suites. The only issue with standards rooms, if mine was typical, is that the windows are high up in the walls and quite small.

Outside the hotel, you are only steps away from the centre of town and for walks in the pedestrian areas or along the lake, and the apparently small size of the hotel perfectly fits the atmosphere of Neuchatel, a little town on the edge of a lake.

And the prices? Not cheap, but not substantially more expensive than an overnight in lesser hotels of the region. Give it a test if you can, either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SwissFrenchBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

I've been here twice on business and both times loved my stay. It's a gorgeous and sophisticated hotel with exceptional quality and service throughout. It's not cheap, eg the restaurant and drinks, but the quality justifies the prices, and it is Switzerland!

For those that have 5mins spare, Waldens the Chocolatiere in Neuchatel centre is perfect and a 5min walk from the hotel. The chocolates make for a great gift, if you can get then back without nibbling that is!

Well done to all the team at Beau-Rivage, I'll be back

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Business T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

A trip to Neuchâtel gave us the occasion to stay at the Beau-Rivage. We enjoyed every minute of it. The staff was very nice and attentive and the food at the Restaurant was exceptional. The view over the lake and sugarcoated mountains in the back was amazing. The large room was very cozy and comfortable. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your very kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed our property and the friendliness of our staff, as well as the quality of restaurant.

We would love to see you again soon at the Beau-Rivage Hotel.

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Exactly what you would hope for staying in Switzerland for top dollar. Highly recommended for business trips or vacations. Location could not be better - perfectly situated on the lake and across the street from the main square. Bus and tram are right beside.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dir Sir,

I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our property.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed the comfort of our hotel and its perfect location near the city center and the lack. We look forward to welcoming you to Beau-Rivage Hotel in Neuchatel.

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This is a strange review. The hotel is all class - impeccable service, friendly & efficient staff, and the location on the lake is unsurpassed. The bedrooms are large and spacious, with equally large and spacious bathrooms. The meeting and convention service is top class too. So I have to wonder why they spoil it all with rock hard, springless mattresses and flat pillows on the bed? Why be premium at all levels and then be totally poor on the most important aspect of a hotel i.e. sleep quality. I spent 3 nights there and managed about 7 hours of sleep, constantly waking up with sore hips, a stiff neck and an aching back. Given that the major hotel chains are competing on the comfort of mattresses and sleep quality, this 5-star hotel has dramatically fallen behind.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Mutiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing the Beau-Rivage Hotel for your recent stay in Neuchâtel and for having taken the time to share your thoughts with us.

We are glad to read that many of our services and facilities have met or even exceeded your expectations but this does not occult your non satisfaction regarding the sleep quality.

We are sorry to read your disappointment and be assured that your remarks have been duly taken into account. Moreover we encourage our guest to signal any inconvenient they may encounter during their stay, has we aim to react as fast as possible to provide the best comfort as possible.

Looking forward to welcoming you back, please do not hesitate to contact me personally and be sure that no effort will be spared to make this new experience purely enjoyable.

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
2 mi away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#5 of 12 in Neuchatel
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Touring au Lac
Hotel Touring au Lac
#8 of 12 in Neuchatel
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Hotel de l'Ecluse
#7 of 12 in Neuchatel
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpes et Lac
Hotel Alpes et Lac
#4 of 12 in Neuchatel
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau-Rivage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Hotel

Address: esplanade du Mont-Blanc 1, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range: £220 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury five-star Superior Beau-Rivage Hotel in Neuchatel enjoys a privileged position on the popular Esplanade du Mont-Blanc promenade beside Lake Neuchatel. The hotel enjoys spectacular views of the lake and the Bernese Oberland Alpine chain and is within a five-minute walk of the historic city centre. In addition to the 66 stylish and spacious rooms and four suites, the hotel offers a restaurant called O'terroirs, a Veranda Bar and two well-tended outdoor terraces with bar, lounge and restaurant. As well as a B-Spa, a cellar and six conference rooms. The hotel is member of Relais & Chateaux and the Swiss Deluxe Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and Superbreak UK so you can book your Beau-Rivage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing