We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Best spot for business or leisure trip in Neuchatel. Extremely comfortable and spacious rooms, excellent bed, very helpful staff at reception, very good buffet breakfast, excellent service, excellent food room service or restaurant. Nicely located along the lake. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babybecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with us.
We are very happy to read that you appreciated our property and the service we provided to you.

We would love to see you again soon at the Beau-Rivage Hotel.

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Ideally located close to city center and most businesses, the Beau Rivage is situated right on the Neuchatel Lake. Contrary to many Swiss hotels, rooms are large by European standards, and fit US standards. Rooms typically include a good size writing desk, with Ethernet and WiFi (not free), a small dressing room with amenities (shoe shine, shoe horn, umbrella, etc..), and a large, well appointed bathroom with bathtib, shower and separate toilet.

The restaurant is separated in 2 areas, one overlooking the lake, wonderful for romantic dinners or healthy breakfasts (34 Sfr), and an inside somewhat anonymous area. Also overlooking the lake and with city views, there is a cosy bar lounge, where people typically gather in the afternoon for tea, and in the evening for drinks.

There is an underground public parking with direct access to the hotel via elevator from the second level. 15 Sfr a night.

Overall, a good choice for a relaxing and luxurious stay in Neuchatel...

Room Tip: Ask for lake facing rooms, or East wing (lake and city views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchGuyinMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your positive experience with us.
We are very happy to hear that you appreciated our property and the service we provided to you.
We would love to see you again soon at the Beau-Rivage Hotel.

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

First class and warm welcome, on the edge of the Lake with stunning views from the Bar and Resturant.
Seamless checking and wonderful rooms, I was on the 3 rd floor with excellent views of the
Lake, my room even had. Scooter to buzz Round the area a very nice touch, large walk in closet and well appointed bathroom, shower and separate bath was a bonus .

Excellent Resturant with exceptional menu and beautifully presented food, staff were very attentive
and discreet.

Breakfast was taken in the Resturant and very good quality.

Room Tip: Upper floors have excellent views and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidvasili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your very kind review. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive reviews. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay with us along with our service, the quality of our restaurant O’terroirs and special room amenities! We do pride ourselves in creating unique experience, and we are glad that you have picked up on this.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back to your home in Neuchâtel.

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner and Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

As an American, I feel the standards in Europe are lower than ours and most often am disappointed in 4 or 5 star hotels but this one was spacious, beautiful and the customer service, excellent. I love the bar overlooking the lake. Live piano during cocktail time and the spa is fantastic. I highly recommend renting the hamam for a reasonable 20CHF for an hour of private bliss. This is my second time staying here and it was as lovely as the first stay. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebebigelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dir Madam,

I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our property. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the comfort of our hotel, as well as the B-Spa and the atmosphere in our Veranda-Bar. We look forward to welcoming you to Beau-Rivage Hotel in Neuchatel.

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel is well positioned on the lake shore. Easy walking to old town Neuchatel. Not a bad distance from good hikes, Le Locle, and Murten. We were on a vacation, and feel that although the hotel and service were very good, it is a better place for the business traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smspo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to write a comment. We are proud to read that you are enthusiastic about the hotel and its services.
We do host large-scale events from time to time and we feel sorry if on one of these occasions you experienced a lack of cosiness.
We continually strive to better our service to our customers and we hope to see you in a near future to have the opportunity to meet your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

If quiet sophistication is your thing then this is the place to stay in Neuchatel. Huge rooms with all the amenities that you should need for a relaxing stay - mine had both a bath and a superb shower. The bed was comfortable but I struggled with the pillows - it was the only real negative. Great vista from both the breakfast room and the lounge. Looking out across the vast Lake Neuchatel was tranquility personified. It was hard to pull yourself away from the breakfast table each morning, both because of the quality of the food and the view - there always seemed to be a good excuse for a second or third cup of coffee. But perhaps most outstanding of all was the service. It was as if making you happy and content was the main priority of the people who worked there. Of course, that is what it always should be but often isn't - and they genuinely seemed very pleased to do so.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanco77771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the beautiful experience you had at the Beau-Rivage Hotel, Neuchâtel.
We are sure that people can imagine the scenery just by reading your lovely description.
For your next stay, fill free to let us know your preferences about the pillow.
We hope you will have the opportunity to enjoy it again in the near future! Please kindly let us know when you are coming back.

Warm regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Drove into Neuchatel on a Friday afternoon. Check in was a pleasant affair, the staff were very professional and helpful. The bell staff assisted me with luggage to my room. The room was quite nice, although the bed was not very comfortable. The scooter that was in the room was quirky and i loved the idea of it. The treats were also a nice welcome touch. The location was superb! Walked all over the city, the weather was extremely hot so it was nice to come back to an air conditioned room. The casino nearby was fun even though i lost money. The market on Saturday morning in the main square was good, quite crowded. The views from the hotel room and restaurant, where i had a fantastic dinner, were great. Check out was pleasant. Parking options were optimal, the public parking was right next to the hotel (underground), i self parked and was in and out without any problems. Less expensive than the valet option. Enjoyed my stay and will stay again when in Neuchatel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WI036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
2 mi away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#6 of 12 in Neuchatel
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Hotel de l'Ecluse
#7 of 12 in Neuchatel
83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant La Maison du Prussien
0.2 mi away
Hotel Touring au Lac
Hotel Touring au Lac
#8 of 12 in Neuchatel
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau-Rivage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Hotel

Address: esplanade du Mont-Blanc 1, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range: £224 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury five-star Superior Beau-Rivage Hotel in Neuchatel enjoys a privileged position on the popular Esplanade du Mont-Blanc promenade beside Lake Neuchatel. The hotel enjoys spectacular views of the lake and the Bernese Oberland Alpine chain and is within a five-minute walk of the historic city centre. In addition to the 66 stylish and spacious rooms and four suites, the hotel offers a restaurant called O'terroirs, a Veranda Bar and two well-tended outdoor terraces with bar, lounge and restaurant. As well as a B-Spa, a cellar and six conference rooms. The hotel is member of Relais & Chateaux and the Swiss Deluxe Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda, Booking.com, Superbreak UK and Ebookers so you can book your Beau-Rivage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing